I think MPM is a great choice, good chance of remission in my opinion. I would stick with 0.1U for awhile to see how he does. He doesn't appear to go too low on it, I believe you can safely shoot anything over 100 at 0.1U as long as you are around to monitor ( we may gradually lower that number as you get more data). Just to double check - he fasts 2 hrs before preshot correct?
You would reduce the dose any time he goes below 50 since you have a human meter. From 0.1U you'd go to a drop dose - push plunger all the way down, insert in vial, release to get one drop in the needle, not visible. When administering, you hold the plunger down for 10 seconds if the cat will let you.
If you get a preshot from 90-99, you can also try a drop dose if you can monitor. I think giving him insulin consistently will help him level out nicely into greens, it's the skips that are sending him a little higher and inconsistent pattern[/QUOT
I skipped tonight after getting 104, stalling 30 minutes and then a 96. A drop dose probably would have been better
I think MPM is a great choice, good chance of remission in my opinion. I would stick with 0.1U for awhile to see how he does. He doesn't appear to go too low on it, I believe you can safely shoot anything over 100 at 0.1U as long as you are around to monitor ( we may gradually lower that number as you get more data). Just to double check - he fasts 2 hrs before preshot correct?
You would reduce the dose any time he goes below 50 since you have a human meter. From 0.1U you'd go to a drop dose - push plunger all the way down, insert in vial, release to get one drop in the needle, not visible. When administering, you hold the plunger down for 10 seconds if the cat will let you.
If you get a preshot from 90-99, you can also try a drop dose if you can monitor. I think giving him insulin consistently will help him level out nicely into greens, it's the skips that are sending him a little higher and inconsistent pattern
so I skipped the pm shot tonight after getting a 104, stalling 30 minutes, then a 96. So maybe a drop dose would have been better. I remember being told that stalling is to see which direction he’s heading, so I’m wondering if he is going down then should I still shoot or only if he’s going up???
And yes I take away his food bowl 2 hours before shot time. Other than that, he snacks all day and never really eats a large amount at once.