? need advice for PM shot stalling

Lara & Bernie

Member Since 2021
So we are switching from Prozinc to Lantus tomorrow. The vet installed the Libre today so that I can do the curves over the next few days. Vet also instructed me not to give Prozinc tonight. Sugars are at 402 and I still need to feed him. Do I trust the vet and not shoot tonight?
 
With your history of DKA, I would think skipping insulin could be bad news. How long until shot time?
If you can change your subject line to "need advice for PS shot-stalling" or something similar, you'll get advice faster.
 
It was 1 hour ago. and he is not eating like he normally does. He will go after dry food (glycobalance or young again mature zero).
He has seemed off for about 2 days now. Went to vet yesterday and all bloodwork was normal.
 
@Lara & Bernie
If your kitty had DKA would you please add that to your signature it's important for members to know also pancreatitis I see it on your SS for 8-2-21 It's important for members to see that on your signature :cat:
 
It was 1 hour ago. and he is not eating like he normally does. He will go after dry food (glycobalance or young again mature zero).
He has seemed off for about 2 days now. Went to vet yesterday and all bloodwork was normal.
Ok. Glad bloodwork was normal.

1. How long until shot time?
2. When did he last eat?
3. What percentage of normal food intake has he had today? 50%, 60%, etc.

EDIT never mind, you answered, shot time was an hour ago. So his 402 was at shot time?
 
So we are switching from Prozinc to Lantus tomorrow. The vet installed the Libre today so that I can do the curves over the next few days. Vet also instructed me not to give Prozinc tonight. Sugars are at 402 and I still need to feed him. Do I trust the vet and not shoot tonight?
there's no reason to skip insulin tonight. It will be out of his system tomorrow when you start the lantus.
 
Ok. Glad bloodwork was normal.

1. How long until shot time?
2. When did he last eat?
3. What percentage of normal food intake has he had today? 50%, 60%, etc.

EDIT never mind, you answered, shot time was an hour ago. So his 402 was at shot time?

He ate at 6:15 pm. Maybe 1/2 of 3 oz can. normally this is gone in less than 5 min. Gave 12 mg of Cerenia with Dinner. He was at 402 prior to dinner. At 467 at 1.5 hr post meal. Vet is still telling me to stay the course.
 
@Lara & Bernie
You have no tests after 8-25-21 ?
Only a few tests for June and none for July?
Do you have any for this month! Sept, is there any reason why you weren't testing

Thanks for adding the DKA to your signature , can you add pancreatitis also:cat:
 
I test like crazy. Terrible about updating the spreadsheet. didn't think that I needed to go back after the DKA. Should I try to add that information. He didn't have pancreatitis to my knowledge but he did develop Liver hepatodosis which required an etube.


Your vet is wrong, don't skip the shot with DKA so recent.

What Lantus dose did the vet suggest?
1 unit in the morning and nothing at night. which seemed weird as the original script was for 1 unit twice a day


No pancreatitis to my knowledge.
 
1 unit in the morning and nothing at night. which seemed weird as the original script was for 1 unit twice a day
Vet also wrong about that, Lantus doesn't last that long in the cat and should be dosed twice per day. What is your cat's current Prozinc dose? If you can fill in the last week of data, it'll really help us help you make the transition.

Have you tested for ketones lately?
 
Hi Lara I only asked you to to add this because I saw this was written on your spreadsheet

08/02/2021 move to Emergency Vet - DKA, Pancreatitis, Liver .... eTube placed on 8/5 10 pm
Thank you. This is soooo stressful. We went to the ER after my last post. My boy hid on me and I couldn't find him for over 30 min. When I did, BG registered as HI which means over 500. Hello wicked panic attack! He received a short acting insulin and fluids. ER vet was amazing and seemed to now her stuff. He has not peed since we got home at 1:30 but did Pooh this AM and stepped in it. Started walking like he was in pain. No food this morning so no Lantus. This was to be first dose. BG currently @ 351. This is how the last DKA episode started. I am freaking out.

Negative for Ketones in Urine and pH is good.
 
Thank you. This is soooo stressful. We went to the ER after my last post. My boy hid on me and I couldn't find him for over 30 min. When I did, BG registered as HI which means over 500. Hello wicked panic attack! He received a short acting insulin and fluids. ER vet was amazing and seemed to now her stuff. He has not peed since we got home at 1:30 but did Pooh this AM and stepped in it. Started walking like he was in pain. No food this morning so no Lantus. This was to be first dose. BG currently @ 351. This is how the last DKA episode started. I am freaking out.

Negative for Ketones in Urine and pH is good.
Lara please keep your SS up to date so we know what's going on, and can help you please note you just went to the ER on your SS like you did for the past when he was in the hospital,
We wouldn't know this , only because we don't always go back to past posts
How's he walking , what makes you think he's in pain, did the ER give you anything for it.
Please read what Wendy wrote in post #13, the numbers are on the right hand side of every post. Has he eaten anything yet or peed
 
Last edited:
Bernie is bac from the hospital. Took him Tuesday morning when he still wouldn't eat and they said not to dose him with Lantus. He still isn't eating like normal even though he has been begging for food for the last 3 hours. Dosing at 7:30. Will work on updating spreadsheet. The Vet used my Libre reader but I have no idea when they dosed him so cannot use that data to determine new nadirs. Should I start a new sheet since we are switching to Lantus?
 
Done and Done - Lantus is at 1 U starting pm 29Sep2021. This is is 3rd dose. not seeing any curve really
The Lantus depot takes a week to build.

Also, it looks like you were at 2U of Prozinc when you switched to Lantus and seeing mid-blue nadirs? 1U may be too low a dose for the transition. With a history of DKA, you want to me more aggressive with dosing. I would take him up to 2U.

@tiffmaxee
 
His numbers have been all over the place. Not sure I should raise the dose. Stalled for 1.5 hrs last night before I could dose. Now I am at his normal dosing/feeding time in the morning and he is reading Hi. Do I move him back to normal schedule or hold off and move him back in 15 min increments.
 
Since he is HI, you can shoot at his normal shot time this once. Normally you would move back to your original shot time by 15 mins every cycle.
 
He is bouncing from those blues and greens, very normal. If he's still eating dry and/or higher carb that will influence things as well.

I don't see if you've chosen a dosing method yet. Can you please update your signature and spreadsheet to say Lantus, as well as dosing method? The reason I ask is because depending on which method, you may need to reduce dose.

Is he still eating higher carb and/or dry? By definition that means you would have to follow SLGS, and he earned a reduction with that 66 on the 6th.

Please start a new thread every day on the Lantus forum. The format for thread title is Date Cat's Name, Relevant BG Data (so 10/8 Bernie AMPS HI as an example).

It's been said before, but I would NOT skip shots with a recent DKA and appetite still off. Had you gotten a PMPS on the 5th you likely would have seen the beginning of the bounce and been able to give the shot safely (see edit I didn't realize missing data).

As for schedule, you can move each shot back 15 minutes, or move one of the shots back 30 minutes each day til you're back on schedule.

Edit: I just realized there is quite a bit of missing data from your spreadsheet. HI is safe to give the shot but we really do need to see all the data.
 
Back
Top