Need Advice Was in Remission Relapsed started Lantus again just wants to lay

KenneyM.

Member Since 2025
my cat dinkey was in remission for a couple months then on April 1st she was 89 then 4/9 275 then 380 .. it was determined she had a relapse
we started Lantus again last night it brought her down from 264 to 134 .. gave her her morning shot as she ate breakfast .. after that she has wanted to do nothing but sleep she is responsive when engaged but just wants to lay on her side every now and then popping up to groom herself or shift positions. i checked her BG several times it went down to 59 at which point i gave her food and water.. that brought it back up to 76 .. but then i gave her 2 temptation treats just in case and tested her again and 104 . so great looking numbers but her behavior and energy have been sucked right out of her i did get her to snap playfully at a bag top (like when you rip it off to open it ) and she is purring but she just wants to lay on her side her breathing is normal when i checked and counted earlier it was 20-22 breaths per minute .. she was active this morning and even stole extra food when i had my back turned ..

she will get up occasionally and move around i have been using chatGPT to keep records of all her stuff ..

anyone out there that can tell me whats going on ?

yes she dipped low today and i am keeping an eye on that .. no seizure or anything .. just seems like she wants to sleep (i check on her parodically and am constantly monitoring her breathing gums pink nose pink)
 

Attachments

  • cc13dca4-e8c1-4daa-b680-3b9ea94c13ed~1.jpg
    cc13dca4-e8c1-4daa-b680-3b9ea94c13ed~1.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 14
  • image_2026-05-03_163945309.png
    image_2026-05-03_163945309.png
    757.8 KB · Views: 9
There is some information that would help us if you put it in your signature, details here: New? How You Can Help Us Help You! One of those things is which meter you are using. If you are using a pet meter, the 59 means the dose is too high. If you are using a human meter, it may or may not be too high, depending on what food you are feeding - which is another item we like in the signature. The signature means we can see at a glance the many items we take into consideration when helping.

There are many reasons she might be staying still. Is it hot out and she's sleepy? Is she eating well? If not, then lethargy can be a concern and her ketones level should be tested. If cats get used to higher BG numbers, then being in lower than what she's used to might also make her tired. My analogy is someone trying to reduce how much caffeine (blood sugar) they are used to. Reduce the caffeine (blood sugar goes lower than used to), and they don't feel so well until they see those normal numbers more often.
 
My thoughts are the same as Wendy's. Just for safety's sake, I'd test her ketones. If an infection/inflammation is what caused her to fall out of remission, it can contribute to ketones developing. Also, make sure that it's not dental issues that have contributed to higher numbers. Gingivitis is one reason that many cats come out of remission.
 
There is some information that would help us if you put it in your signature, details here: New? How You Can Help Us Help You! One of those things is which meter you are using. If you are using a pet meter, the 59 means the dose is too high. If you are using a human meter, it may or may not be too high, depending on what food you are feeding - which is another item we like in the signature. The signature means we can see at a glance the many items we take into consideration when helping.

There are many reasons she might be staying still. Is it hot out and she's sleepy? Is she eating well? If not, then lethargy can be a concern and her ketones level should be tested. If cats get used to higher BG numbers, then being in lower than what she's used to might also make her tired. My analogy is someone trying to reduce how much caffeine (blood sugar) they are used to. Reduce the caffeine (blood sugar goes lower than used to), and they don't feel so well until they see those normal numbers more often.

human meter Accu-Chek Guide Me
tested non diabetic cats too 67-76 for them mid feeding cycle
59 is low
she just got up walked into the living room and jumped up into the window ...
i talked with a veet tech from chewy too ..

i think its the higher/lower numbers
amd she just came back to the bed room jumped up on the bed and laid down ..

so yeah you can see why i am confused ..

she was diabetic .. had the bounce (see my only other post here)
went into remission
4/1 89 (relion) (ran out of strips have thousands of Accu-Chek strips , my BG meter that syncs up to a phone for my doctors office so they gonna be getting some wacky readings coming their way)
4/9 275
4/10 380
4/11 starts the down shift .. from here its 300s in evening mid 200s morning afternoon

had a bg curve at vet
was fine this morning before second shot ...
was 134 this morning (accu-chek)

then down to 59 then i fed then up to 76 then gave a couple temptaions treats for the carbs
then 104 then 94

it had to be the second shot ..

but she isnt hypo .. not drunk walking not wobbly

just wants to lay on her side (checked for pain responses when i picked her up)
she walked into living room on her own jumped up in window sniffed air from outside came back in went back up on bed ..

emailing the vet everything .. using chatgpt to keep records ..

pooped and peed this morning

did have ketones but not severe between 0.5-1.5
was hoping the lantus would work
vet said 1u/12hr
this was her second shot 12 hours later (around 7:30 pm - 7:30 am) have video of her at 7:22 am jumping and active

this didnt start until after that second shot and 30 to 45 minutes later after the shot.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20260503_175059456.jpg
    IMG_20260503_175059456.jpg
    3.3 MB · Views: 10
  • IMG_20260503_171508504_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20260503_171508504_HDR.jpg
    2.9 MB · Views: 6
  • 95f5f0bc-2042-4b6e-9e25-b5869958c218~1.jpg
    95f5f0bc-2042-4b6e-9e25-b5869958c218~1.jpg
    3.2 MB · Views: 8
My thoughts are the same as Wendy's. Just for safety's sake, I'd test her ketones. If an infection/inflammation is what caused her to fall out of remission, it can contribute to ketones developing. Also, make sure that it's not dental issues that have contributed to higher numbers. Gingivitis is one reason that many cats come out of remission.
pee tests were done and there were ketones 0.5-1.5

she was acting a bit better a little while ago but isnt acting anything like herself at this usual time of day screeching for food, but then again neither are any of my other cats ...

which they usually are now too ..
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20260502_170250533.jpg
    IMG_20260502_170250533.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 12
  • IMG_20260502_170309928.jpg
    IMG_20260502_170309928.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 10
The non diabetics I've tested with a Relion were 53, 55 and 49.
this isnt the relion .. this is the accu-chek guide me meter i used today i also tested them back with the relion same reading (a piece fell out the back and i ran out of strips but have a ton of the accu-chek strips)

also ..
she was 84 at dinner .. no shot dont want to risk hypo while i sleep then she went up to 145 .. then to 221
she ate a full can fancy feast for dinner i found something on reddit that is kinda talking about the same thing i am going through right now

now her BG wasnt high all day and is creeping back up to being high but her behavior hasnt changed at all ..
i got her to almost play earlier but other cats of mine joined in and Dinkey took a swat at them.. and then didnt want to play anymore
she was grooming earlier too and has been up and gone to the bathroom..

it seems since she ate she is back to sleep shes been like that one picture most of the day ..

i dont know what is going on with her .. she did eat well at dinner time ..
i just dont know what i could have done wrong to cause this ..

i emailed the vet earlier with all the info i had then all i can do is wait for her to email back tomorrow i am going to call them and leave them a message as well so the email doesnt go missed ..

*edit*

and of course things happen after i post this as well .. but nothing concerning for the most part .. but she is now in the lower tier of the cat tree she also feels warm and the spot on my leg where she was laying before moving to the cat tree i can still like feel the spot where she was

possible fever? i wipe the vial top every time i stick it .. its weird its almost like someone gave her a xanax bar .. (like if she were a person) like shes still there at moments .. but most of the time she is sleepy, sleeping, or yawning and stretching her front legs ..

the only thing she was given was the lantus.. the fancy feast, some 9 lives, and thats it ..
i am just trying to explain its not like she is out of it out of it .. like i even got her to play some and she took a swing at her brother and rival girl cat in the house.. (i have 4 total) and she was grooming normally earlier too ..

i am just so confused and want my little chaos gremlin back thats all ..

any help would be much appreciated..
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20260503_195039182.jpg
    IMG_20260503_195039182.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 9
  • aabc294e-3359-42c5-9981-3bb2272513dc~1.jpg
    aabc294e-3359-42c5-9981-3bb2272513dc~1.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 11
  • 2781bcb1-937e-456d-8441-fc49074b9b3b~1.jpg
    2781bcb1-937e-456d-8441-fc49074b9b3b~1.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 10
Last edited:
she is acting better this morning .. vocal and moving around freely from bed to cat tree ..

i called the vet office and emailed waiting for them to respond
and her BG was 326 this morning (given lantus)
tested an hour later 319
this morning though she was active and vocal before eating ..
 
Last edited:
My thoughts are the same as Wendy's. Just for safety's sake, I'd test her ketones. If an infection/inflammation is what caused her to fall out of remission, it can contribute to ketones developing. Also, make sure that it's not dental issues that have contributed to higher numbers. Gingivitis is one reason that many cats come out of remission.
There is some information that would help us if you put it in your signature, details here: New? How You Can Help Us Help You! One of those things is which meter you are using. If you are using a pet meter, the 59 means the dose is too high. If you are using a human meter, it may or may not be too high, depending on what food you are feeding - which is another item we like in the signature. The signature means we can see at a glance the many items we take into consideration when helping.

There are many reasons she might be staying still. Is it hot out and she's sleepy? Is she eating well? If not, then lethargy can be a concern and her ketones level should be tested. If cats get used to higher BG numbers, then being in lower than what she's used to might also make her tired. My analogy is someone trying to reduce how much caffeine (blood sugar) they are used to. Reduce the caffeine (blood sugar goes lower than used to), and they don't feel so well until they see those normal numbers more often.

hey you guys i just got a pee strip a few minutes ago (pics are time stamped in lower right)
NO KETONES! .. her BG was in the 300s this morning (see above)
but she is acting normal
and no ketones which is paramount since they were present beforehand

one pic with flash one without
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20260504_094234164.jpg
    IMG_20260504_094234164.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 15
  • IMG_20260504_094158276.jpg
    IMG_20260504_094158276.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 10
There is some information that would help us if you put it in your signature, details here: New? How You Can Help Us Help You! One of those things is which meter you are using. If you are using a pet meter, the 59 means the dose is too high. If you are using a human meter, it may or may not be too high, depending on what food you are feeding - which is another item we like in the signature. The signature means we can see at a glance the many items we take into consideration when helping.

There are many reasons she might be staying still. Is it hot out and she's sleepy? Is she eating well? If not, then lethargy can be a concern and her ketones level should be tested. If cats get used to higher BG numbers, then being in lower than what she's used to might also make her tired. My analogy is someone trying to reduce how much caffeine (blood sugar) they are used to. Reduce the caffeine (blood sugar goes lower than used to), and they don't feel so well until they see those normal numbers more often.
My thoughts are the same as Wendy's. Just for safety's sake, I'd test her ketones. If an infection/inflammation is what caused her to fall out of remission, it can contribute to ketones developing. Also, make sure that it's not dental issues that have contributed to higher numbers. Gingivitis is one reason that many cats come out of remission.


new test today 5/7 still no ketones
one pic is with flash one without
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20260507_080645372.jpg
    IMG_20260507_080645372.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 7
  • IMG_20260507_080703063.jpg
    IMG_20260507_080703063.jpg
    4.1 MB · Views: 4
Great news on the no ketones! Looks like you have Ketodiastix, which show more than just ketones.

How is her appetite?
been good but her numbers are still too high and she isnt her normal gremlin mode self
i am thinking the reduced lantus dose might not be enough and might have to go to 1u instead of the .5
 
Any chance you could put the last couple weeks of blood sugar data into a spreadsheet so that we can help you with the dosing questions?
 
Any chance you could put the last couple weeks of blood sugar data into a spreadsheet so that we can help you with the dosing questions?
spreadsheet? i dont know aboutthat i amusing chatGPT to keep track i can give you a list , if it says ReliOn it was that meter if not its the Accu-chek guide me meter
also only got the lantus on May 2nd (5 days ago) when i gave her the second dose on May 3rd (1u) thats when she was layed out and dropped to 59 (other cats that are non diabetic are 67-78 on same meter mere minutes before testing her 3 other cats 67, 76, 78 so that means that is the normal range on that meter for them.

after the 3rd i spoke with the vet she agreed that sliding between .5u and 1u (u100 needles) is the best call right now just trying to figure out what does at what number to prevent hypo at night while i sleep and of course during the day but i am here then and awake and can do something about it then if that happens .. any missing numbers if cause of chatgpt i have it all stored in the meter just too lazy to get it out and scroll through them and its almost time for her PM check dinner and PM shot too i was going with 1u tonight since she is trending high after eating as you can see with todays numbers and yesterdays


April 2026
4/01
89 (ReliOn)
4/09
271 (ReliOn)
288 (ReliOn)
4/10
365 (ReliOn)
4/11
308 (ReliOn)
4/21
7:30 AM — 295
1:45 PM — 259
7:30 PM — 295
4/22
7:20 AM — 285
1:15 PM — 277
7:53 PM — 273
4/23
7:15 AM — 281
1:25 PM — 271
7:29 PM — 306
4/24
7:15 AM — 272
7:17 PM — 305
4/25
7:15 AM — 253
1:15 PM — 263
7:20 PM — 308
8:56 PM — 306
4/26
7:15 AM — 258
1:48 PM — 253
7:37 PM — 304
4/27
7:30 AM — 259
Midday — 274
PM — 317
4/28
12:06 AM — 249
7:15 AM — 241
2:00 PM — 231
7:16 PM — 276
May 2026
5/02
7:22 AM — 254
1:23 PM — 267
7:30 PM — 264
1u Lantus started
5/03
7:18 AM — 134
8:58 AM — 84
11:28 AM — 59
12:49 PM — 76
2:40 PM — 107
5:11 PM — 94
7:21 PM — 84
8:38 PM — 145
9:37 PM — 221
5/04
7:15 AM — 326
8:33 AM — 319
11:15 AM — 250
12:15 PM — 243
2:00 PM — 241
7:18 PM — 323
10:00 PM — 257
11:48 PM — 241
5/05
7:15 AM — 186
9:10 AM — 126
11:38 AM — 78
1:50 PM — 130
7:18 PM — 375
9:20 PM — 325
5/06
4:00 AM — 249
7:30 AM — 272
9:09 AM — 306
10:15 AM — 275
12:47 PM — 243
1:41 PM — 239
6:00 PM — 191
7:30 PM — 193
9:24 PM — 200
10:38 PM — 206
5/07
7:30 AM — 270
9:43 AM — 335
10:36 AM — 316
12:36 PM — 300
1:30 PM — 289
5:30 PM — 260
*edit*
yep 7:21 PM 244 so 1u or just a slight smidge past like .9 or .8u for the lantus
 
Might be a more active cycle tonight. Can you get another test in a couple hours?

We are used to looking at data in spreadsheet form. If you look at most of our signature, we have a spreadsheet, along with other useful information that we need to know to help. From the post I linked above, is information on signature information and spreadsheet. See link in my reply in post #2.

How to Create a Spreadsheet

How to Use the Spreadsheet
 
Might be a more active cycle tonight. Can you get another test in a couple hours?

We are used to looking at data in spreadsheet form. If you look at most of our signature, we have a spreadsheet, along with other useful information that we need to know to help. From the post I linked above, is information on signature information and spreadsheet. See link in my reply in post #2.

How to Create a Spreadsheet

How to Use the Spreadsheet
i can try . but this isnt the only stressful thing .. right now she is in the 150s cant remember exactly off the top of my head 155 156 something like that and her behavior is much better too.. main thing is no ketones 2 tests couple days apart vs the test before showing ketones in the 0.5-1.5 range which was like that for a week straight or more before that ..
so right now i think she is good ..

what is really concerning me is that my helper (personal care aid) who was always on time for 2 months straight since starting with me .. has been a no call no show for a week now .. i have the state troopers now investigating .. neither me or her manager have been able to get in contact with her .. last time we talked everything was good .. she just got me a guitar from the pawn shop down the road and i was/am going to pay her back in july when i get my rent rebate (i live in PA and we get a rent tax rebate if you are disabled or retired)

but i watch a log of plice body came and interrogation videos on youtube like real ones body cam footage and real police interrogations of murder suspects ..

i told the trooper i seen enough of those stories to know something bad always starts off like this .. and it needs to be checked on like yesterday and this is highly unusual .. and i am hoping wishing praying what ever you want to call it that she is ok and safe and that i didnt just lose a good helper and aa nice friend ..

as for dinkey i gave her a temptation treat (some extra carbs) do make sure she doesnt dip too low during the nigh but she got the shot at 7:30-7:40 PM its now 11:32 PM so i think she should be good till 7:30 AM

nadir should be around the middle of the night some time 4 -5 - 6 AM which is close to her breakfast time of around 7:15 - 8 AM

i will let her have another treat or a spoon full of some friskies wet pate before i head off to bed here

thank you for all your help
 
Might be a more active cycle tonight. Can you get another test in a couple hours?

We are used to looking at data in spreadsheet form. If you look at most of our signature, we have a spreadsheet, along with other useful information that we need to know to help. From the post I linked above, is information on signature information and spreadsheet. See link in my reply in post #2.

How to Create a Spreadsheet

How to Use the Spreadsheet
got another pee test still negative for ketones but her BG is still high and she still is dumping glucose
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20260508_131034473.jpg
    IMG_20260508_131034473.jpg
    2.8 MB · Views: 2
Back
Top