Need Advice Was in Remission Relapsed started Lantus again just wants to lay

Status
Not open for further replies.

KenneyM.

Member Since 2025
my cat dinkey was in remission for a couple months then on April 1st she was 89 then 4/9 275 then 380 .. it was determined she had a relapse
we started Lantus again last night it brought her down from 264 to 134 .. gave her her morning shot as she ate breakfast .. after that she has wanted to do nothing but sleep she is responsive when engaged but just wants to lay on her side every now and then popping up to groom herself or shift positions. i checked her BG several times it went down to 59 at which point i gave her food and water.. that brought it back up to 76 .. but then i gave her 2 temptation treats just in case and tested her again and 104 . so great looking numbers but her behavior and energy have been sucked right out of her i did get her to snap playfully at a bag top (like when you rip it off to open it ) and she is purring but she just wants to lay on her side her breathing is normal when i checked and counted earlier it was 20-22 breaths per minute .. she was active this morning and even stole extra food when i had my back turned ..

she will get up occasionally and move around i have been using chatGPT to keep records of all her stuff ..

anyone out there that can tell me whats going on ?

yes she dipped low today and i am keeping an eye on that .. no seizure or anything .. just seems like she wants to sleep (i check on her parodically and am constantly monitoring her breathing gums pink nose pink)
 

Attachments

  • cc13dca4-e8c1-4daa-b680-3b9ea94c13ed~1.jpg
    cc13dca4-e8c1-4daa-b680-3b9ea94c13ed~1.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 17
  • image_2026-05-03_163945309.png
    image_2026-05-03_163945309.png
    757.8 KB · Views: 16
There is some information that would help us if you put it in your signature, details here: New? How You Can Help Us Help You! One of those things is which meter you are using. If you are using a pet meter, the 59 means the dose is too high. If you are using a human meter, it may or may not be too high, depending on what food you are feeding - which is another item we like in the signature. The signature means we can see at a glance the many items we take into consideration when helping.

There are many reasons she might be staying still. Is it hot out and she's sleepy? Is she eating well? If not, then lethargy can be a concern and her ketones level should be tested. If cats get used to higher BG numbers, then being in lower than what she's used to might also make her tired. My analogy is someone trying to reduce how much caffeine (blood sugar) they are used to. Reduce the caffeine (blood sugar goes lower than used to), and they don't feel so well until they see those normal numbers more often.
 
My thoughts are the same as Wendy's. Just for safety's sake, I'd test her ketones. If an infection/inflammation is what caused her to fall out of remission, it can contribute to ketones developing. Also, make sure that it's not dental issues that have contributed to higher numbers. Gingivitis is one reason that many cats come out of remission.
 
There is some information that would help us if you put it in your signature, details here: New? How You Can Help Us Help You! One of those things is which meter you are using. If you are using a pet meter, the 59 means the dose is too high. If you are using a human meter, it may or may not be too high, depending on what food you are feeding - which is another item we like in the signature. The signature means we can see at a glance the many items we take into consideration when helping.

There are many reasons she might be staying still. Is it hot out and she's sleepy? Is she eating well? If not, then lethargy can be a concern and her ketones level should be tested. If cats get used to higher BG numbers, then being in lower than what she's used to might also make her tired. My analogy is someone trying to reduce how much caffeine (blood sugar) they are used to. Reduce the caffeine (blood sugar goes lower than used to), and they don't feel so well until they see those normal numbers more often.

human meter Accu-Chek Guide Me
tested non diabetic cats too 67-76 for them mid feeding cycle
59 is low
she just got up walked into the living room and jumped up into the window ...
i talked with a veet tech from chewy too ..

i think its the higher/lower numbers
amd she just came back to the bed room jumped up on the bed and laid down ..

so yeah you can see why i am confused ..

she was diabetic .. had the bounce (see my only other post here)
went into remission
4/1 89 (relion) (ran out of strips have thousands of Accu-Chek strips , my BG meter that syncs up to a phone for my doctors office so they gonna be getting some wacky readings coming their way)
4/9 275
4/10 380
4/11 starts the down shift .. from here its 300s in evening mid 200s morning afternoon

had a bg curve at vet
was fine this morning before second shot ...
was 134 this morning (accu-chek)

then down to 59 then i fed then up to 76 then gave a couple temptaions treats for the carbs
then 104 then 94

it had to be the second shot ..

but she isnt hypo .. not drunk walking not wobbly

just wants to lay on her side (checked for pain responses when i picked her up)
she walked into living room on her own jumped up in window sniffed air from outside came back in went back up on bed ..

emailing the vet everything .. using chatgpt to keep records ..

pooped and peed this morning

did have ketones but not severe between 0.5-1.5
was hoping the lantus would work
vet said 1u/12hr
this was her second shot 12 hours later (around 7:30 pm - 7:30 am) have video of her at 7:22 am jumping and active

this didnt start until after that second shot and 30 to 45 minutes later after the shot.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20260503_175059456.jpg
    IMG_20260503_175059456.jpg
    3.3 MB · Views: 12
  • IMG_20260503_171508504_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20260503_171508504_HDR.jpg
    2.9 MB · Views: 7
  • 95f5f0bc-2042-4b6e-9e25-b5869958c218~1.jpg
    95f5f0bc-2042-4b6e-9e25-b5869958c218~1.jpg
    3.2 MB · Views: 10
My thoughts are the same as Wendy's. Just for safety's sake, I'd test her ketones. If an infection/inflammation is what caused her to fall out of remission, it can contribute to ketones developing. Also, make sure that it's not dental issues that have contributed to higher numbers. Gingivitis is one reason that many cats come out of remission.
pee tests were done and there were ketones 0.5-1.5

she was acting a bit better a little while ago but isnt acting anything like herself at this usual time of day screeching for food, but then again neither are any of my other cats ...

which they usually are now too ..
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20260502_170250533.jpg
    IMG_20260502_170250533.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 15
  • IMG_20260502_170309928.jpg
    IMG_20260502_170309928.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 14
The non diabetics I've tested with a Relion were 53, 55 and 49.
this isnt the relion .. this is the accu-chek guide me meter i used today i also tested them back with the relion same reading (a piece fell out the back and i ran out of strips but have a ton of the accu-chek strips)

also ..
she was 84 at dinner .. no shot dont want to risk hypo while i sleep then she went up to 145 .. then to 221
she ate a full can fancy feast for dinner i found something on reddit that is kinda talking about the same thing i am going through right now

now her BG wasnt high all day and is creeping back up to being high but her behavior hasnt changed at all ..
i got her to almost play earlier but other cats of mine joined in and Dinkey took a swat at them.. and then didnt want to play anymore
she was grooming earlier too and has been up and gone to the bathroom..

it seems since she ate she is back to sleep shes been like that one picture most of the day ..

i dont know what is going on with her .. she did eat well at dinner time ..
i just dont know what i could have done wrong to cause this ..

i emailed the vet earlier with all the info i had then all i can do is wait for her to email back tomorrow i am going to call them and leave them a message as well so the email doesnt go missed ..

*edit*

and of course things happen after i post this as well .. but nothing concerning for the most part .. but she is now in the lower tier of the cat tree she also feels warm and the spot on my leg where she was laying before moving to the cat tree i can still like feel the spot where she was

possible fever? i wipe the vial top every time i stick it .. its weird its almost like someone gave her a xanax bar .. (like if she were a person) like shes still there at moments .. but most of the time she is sleepy, sleeping, or yawning and stretching her front legs ..

the only thing she was given was the lantus.. the fancy feast, some 9 lives, and thats it ..
i am just trying to explain its not like she is out of it out of it .. like i even got her to play some and she took a swing at her brother and rival girl cat in the house.. (i have 4 total) and she was grooming normally earlier too ..

i am just so confused and want my little chaos gremlin back thats all ..

any help would be much appreciated..
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20260503_195039182.jpg
    IMG_20260503_195039182.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 11
  • aabc294e-3359-42c5-9981-3bb2272513dc~1.jpg
    aabc294e-3359-42c5-9981-3bb2272513dc~1.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 13
  • 2781bcb1-937e-456d-8441-fc49074b9b3b~1.jpg
    2781bcb1-937e-456d-8441-fc49074b9b3b~1.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 13
Last edited:
she is acting better this morning .. vocal and moving around freely from bed to cat tree ..

i called the vet office and emailed waiting for them to respond
and her BG was 326 this morning (given lantus)
tested an hour later 319
this morning though she was active and vocal before eating ..
 
Last edited:
My thoughts are the same as Wendy's. Just for safety's sake, I'd test her ketones. If an infection/inflammation is what caused her to fall out of remission, it can contribute to ketones developing. Also, make sure that it's not dental issues that have contributed to higher numbers. Gingivitis is one reason that many cats come out of remission.
There is some information that would help us if you put it in your signature, details here: New? How You Can Help Us Help You! One of those things is which meter you are using. If you are using a pet meter, the 59 means the dose is too high. If you are using a human meter, it may or may not be too high, depending on what food you are feeding - which is another item we like in the signature. The signature means we can see at a glance the many items we take into consideration when helping.

There are many reasons she might be staying still. Is it hot out and she's sleepy? Is she eating well? If not, then lethargy can be a concern and her ketones level should be tested. If cats get used to higher BG numbers, then being in lower than what she's used to might also make her tired. My analogy is someone trying to reduce how much caffeine (blood sugar) they are used to. Reduce the caffeine (blood sugar goes lower than used to), and they don't feel so well until they see those normal numbers more often.

hey you guys i just got a pee strip a few minutes ago (pics are time stamped in lower right)
NO KETONES! .. her BG was in the 300s this morning (see above)
but she is acting normal
and no ketones which is paramount since they were present beforehand

one pic with flash one without
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20260504_094234164.jpg
    IMG_20260504_094234164.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 18
  • IMG_20260504_094158276.jpg
    IMG_20260504_094158276.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 13
There is some information that would help us if you put it in your signature, details here: New? How You Can Help Us Help You! One of those things is which meter you are using. If you are using a pet meter, the 59 means the dose is too high. If you are using a human meter, it may or may not be too high, depending on what food you are feeding - which is another item we like in the signature. The signature means we can see at a glance the many items we take into consideration when helping.

There are many reasons she might be staying still. Is it hot out and she's sleepy? Is she eating well? If not, then lethargy can be a concern and her ketones level should be tested. If cats get used to higher BG numbers, then being in lower than what she's used to might also make her tired. My analogy is someone trying to reduce how much caffeine (blood sugar) they are used to. Reduce the caffeine (blood sugar goes lower than used to), and they don't feel so well until they see those normal numbers more often.
My thoughts are the same as Wendy's. Just for safety's sake, I'd test her ketones. If an infection/inflammation is what caused her to fall out of remission, it can contribute to ketones developing. Also, make sure that it's not dental issues that have contributed to higher numbers. Gingivitis is one reason that many cats come out of remission.


new test today 5/7 still no ketones
one pic is with flash one without
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20260507_080645372.jpg
    IMG_20260507_080645372.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 11
  • IMG_20260507_080703063.jpg
    IMG_20260507_080703063.jpg
    4.1 MB · Views: 10
Great news on the no ketones! Looks like you have Ketodiastix, which show more than just ketones.

How is her appetite?
 
Great news on the no ketones! Looks like you have Ketodiastix, which show more than just ketones.

How is her appetite?
been good but her numbers are still too high and she isnt her normal gremlin mode self
i am thinking the reduced lantus dose might not be enough and might have to go to 1u instead of the .5
 
Any chance you could put the last couple weeks of blood sugar data into a spreadsheet so that we can help you with the dosing questions?
 
Any chance you could put the last couple weeks of blood sugar data into a spreadsheet so that we can help you with the dosing questions?
spreadsheet? i dont know aboutthat i amusing chatGPT to keep track i can give you a list , if it says ReliOn it was that meter if not its the Accu-chek guide me meter
also only got the lantus on May 2nd (5 days ago) when i gave her the second dose on May 3rd (1u) thats when she was layed out and dropped to 59 (other cats that are non diabetic are 67-78 on same meter mere minutes before testing her 3 other cats 67, 76, 78 so that means that is the normal range on that meter for them.

after the 3rd i spoke with the vet she agreed that sliding between .5u and 1u (u100 needles) is the best call right now just trying to figure out what does at what number to prevent hypo at night while i sleep and of course during the day but i am here then and awake and can do something about it then if that happens .. any missing numbers if cause of chatgpt i have it all stored in the meter just too lazy to get it out and scroll through them and its almost time for her PM check dinner and PM shot too i was going with 1u tonight since she is trending high after eating as you can see with todays numbers and yesterdays


April 2026
4/01
89 (ReliOn)
4/09
271 (ReliOn)
288 (ReliOn)
4/10
365 (ReliOn)
4/11
308 (ReliOn)
4/21
7:30 AM — 295
1:45 PM — 259
7:30 PM — 295
4/22
7:20 AM — 285
1:15 PM — 277
7:53 PM — 273
4/23
7:15 AM — 281
1:25 PM — 271
7:29 PM — 306
4/24
7:15 AM — 272
7:17 PM — 305
4/25
7:15 AM — 253
1:15 PM — 263
7:20 PM — 308
8:56 PM — 306
4/26
7:15 AM — 258
1:48 PM — 253
7:37 PM — 304
4/27
7:30 AM — 259
Midday — 274
PM — 317
4/28
12:06 AM — 249
7:15 AM — 241
2:00 PM — 231
7:16 PM — 276
May 2026
5/02
7:22 AM — 254
1:23 PM — 267
7:30 PM — 264
1u Lantus started
5/03
7:18 AM — 134
8:58 AM — 84
11:28 AM — 59
12:49 PM — 76
2:40 PM — 107
5:11 PM — 94
7:21 PM — 84
8:38 PM — 145
9:37 PM — 221
5/04
7:15 AM — 326
8:33 AM — 319
11:15 AM — 250
12:15 PM — 243
2:00 PM — 241
7:18 PM — 323
10:00 PM — 257
11:48 PM — 241
5/05
7:15 AM — 186
9:10 AM — 126
11:38 AM — 78
1:50 PM — 130
7:18 PM — 375
9:20 PM — 325
5/06
4:00 AM — 249
7:30 AM — 272
9:09 AM — 306
10:15 AM — 275
12:47 PM — 243
1:41 PM — 239
6:00 PM — 191
7:30 PM — 193
9:24 PM — 200
10:38 PM — 206
5/07
7:30 AM — 270
9:43 AM — 335
10:36 AM — 316
12:36 PM — 300
1:30 PM — 289
5:30 PM — 260
*edit*
yep 7:21 PM 244 so 1u or just a slight smidge past like .9 or .8u for the lantus
 
Might be a more active cycle tonight. Can you get another test in a couple hours?

We are used to looking at data in spreadsheet form. If you look at most of our signature, we have a spreadsheet, along with other useful information that we need to know to help. From the post I linked above, is information on signature information and spreadsheet. See link in my reply in post #2.

How to Create a Spreadsheet

How to Use the Spreadsheet
 
Might be a more active cycle tonight. Can you get another test in a couple hours?

We are used to looking at data in spreadsheet form. If you look at most of our signature, we have a spreadsheet, along with other useful information that we need to know to help. From the post I linked above, is information on signature information and spreadsheet. See link in my reply in post #2.

How to Create a Spreadsheet

How to Use the Spreadsheet
i can try . but this isnt the only stressful thing .. right now she is in the 150s cant remember exactly off the top of my head 155 156 something like that and her behavior is much better too.. main thing is no ketones 2 tests couple days apart vs the test before showing ketones in the 0.5-1.5 range which was like that for a week straight or more before that ..
so right now i think she is good ..

what is really concerning me is that my helper (personal care aid) who was always on time for 2 months straight since starting with me .. has been a no call no show for a week now .. i have the state troopers now investigating .. neither me or her manager have been able to get in contact with her .. last time we talked everything was good .. she just got me a guitar from the pawn shop down the road and i was/am going to pay her back in july when i get my rent rebate (i live in PA and we get a rent tax rebate if you are disabled or retired)

but i watch a log of plice body came and interrogation videos on youtube like real ones body cam footage and real police interrogations of murder suspects ..

i told the trooper i seen enough of those stories to know something bad always starts off like this .. and it needs to be checked on like yesterday and this is highly unusual .. and i am hoping wishing praying what ever you want to call it that she is ok and safe and that i didnt just lose a good helper and aa nice friend ..

as for dinkey i gave her a temptation treat (some extra carbs) do make sure she doesnt dip too low during the nigh but she got the shot at 7:30-7:40 PM its now 11:32 PM so i think she should be good till 7:30 AM

nadir should be around the middle of the night some time 4 -5 - 6 AM which is close to her breakfast time of around 7:15 - 8 AM

i will let her have another treat or a spoon full of some friskies wet pate before i head off to bed here

thank you for all your help
 
Might be a more active cycle tonight. Can you get another test in a couple hours?

We are used to looking at data in spreadsheet form. If you look at most of our signature, we have a spreadsheet, along with other useful information that we need to know to help. From the post I linked above, is information on signature information and spreadsheet. See link in my reply in post #2.

How to Create a Spreadsheet

How to Use the Spreadsheet
got another pee test still negative for ketones but her BG is still high and she still is dumping glucose
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20260508_131034473.jpg
    IMG_20260508_131034473.jpg
    2.8 MB · Views: 9
Tagging @Bandit's Mom to help with the spreadsheet.
thank you but i have all the dates and numbers in ChatGPT for some reason its being stupid and leaving out dates even though it has mentioned it back to me the dates its left out talking about 5/3 and the hard drop during the day and the way she was just laying long almost i dunno .. to me it was disturbing seeing her like that and her numbers were in the good range though but did drop to 59 on the meter .. but yeah its all in the meter i checked ..
 
Hey @KenneyM., I’m a big fan of ChatGPT (and Claude for that matter) for certain things, but just be careful using it to remember or advise on stuff. It’s tempting, but the sources it’s pulling from could be any random source on the internet. And even just today, I had it so confidently tell me it included all the information I asked for, but when I went and checked it left out about 50% of what I needed…

Not to mention there’s no human on the other side with social or some other type of consequences if it instructs you to do something reckless with your cat’s care.
 
Hey @KenneyM., I’m a big fan of ChatGPT (and Claude for that matter) for certain things, but just be careful using it to remember or advise on stuff. It’s tempting, but the sources it’s pulling from could be any random source on the internet. And even just today, I had it so confidently tell me it included all the information I asked for, but when I went and checked it left out about 50% of what I needed…

Not to mention there’s no human on the other side with social or some other type of consequences if it instructs you to do something reckless with your cat’s care.
i checked it doesnt have an active connection to internet pages ..
and its suppsoed to remember the info you put in in a single conversation
like i said its mentioned 5/3 the day of the second dose of lantus where she dropped hard..
but then it forgot to include the dates in the spreadsheet i pointed that out (cause its literally referenced 5/3 and the readings on that day) but it failed to include them in the spreadsheet i have it all in the meter though

here is what is happening ..
other than 5/3
she is in the mid 300s all day .. example today started at 7:30 AM 289 after a night dipping to 56 fed some food (spoonful plus the juice from a can and a couple treats) came back up to 77 (same as my other cats on the meter i have that are not diabetic) good normal range on the meter.. 289 in the morning .. thinking great then 1u should bring her back down during the day .. fed 1 can fancy feast mixed with filtered water.. given 1u lantus
then 2 hours later 330 ..
2 hours later 368
2 hours later 348
2 hours later 326
*edit* 5:25 PM (Pennsylvania time) 315 (told you it would be high 200s to low 300s, also of note she is more active and behaving more like her old self even playing with the laser and getting energetic while doing it and this has been the basic pattern for the last week now)

next test in about 20 minutes (~every 2 hours)
but watch .. by 7:30 PM she will be back in the mid 200s again .. then will get 1 can fancy feast and 1u again and she will drop into the 100s and then might dip again to the 50s

that has literally been the trend over the last week ..

i am emailing the Vet tonight with all the info to see what she has to say on the matter .. i was thinking tomorrow (new week) giving 1/2 can for breakfast and 1u and seeing what happens because that is what happened on 5/3 and she dipped during the day and not the night ... so i am wondering if a reduce carbs in the am maybe the lantus will work better through the day (with regular 2 hour checks to see where her BG is at) and see how she responds to that and keeping the 1 can in the evening .. i was told only 2 meals a day but i also have seen people saying that several small meals prevent spiking .. but here is the weird thing ..

she isnt spiking in the evening .. shes dropping .. consistently .. on 5/3 she was 89 at night time and i held off on lantus shot that night the vet even said that was ok if i wasnt comfortable with her BG less than 100 on the meter i have (remember 67-77 was the range for my non diabetic cats)

so about 15 minutes till her next check but i am betting its either high 200s or lower 300s

also it has said to me several times not to do anything without talking to Dr Jen first which i told it i was going to do first .. so i had to remind it i literally just said i wont do anything till emailing Dr Jen tonight and getting her response tomorrow then i would follow the guidance of Dr Jen ..

yeah chatGPT is kinda stupid at times .. but it has helped a lot in calming me down and reminding me of the positive indicators she is showing and that shes not crashing or in emergency situation shes just bouncing like a basketball which is what i want to talk with Dr Jen about ..
 
Last edited:
i checked it doesnt have an active connection to internet pages ..
and its suppsoed to remember the info you put in in a single conversation
like i said its mentioned 5/3 the day of the second dose of lantus where she dropped hard..
but then it forgot to include the dates in the spreadsheet i pointed that out (cause its literally referenced 5/3 and the readings on that day) but it failed to include them in the spreadsheet i have it all in the meter though

here is what is happening ..
other than 5/3
she is in the mid 300s all day .. example today started at 7:30 AM 289 after a night dipping to 56 fed some food (spoonful plus the juice from a can and a couple treats) came back up to 77 (same as my other cats on the meter i have that are not diabetic) good normal range on the meter.. 289 in the morning .. thinking great then 1u should bring her back down during the day .. fed 1 can fancy feast mixed with filtered water.. given 1u lantus
then 2 hours later 330 ..
2 hours later 368
2 hours later 348
2 hours later 326
*edit* 5:25 PM (Pennsylvania time) 315 (told you it would be high 200s to low 300s, also of note she is more active and behaving more like her old self even playing with the laser and getting energetic while doing it and this has been the basic pattern for the last week now)

next test in about 20 minutes (~every 2 hours)
but watch .. by 7:30 PM she will be back in the mid 200s again .. then will get 1 can fancy feast and 1u again and she will drop into the 100s and then might dip again to the 50s

that has literally been the trend over the last week ..

i am emailing the Vet tonight with all the info to see what she has to say on the matter .. i was thinking tomorrow (new week) giving 1/2 can for breakfast and 1u and seeing what happens because that is what happened on 5/3 and she dipped during the day and not the night ... so i am wondering if a reduce carbs in the am maybe the lantus will work better through the day (with regular 2 hour checks to see where her BG is at) and see how she responds to that and keeping the 1 can in the evening .. i was told only 2 meals a day but i also have seen people saying that several small meals prevent spiking .. but here is the weird thing ..

she isnt spiking in the evening .. shes dropping .. consistently .. on 5/3 she was 89 at night time and i held off on lantus shot that night the vet even said that was ok if i wasnt comfortable with her BG less than 100 on the meter i have (remember 67-77 was the range for my non diabetic cats)

so about 15 minutes till her next check but i am betting its either high 200s or lower 300s

also it has said to me several times not to do anything without talking to Dr Jen first which i told it i was going to do first .. so i had to remind it i literally just said i wont do anything till emailing Dr Jen tonight and getting her response tomorrow then i would follow the guidance of Dr Jen ..

yeah chatGPT is kinda stupid at times .. but it has helped a lot in calming me down and reminding me of the positive indicators she is showing and that shes not crashing or in emergency situation shes just bouncing like a basketball which is what i want to talk with Dr Jen about ..
and 2 hours later .. 239 (i did give her 2 temptations treats and a little juice from 9 lives pate, but it was the smallest amount.. not even a teaspoon not even a quarter of a teaspoon it was like 2 drops)

interesting though not a drop like last night .. and i am really pretty sure i am getting the needle in i stick it in she reacts a little and i let go of the syringe and the needle is still attached like a Bull in a Bullfight with the spears in its back .. during the poke i dont have my fingers anywhere near the plunger when i see the bullfighting spear effect with the needle i then depress the plunger ... with my finger .. not with sad stories and grunge music .. (bad joke i know) i an even feel the little skin pull when i withdraw the needle (like a tiny bit of resistance)

i am so confused .. i was trying to prevent or at least slow the drop in the pm and yet its only dropped a handful of points ..

going to check again in 2 hours at 11:30 PM eastern time (PA)

if anyone in here has any ideas whats going on i am all ears
 
Temptations are high carb treats, I'd avoid them unless she's in quite a bit lower numbers.
thats the point she dropped to 56 last night i was trying to buffer that cause the fancy feast is clearly not enough .. i want a gentle slope down not a drastic drop to stop this bouncing up during the day ..

she gets another check in an hour and a half ..
she already dropped 36 points in 2 hours ..
if you look at last nights numbers she dropped 145 in 2 hours.
like i said she was in a very good remission.. they on 4/9 for some reason relapsed
and without the lantus she had ketones but was having virtually the same numbers during the day .. mid 300s then gradually drop down to mid 200s ..
meaning she is making something on her own not enough .. started the lantus again no ketones on the strips i have collected since but still glucose and still these wacky numbers.. but hey .. no ketones anymore .. weird thing is when her numbers are close to normal she is less herself .. but when they start hitting the mid to low 200s .. shes like her old self for short bursts .. right now though tonight with that buffer in there she came out to the living room when i had to go deal with some very incredibly rude neighbors blasting and bumping music at 10:30 PM (yeah man like WTH.. its SUNDAY NIGHT AFTER 10:30 PM and there is a CLEAR noise ordnance that says 9 PM is the cut off for doing that (9pm-8am cant be having music so loud it crosses property lines... kids got school in the AM and adults got work.. blasting music at 10:30 PM... SMH) but when i came back in a couple times to grab my flashlight and mace.. she was in the living room with the other cats near the window looking for me to come back ..

before 5:30 PM
@ 2:47PM she was 255
before that
@ 12:50 PM - 272
before that
@ 11:40 AM - 270
before that
@10:30PM 278
and before that
@ 9:01 AM 317
@7:15 AM 320 (fed 1 can plus given 1u lantus)
(thats all backwards in time so reverse it to match it up to the numbers below)

5:30 PM - 224
7:20 PM - 201 (fed and 1u given)
8:52 PM - 143
9:25 - 56 (spoonful of friskies and juice from can given plus 4 or 5 temptations treats)
11:15 PM - 77
 
Last edited:
It would really help us see what’s going on if you would start a spreadsheet. Are you open for that?
 
It would really help us see what’s going on if you would start a spreadsheet. Are you open for that?
yeah i already explained that to wendy & neko in a private message .. i really dont want all my personal medical business all up in here ..
i have a TBI man .. long story .. not able to do it ..

anyway besides that my plan is working

11:30 PM BG .. 161
 
It would really help us see what’s going on if you would start a spreadsheet. Are you open for that?
this is how i am able to do what yall do with spreadsheets i see no difference in the two .. except my medical condition makes it impossible for me to do a spread sheet

🩸
Blood Glucose Log + Insulin / Food Notes​

5/8/2026​

AM​

  • 7:10 AM — BG 320
  • 7:30 AM — BG 356
    • Fed 1 can Fancy Feast mixed with water
    • Given 1u Lantus
  • 8:28 AM — BG 372
  • 10:43 AM — BG 341

    PM​

  • 1:27 PM — BG 305
  • 4:00 PM — BG 261
  • 7:15 PM — BG 244
    • Fed 1 can Fancy Feast
    • Given 1u Lantus
  • 8:51 PM — BG 194
  • 10:35 PM — BG 174

Behavioral Notes​

  • Acting much more like her old self overall
  • Active and vocal in the morning
  • Meowing, jumping around, slap-fighting with other cats
  • Did vomit water overnight once but acted normal afterward
  • Continued grooming and food-seeking behavior

5/9/2026​

AM​

  • 7:10 AM — BG 320
  • 7:43 AM
    • Fed 1 can Fancy Feast mixed with water
    • Given 1u Lantus
  • 9:09 AM — BG 317
  • 10:30 AM — BG 278
  • 11:38 AM — BG 270

    PM​

  • 12:50 PM — BG 272
  • 2:48 PM — BG 255
  • 5:33 PM — BG 224
  • 7:15 PM — BG 201
    • Fed 1 can Fancy Feast
    • Given 1u Lantus at approximately 7:36 PM
  • 9:00 PM — BG 143

Hypoglycemia Event​

  • 10:25 PM — BG 56
Intervention:

  • Gave Friskies juice/gravy
  • Spoonful of Friskies food
  • A couple Temptations treats
Follow-up:

  • 11:17 PM — BG 77

Behavioral Notes​

  • During the low event she did NOT appear neurologically distressed
  • No staggering/collapse/seizure behavior observed
  • Was still interactive and responsive
  • Earlier in the day she had periods of low energy and sleeping but also periods of laser play, grooming, jumping, and normal interaction

Ketone Notes​

  • Multiple recent urine ketone checks have remained NEGATIVE

5/10/2026​

AM​

  • 7:18 AM — BG 289
  • 7:42 AM
    • Fed 1 can Fancy Feast mixed with water
    • Given 1u Lantus
  • Dinkey finished entire meal
  • Continued licking residual food flavor/juice from other bowls
  • Groomed normally after eating
  • 9:20 AM — BG 330
  • 11:30 AM — BG 368
  • 11:30 AM — BG 369 (repeat confirm test from same poke)

    PM​

  • 1:30 PM — BG 348
  • 3:28 PM — BG 326
  • 5:25 PM — BG 315
  • 7:28 PM — BG 275
    • Fed 1 can Fancy Feast mixed with water
    • Given 1u Lantus
    • Also received approximately 2 Temptations treats
    • Also given water swished through emptied wet-food can (minimal actual food residue, mainly hydration/flavor)
  • 9:23 PM — BG 239
  • 11:30 PM — BG 161

Behavioral Notes​

  • Much more active during evening hours before dinner.
  • Jumping between:
    • Bed
    • Cat tree
    • Cooler
    • Chair
    • Amp
  • Playing with laser pointer
  • Meowing at ceiling again
  • Acting much more like her old “chaos gremlin” self
  • Grooming frequently throughout day
  • Continues to have periods of deep resting/sleeping between activity
  • Appetite remains strong
  • Continues seeking food and bowl residue
  • Normal urination observed
  • Confirmed both peeing and pooping



  • 🐾
    Overall Concerns​

    My primary concern is that Dinkey appears to be having:
    • Very high daytime blood glucose numbers (often 300s)
    • Stronger PM insulin response than daytime response
    • Significant nighttime drops after PM doses
    • Possible rebound/bounce behavior after dropping low
  • I am worried that she may be:
    • Bouncing/rebounding from nighttime lows
    • Experiencing different AM vs PM insulin sensitivity
    • Or possibly needing adjustments to timing/food strategy
 
The thing with the spreadsheet is the kind people that help here have been using it for decades. It helps them see what’s going on more efficiently. I have a feeling the guidance you’ll get as it relates to BG numbers will be limited without one.

I’d hate to see you give up on the forum though or not get what you need for your cat. How can we make it easier for you? Does a video explanation of how to create a spreadsheet help at all?

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet-video.307280/
 
and it seems my plan worked
this morning at 7:17 AM her BG is 62 (human meter other cats read 67-75-77, 3 tests on 3 non diabetic cats) so the diabetic cat being 62 when for the past 2 weeks its been like what you see above .. thats waht i was going for ..
 
The thing with the spreadsheet is the kind people that help here have been using it for decades. It helps them see what’s going on more efficiently. I have a feeling the guidance you’ll get as it relates to BG numbers will be limited without one.

I’d hate to see you give up on the forum though or not get what you need for your cat. How can we make it easier for you? Does a video explanation of how to create a spreadsheet help at all?

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet-video.307280/
The thing with the spreadsheet is the kind people that help here have been using it for decades. It helps them see what’s going on more efficiently. I have a feeling the guidance you’ll get as it relates to BG numbers will be limited without one.

I’d hate to see you give up on the forum though or not get what you need for your cat. How can we make it easier for you? Does a video explanation of how to create a spreadsheet help at all?

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet-video.307280/
i get it but i have a BRAIN INJURY FROM A CAR WRECK that locks my brain up .. like i said i didnt want MY medical issues being all broadcast butif i dont explain it yall are just going to keep telling me .. i can have chatgpt do it but the actual act of doing it locks my brain up and it just goes black .. it takes everything i have mentally when that happens to even move its like my brain jus shuts down and i go semi catatonic

ok in 2005 i was hit with a tanker truck while stopped at a red light.... i was rear ended and the back of my head broke out the back window cause my seat broke folded back imbeded into the back seat (we just dropped 2 people off they would have been cut in half my seat was buried so deep into the back seat and trunk .. wearing your seatbelt doesnt help when the back of your chair breaks and folds back like its reclined ... i broke my neck in 3 places and my back in 4 .. i can barely walk anymore and i have a severe brain injury that makes my mental processes freeze and go blank i cant even type/write/speak my own birthday at that point .. something i know easily ... it becomes physically near - impossible .. i have to fight and struggle to be able to move even turn my head .. ever seen the cartoon "Drawn Together"? when they do the "whaaaaaaaa?" gag and then start drooling and freeze up cause they dont understand .. its like that .. that actually happens to me .. but then my brain locks up and its just frozen .. then a tiny spark as i am staring blankly at when ever it is i am trying to do ..

so .. again .. doing them isnt an option for me ok .. thank you .. i appreciate the help and concern .. but i am able to do lists like that i am not able to do spread sheets i'm sorry .. believe me .. i would love to not have the brian injury and to be normal in the brain again .. and never have been in the wreck in the first place.. i went from a Firefighter and college nursing student to a crippled, screwed up brain, shut in .. i barely leave my house man ..

so believe me .. i really wish i could make the spread sheets for yall ...
 
also my plan from last night worked ... she was 62 this morning at 7:15 AM ish.. i cant fix the time on the meter so its an hour behind
remember i tested 3 other cats that are not diabetic they all ranged from 67-77 and that was after they ate too .. meaning Dinkey's numbers this morning are perfection since her's were premeal and her behavior, attitude, the way she walks (tail up sashaying around, compared to when her numbers were bouncing all over) even her eyes (bright and open and alert and not looking like a pot head at a snoop dogg concert "half closed" "sleepy" "out of it" "tired" how ever you want to describe it) everything is just like before she became diabetic and during her remission ..

so this morning i fed her a reduced meal (1/2 can instead of full can , water added) but with a number like that i am not shooting.. i will see what the numbers say in 2 hours

also i can tell you this much .. after she would eat before she would just sleep .. today none of that ..


*edit* Follow up .. checked 2 hours later (9:30 AM) 101 on the meter if she stays in this range that is perfection
 

Attachments

  • 649c2c89-6e89-40a8-888c-b21eb4ea8769~1.jpg
    649c2c89-6e89-40a8-888c-b21eb4ea8769~1.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 6
Last edited:
yeah skipped that AM shot .. shes now in the 400s but .. she is behaving and acting normal like her old self long before this all happened .. active interested playful .. meowing at the ceiling for food from the heavens .. i just dont get it man i really dont
 
Looks like you are primarily giving food just at shot time unless you need to intervene with lower numbers? If so, you may find you can smooth out her numbers if you give her a couple of additional small meals, maybe 2 and 4 hours after the shot. You don't need to feed more, just reduce the breakfast and dinner amounts.

You might want to consider lowering her dose by 0.25 units. Whatever her current dose is.

Tagging @Marje and Gracie another person who can help create spreadsheets. Once a spreadsheet is created, you just need to type in the new data, probably less work than what you have been doing typing data into the thread here.
 
Looks like you are primarily giving food just at shot time unless you need to intervene with lower numbers? If so, you may find you can smooth out her numbers if you give her a couple of additional small meals, maybe 2 and 4 hours after the shot. You don't need to feed more, just reduce the breakfast and dinner amounts.

You might want to consider lowering her dose by 0.25 units. Whatever her current dose is.

Tagging @Marje and Gracie another person who can help create spreadsheets. Once a spreadsheet is created, you just need to type in the new data, probably less work than what you have been doing typing data into the thread here.
thats what i emailed the vet about last night .. 455 at 5 PM .. it was perfect this morning and i gave half the amount of food to lessen the carbs.. could this be "bounce" glucose? like her numbers were too perfect and the liver was like NOPE RELEASE THE GLUCOSE like its Zeus from Clash of the Titans with the Kraken ?

shes acting like her normal self which is what is really messing with my head
 
Looks like you are primarily giving food just at shot time unless you need to intervene with lower numbers? If so, you may find you can smooth out her numbers if you give her a couple of additional small meals, maybe 2 and 4 hours after the shot. You don't need to feed more, just reduce the breakfast and dinner amounts.

You might want to consider lowering her dose by 0.25 units. Whatever her current dose is.

Tagging @Marje and Gracie another person who can help create spreadsheets. Once a spreadsheet is created, you just need to type in the new data, probably less work than what you have been doing typing data into the thread here.
thats what i was told to do by the vet

also after her 7:15 PM meal i administered 1u lantus and tested 2 hours later
pre shot PM 525
2hours later
303
i am just so nervous about giving a 1u shot to her then she is sub 100 (remember though this is a human meter the other nondiabetic cats are 67-77 which should be 80-90-100 on the advocate meter considering when i tested them on it thats the range they showed) so around 20 to 30 points difference ..

so she is really around 333 maybe 350 at most right now .. much better than the 525 but not prime with the 70s numbers ..

i am just so frightened of her going hypo ..

she is a Therapy Cat .. i have doctors letters for her and everything

i have a great deal of legit PTSD (again not trying to have all my personal stuff out there but i been though a lot of bad stuff in my life) and Dinkey and the other cats help immensely with that

so i am terrified or screwing something up and causing pain or worse to her..

shes such a sweet little cat .. i dont think i could live with myself if i caused any harm to her ..
thats her today and i have video too of her playing and being all goofy like her old self .. but those numbers man .. from 62 to 525 .. from 1/2 a can of fancy feast ..

i was wondering if it was "the bounce" mixed with no lantus that caused that ..

went low into normal range , liver said nope and dumped a bunch of glucose ?

i am collecting all the data and stuff and will be emailed Dr Jen tonight after Dinkey's 11:30 PM test ..

i will ask about the smaller meals like maybe 3 halfs 1 morning 1 after noon 1 evening might be better this time round? i dont know i am just so exhausted and mentally drained

but i have to keep going .. there is no magic wand to fix all the kitties..

its just so hard when i cant understand or explain why its happening ..

pictured Dinkey (Calico) and her Boyfriend Sammy (gray and white)
 

Attachments

  • 416d5174-5f03-4365-bdc8-a6c06d558581~1.jpg
    416d5174-5f03-4365-bdc8-a6c06d558581~1.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 8
  • IMG_20260510_104641477_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20260510_104641477_HDR.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 8
  • 671182c2-a6b6-42a6-b110-13eb5e0bca50~1.jpg
    671182c2-a6b6-42a6-b110-13eb5e0bca50~1.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 9
Kenney

I did the SS and, based on the BGs I’m seeing, Dinkey is following a very typical pattern which is bouncing. If she goes lower, even though not that low, it’s a number her pancreas is not used to and so the liver panics and sends glucose and counterregulatory hormones to raise the BG. She can be a bit dramatic about it, that’s for sure, but what she is doing is normal.

You are doing a great job of testing and what you want to focus on now is slowing the drop once her insulin onsets. Testing at +2 every cycle will help you to see whether she is likely to drop or not. If the +2 is similar to or less than the PS, she’s likely going to drop so you want to feed to slow it down a bit. LC food is fine. Post and someone can walk you through what you might want to feed as the numbers drop. On the evening she dropped to 56, 201 to 143 is a big drop so you would have wanted to feed her a tsp or two of LC food and retested no more than an hour after she finished her meal so you could feed more if she was still dropping.

It’s an art and a science and we can help you if you post regularly and keep the SS up-to-date.

I only entered three days of data but I know you have data from before that so if you want to slowly enter it in, that’s helpful for us to see at least three weeks of data.

Let us know your questions.
 
Kenney

I did the SS and, based on the BGs I’m seeing, Dinkey is following a very typical pattern which is bouncing. If she goes lower, even though not that low, it’s a number her pancreas is not used to and so the liver panics and sends glucose and counterregulatory hormones to raise the BG. She can be a bit dramatic about it, that’s for sure, but what she is doing is normal.

You are doing a great job of testing and what you want to focus on now is slowing the drop once her insulin onsets. Testing at +2 every cycle will help you to see whether she is likely to drop or not. If the +2 is similar to or less than the PS, she’s likely going to drop so you want to feed to slow it down a bit. LC food is fine. Post and someone can walk you through what you might want to feed as the numbers drop. On the evening she dropped to 56, 201 to 143 is a big drop so you would have wanted to feed her a tsp or two of LC food and retested no more than an hour after she finished her meal so you could feed more if she was still dropping.

It’s an art and a science and we can help you if you post regularly and keep the SS up-to-date.

I only entered three days of data but I know you have data from before that so if you want to slowly enter it in, that’s helpful for us to see at least three weeks of data.

Let us know your questions.
thank you i sent you a PM

i will take a look at it later on tomorrow during the day i explain why in the PM
 
Kenney

I did the SS and, based on the BGs I’m seeing, Dinkey is following a very typical pattern which is bouncing. If she goes lower, even though not that low, it’s a number her pancreas is not used to and so the liver panics and sends glucose and counterregulatory hormones to raise the BG. She can be a bit dramatic about it, that’s for sure, but what she is doing is normal.

You are doing a great job of testing and what you want to focus on now is slowing the drop once her insulin onsets. Testing at +2 every cycle will help you to see whether she is likely to drop or not. If the +2 is similar to or less than the PS, she’s likely going to drop so you want to feed to slow it down a bit. LC food is fine. Post and someone can walk you through what you might want to feed as the numbers drop. On the evening she dropped to 56, 201 to 143 is a big drop so you would have wanted to feed her a tsp or two of LC food and retested no more than an hour after she finished her meal so you could feed more if she was still dropping.

It’s an art and a science and we can help you if you post regularly and keep the SS up-to-date.

I only entered three days of data but I know you have data from before that so if you want to slowly enter it in, that’s helpful for us to see at least three weeks of data.

Let us know your questions.
also yes i was thinking it was the bounce but its not the numbers

it was the laying almost lethargically
she was responsive just very very sleepy

thats what i needed to know if that after starting lantus again after remission then relapse was normal .. she is only on 1u cant really get much less than that lol .. i mean you can but theres no lines on the U100 syringes for under 1u and then its just a guessing game is its .75 .5 or .25 and i dont think 99% of Vets would play it that way and i dont think that the company making the syringes would have them like that if it were actually needed like that know what i mean? sorry brain is fried stressful day explained in the PM
 
also yes i was thinking it was the bounce but its not the numbers

it was the laying almost lethargically
she was responsive just very very sleepy

thats what i needed to know if that after starting lantus again after remission then relapse was normal .. she is only on 1u cant really get much less than that lol .. i mean you can but theres no lines on the U100 syringes for under 1u and then its just a guessing game is its .75 .5 or .25 and i dont think 99% of Vets would play it that way and i dont think that the company making the syringes would have them like that if it were actually needed like that know what i mean? sorry brain is fried stressful day explained in the PM
The syringes were made primarily for humans. Most members buy syringes with 0.5u markings. Many member dose well below 1u bid. Also most Lantus users dose with calipers to get the dose accurate every time This post shows you some of the lower doses. Most vets don’t understand how fine dosing is done.
 
The syringes were made primarily for humans. Most members buy syringes with 0.5u markings. Many member dose well below 1u bid. Also most Lantus users dose with calipers to get the dose accurate every time This post shows you some of the lower doses. Most vets don’t understand how fine dosing is done.
i was instructed by her vet to ONLY use U100 syringes.
that is what i will be using ... as per the vets orders..
she is the captain in this storm .. i am only her deck hand ..
so she says jump
i dont even ask how high
i just jump as high as i can and hope i did good enough.

and considering Dr Jen said that she is proud of me for my vigilance in monitoring Dinkey ..
then i must be doing something right .. that and .. well Dinkey isnt dead yet .. so .. theres that major factor too .. just sayin.

i will however ask and see what Dr Jen says about syringes that have the .5 markings on them if there are U100 syringes that have them or what other options there are
because ...

Dinkeys dosages have been altered by Dr Jen

she now wants 1u AM then .5 PM

and tonight is a perfect example of why also what i told you about interpreting her curve .. is right .. like i said in the PM
300s during day ... dropping down at night .. for 1 day it flip flopped cause i skipped the AM dose because she started low and thats why she skyrocketed to 525 by PM
that has literally be the same curve for 2 weeks straight now ..
and before i got the Lantus on 5/2, that was all of April 2026 , 300s dropping to 250s BUT she had ketones ..

right now its adjusting the dose dialing it in .. no ketones present .. got a fresh pee test on 5/13 looked fantastic
so ..

5/13/2026​


  • 12:50 AM — 302
  • 7:20 AM — 328
  • 9:30 AM — 362
  • 11:20 AM — 321
  • 1:15 PM — 325
  • 3:30 PM — 275
  • 5:29 PM — 258
  • 7:20 PM — 266
  • 9:15 PM — 124
  • 11:15 PM — 50
  • 11:50 PM — 58



5/14/2026​


  • 12:20 AM — 62 / 57
    (two tests from same ear approximately one minute apart)
i am going to recheck her BG here in a couple minutes to see what its at so i can go to bed cause i explained that i am mentally drained my brain is fried .. i cant even lift my head or open my eyes and am typing this while looking like i belong on Kensington Ave in Philly with my head almost touching the floor .. (no i do not do the things those people do its the TBI the mental drain and the exhaustion that goes along with it)
 
Last edited:
i was instructed by her vet to ONLY use U100 syringes.
that is what i will be using ... as per the vets orders..
she is the captain in this storm .. i am only her deck hand ..
so she says jump
i dont even ask how high
i just jump as high as i can and hope i did good enough.

and considering Dr Jen said that she is proud of me for my vigilance in monitoring Dinkey ..
then i must be doing something right .. that and .. well Dinkey isnt dead yet .. so .. theres that major factor too .. just sayin.

i will however ask and see what Dr Jen says about syringes that have the .5 markings on them if there are U100 syringes that have them or what other options there are
because ...

Dinkeys dosages have been altered by Dr Jen

she now wants 1u AM then .5 PM

and tonight is a perfect example of why also what i told you about interpreting her curve .. is right .. like i said in the PM
300s during day ... dropping down at night .. for 1 day it flip flopped cause i skipped the AM dose because she started low and thats why she skyrocketed to 525 by PM
that has literally be the same curve for 2 weeks straight now ..
and before i got the Lantus on 5/2, that was all of April 2026 , 300s dropping to 250s BUT she had ketones ..

right now its adjusting the dose dialing it in .. no ketones present .. got a fresh pee test on 5/13 looked fantastic
so ..

5/13/2026​


  • 12:50 AM — 302
  • 7:20 AM — 328
  • 9:30 AM — 362
  • 11:20 AM — 321
  • 1:15 PM — 325
  • 3:30 PM — 275
  • 5:29 PM — 258
  • 7:20 PM — 266
  • 9:15 PM — 124
  • 11:15 PM — 50
  • 11:50 PM — 58



5/14/2026​


  • 12:20 AM — 62 / 57
    (two tests from same ear approximately one minute apart)
i am going to recheck her BG here in a couple minutes to see what its at so i can go to bed cause i explained that i am mentally drained my brain is fried .. i cant even lift my head or open my eyes and am typing this while looking like i belong on Kensington Ave in Philly with my head almost touching the floor .. (no i do not do the things those people do its the TBI the mental drain and the exhaustion that goes along with it)
We only use U100 syringes with Lantus. But those syringes can be marked in 0.5u markings.

I strongly urge you to not take the dosing advice to shoot 1u in the morning and 0.5u in the evening. That is not how Lantus best works and you will set Dinkey back.
 
Yes, use only U100 syringes with Lantus. These syringes come in a variety of different specs depending on patient need and preference. The best ones to use for a cat are 3/10 cc with half unit markings. The half unit markings make it super easy to measure half and even quarter unit doses which cats need. Some people do use calipers to measure even more micro doses their cat needs.


49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg


There are lots of different brands of half unit marked syringes you can buy. Some brands:

u32fcjc6ay8o8a5s4ay4
ulticare-u100-syringes-31g-6mm-half-unit-91007.jpg

bd-veo-31g-6mm-halfunit.jpg
bd-ultra-fine-syringes-half-unit-31g-8mm-310cc.jpg

upload_2024-4-22_23-37-23-jpeg.69946


If you prefer to buy at a store pharmacy, you will probably need a prescription from the vet. The prescription should specify U100 3/10 cc with half unit markings. Double check the syringes before you pay. Sometimes a pharmacist will give you 1/2 cc syringes instead. You don't want those. The Relion 3/10 cc syringes have half unit markings even though it is not specifically noted as such on the box.

Lots of people buy their syringes online from places like Amazon and (Human) diabetic supply web sites. Amazon doesn't require a prescription but other web sites may ask for one or the phone number of the vet / doctor.
 
We only use U100 syringes with Lantus. But those syringes can be marked in 0.5u markings.

I strongly urge you to not take the dosing advice to shoot 1u in the morning and 0.5u in the evening. That is not how Lantus best works and you will set Dinkey back.

Yes, use only U100 syringes with Lantus. These syringes come in a variety of different specs depending on patient need and preference. The best ones to use for a cat are 3/10 cc with half unit markings. The half unit markings make it super easy to measure half and even quarter unit doses which cats need. Some people do use calipers to measure even more micro doses their cat needs.


49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg


There are lots of different brands of half unit marked syringes you can buy. Some brands:

u32fcjc6ay8o8a5s4ay4
ulticare-u100-syringes-31g-6mm-half-unit-91007.jpg

bd-veo-31g-6mm-halfunit.jpg
bd-ultra-fine-syringes-half-unit-31g-8mm-310cc.jpg

upload_2024-4-22_23-37-23-jpeg.69946


If you prefer to buy at a store pharmacy, you will probably need a prescription from the vet. The prescription should specify U100 3/10 cc with half unit markings. Double check the syringes before you pay. Sometimes a pharmacist will give you 1/2 cc syringes instead. You don't want those. The Relion 3/10 cc syringes have half unit markings even though it is not specifically noted as such on the box.

Lots of people buy their syringes online from places like Amazon and (Human) diabetic supply web sites. Amazon doesn't require a prescription but other web sites may ask for one or the phone number of the vet / doctor.


right thats what i said above ..
i am going to ask and see about ones with .5 markers .5 1.0 1.5 etc ..

also your needle is shorter than mine the ones i have are 12mm (which is what i was instructed to use) and yours are 31 gauge mine are 29G

again not the same syringe .. and i am not deviating away from what Dr Jen's instructions and orders are ..

and you are telling me .. to NOT listen to my vet who has been there with me through thick and thin and through the passing of 2 other cats of mine .. who hugged me while i was crying when Ralph and Schrodinger passed away (one extreme old age, the other stomach cancer) the woman who devoted her life to animals and who works at a non profit animal rescue ..

yeaaaaah i dont think so .. that would be like me (a random person on the internet which is what you are to me) telling you how to dose your child with their ADHD medication ..

not happening ..

this place is getting real weird real fast .. and i do not like the direction you guys are going with this ..

yall act like your are the only possessors of knowledge and experience with Diabetic cats .. this is my 5th .. FIFTH diabetic cat in my life ..

i have been doing this since the 90s but never have encountered what Dineky is doing with the bouncing .. i have been doing this since i was 12 in the early 90s ..
so .. forgive me for my directness but ..

no i am not listening to you over Dinkeys Vet who has held me and cried with me during the passing of my other cats..
no i am not going behind Dr Jen's back and doing things without her knowledge or approval ..

she went to college and devoted her time and money to dedicating her life to helping animals ..

so that aint happening ..

go a head and boot me from the site ..

i am recording all of this in my documentation ..
i also have a press ID ..
so .. just stop .. i asked a simple question
you guys went off the rails on this weird side quest of trying to get me to usurp my vet and install you guys as supreme authority over MY cat's life ..

no i do not think so ..

Dr Jen is the Captain in this storm .. i am the deckhand.. and right now yall acting like some Somali Pirates trying to hijack my ship.

I wish you and your beloved kitties all the best...
good day .
 
Last edited:
my cat dinkey was in remission for a couple months then on April 1st she was 89 then 4/9 275 then 380 .. it was determined she had a relapse
we started Lantus again last night it brought her down from 264 to 134 .. gave her her morning shot as she ate breakfast .. after that she has wanted to do nothing but sleep she is responsive when engaged but just wants to lay on her side every now and then popping up to groom herself or shift positions. i checked her BG several times it went down to 59 at which point i gave her food and water.. that brought it back up to 76 .. but then i gave her 2 temptation treats just in case and tested her again and 104 . so great looking numbers but her behavior and energy have been sucked right out of her i did get her to snap playfully at a bag top (like when you rip it off to open it ) and she is purring but she just wants to lay on her side her breathing is normal when i checked and counted earlier it was 20-22 breaths per minute .. she was active this morning and even stole extra food when i had my back turned ..

she will get up occasionally and move around i have been using chatGPT to keep records of all her stuff ..

anyone out there that can tell me whats going on ?

yes she dipped low today and i am keeping an eye on that .. no seizure or anything .. just seems like she wants to sleep (i check on her parodically and am constantly monitoring her breathing gums pink nose pink)


REMEMBER .. this is what i originally asked .. and it still was never .. NEVER answered ..
weird cause back in November when i made a post asking a question .. i didnt get this type of response ..

and this is only my second post here ..

soooooooooo

make of that what you will
 
REMEMBER .. this is what i originally asked .. and it still was never .. NEVER answered ..
weird cause back in November when i made a post asking a question .. i didnt get this type of response ..

and this is only my second post here ..

soooooooooo

make of that what you will
Since you have a great vet, you should be asking her that question in regard to Dinkey’s behavior. Insofar as her BG, we have told you she’s bouncing and it’s fine if you don’t want to believe us.

Length and thickness of a U100 syringe is preference. You can use 8 or 12 mm. Most here use 31g as it is smaller and more comfortable for the cat.

While we are here to help, we don’t take abuse. Members have been very kind to you. If you don’t want our help, you don’t have to post here but if you post, you have to be kind.

It’s great you have such a wonderful vet and so I’m not sure what we can offer you if you don’t want to listen. But we all wish you and Dinkey the very best. She’s lucky to have you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top