? Need advise on increase

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stressedcatmom

Member Since 2017
Hi Everyone,

Yoshi was in remission for 2 1/2 years thanks to Prozinc and the great people on the board.

He has a UTI and I think this got him out of remission.

The vet gave him an antibiodic shot that lasts two weeks in his system. I am going bk to the vet this Friday to recheck urine.

I have been concerned about Yoshi's progress as this dose doesn't seem to be working for him. I asked her opinion. The vet wants to go from 1 to 2 u. I am not comfortable with this. I would suggest a 1.5.

Any advise is appreciated. I am debating going back to Prozinc as he was only on that one month. That, and a canned food diet (and again, this board) saved his life.

Here is the thread which includes her recommendations.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/yoshi-amps457-vet-wants-to-increase-to-2u.219214/

(cross posted in Lantus forum)
 
If you know Prozinc, are comfortable with it and it worked well for your cat before, I would give it a go. Lantus is a good insulin and you probably do need to up the dose but every cat is different and Prozinc may be what works best for your cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top