Need advice

Kosmo

Member Since 2025
Hello everyone,

My cat's BG level just dropped to a average of 14.6 mmol/L (262.8 mg/dL) after 14+ hours after his AMPS shot.

He got his second PMPS shot + 12 hours after the AMPS shot.

All the previous times I gave him his PMPS shot, his BG level was around 20 mmol/L (360 mg/dL) on average.

When I gave him his PMPS shot today he was at 12.1 mmol/L (217.8 mg/dL) so that could not be the reason for his BG levels to be this low right now at 14.3 (257.4 mg/dL) right?

I am very very new to this and it is a bit nerve-wracking for me...

Is this normal?

Will the 2 IU lantus I gave him for his PMPS shot push him to dangerous levels tonight or is this normal?

Please take a look at my SS link under my name to see what I mean because this is the first time this happens to my cat.

Thanks in advance!
 
These are safe numbers. Pretty nice lows today too for being so new to insulin.

Above you said “second PMPS”, just want to confirm you only gave one shot tonight, right?

I have to run so I can’t write you a detailed response, but 50 mg/dL is the number where you want to take action and assist in bringing him up. Post here and ask for guidance if you see a pre-shot under 200 mg/dL. I might suggest reading the sticky posts at the top of this forum, the dosing ones and the how to handle low numbers one.
 
Yes, I only gave one shot in the morning and one shot at night.

His BG level is currently 11.7 mmol/L (223.2 mg/dL).

I know these are safe levels, but as I mentioned, I gave him a PMPS shot when his BG was lower than it has ever been before.

That’s why I was wondering if it could push him into unsafe BG levels, because normally 2 IU brings him down from 20 mmol/L (360.0 mg/dL) to the levels he's at now.

And now I am wondering if this with the context of my cat and SS could push him to unsafe BG levels.
 
On this forum, we suggest that new people following TR post for help if they get a preshot number under 150 (not 200). If above and you are home to monitor then SHOOOOOOT! Being able to monitor means being around, having plenty of test strips, and high carb food around.

The nice thing about Lantus is that shooting lower numbers doesn't mean as big a drop as when you shoot high numbers. Lantus is great at keeping low numbers low and flat.
 
One other thing, please keep the spreadsheet up to date. Did you dose last night? If not, put "skip" or NS for no shot, in the units cell. Otherwise we don't know if it's a missed data entry or a skip.

One other thing, 218 was above the 198 you shot yesterday.
 
@Wendy&Neko I did shoot and I already did update it in the SS hours ago.

Edit: the SS does not update it to the US mg/DL version I see. (But I did fill it in at the world mmol/L tab)

I manually added it now.
 
Thanks for updating the US tab. Although I'm bilingual and "speak" mmol/L as my first language, by habit I look at the US tab first, as do most people here.

I'm glad you shot the full dose, looks like a pretty flat cycle so far.
 
Hello everyone,

Yesterday (April 4th, 2025), my cat had healthy blood glucose levels for several hours for the first time.

But suddenly, overnight and throughout today, his BG levels have been consistently at or above 20 mmol/L (360 mg/dL) for the past 20 hours.

He's currently on a 10 / 2 IU cycle.

Should I consider increasing the dose of this does not change before his PMPS shot?

Note: Today, the FreeStyle Libre 2 has been reading about 4 mmol/L (72 mg/dL) lower than the human meter. I check this daily, and yesterday the readings were consistent, so please take that into account.
 
Back
Top