? Nadir

Status
Not open for further replies.
So the night of 4/4, furshot. Booger wouldn't stay still. Morning of 4/5, furshot. Booger was staying still until I went to pull the syringe out and he moved. So no insulin for 24 hrs. Scary. Tonight was a success at 1.75units. At +2 he was 369. I gave him a little food as per suggested on the info from here about vetsulin to help slow down the dropping from the insulin. At +4 he was 71!. While that is a good number I'm sure he would continue to go down from there at least for the next 2 hrs. I gave him a little wet food and now we wait. So either the drastic drop is due to no insulin for 24 hours or 1.75u is too much for him right now. I'm sure its the no insulin for 24hrs. He stayed in the 400s until his PMPS. Glad he stay consistant all day until then. @JanetNJ @Kris & Teasel @JeffJ
 
Now he is 42. Ugh. Its gonna be a long night. That was even after I fed him food as well. Just gave him a little karo and some gravy FF.
 
1.5 was too much the other day, so The dose should have probably been lowered rather than raised. Can you write fur shot next to those two mess up doses? I know you wrote it in the comments but if someone looks quick they will just see the colors on the chart.


If it were my cat I would go to 1 or 1.25 and hold the dose for at least 5 days (unless of course it proves to be too much).after such a low hypo like tonight he may be insulin sensitive for a few days or even a week. Be careful.
 
1.5 was too much the other day, so The dose should have probably been lowered rather than raised. Can you write fur shot next to those two mess up doses? I know you wrote it in the comments but if someone looks quick they will just see the colors on the chart.


If it were my cat I would go to 1 or 1.25 and hold the dose for at least 5 days (unless of course it proves to be too much).after such a low hypo like tonight he may be insulin sensitive for a few days or even a week. Be careful.
Gave him 1.25 this morning. He did well. He was 290 before eating tonight. I know you said to hold the dose for 5 days or so but do you think it will bottom him out tonight? He was 500 something this morning and stayed in the 200's and 100's today.
 
Gave him 1.25 this morning. He did well. He was 290 before eating tonight. I know you said to hold the dose for 5 days or so but do you think it will bottom him out tonight? He was 500 something this morning and stayed in the 200's and 100's today.
Is be good with you trying just 1 for a few days. I like this preshot number... Much less bouncy day
 
Sorry, I was off the forum for 1.5 days. Worked until 1am (this morning).

The overall trend on the chart looks encouraging. Lower average doses. Better regulation. As Janet said, I would probably reduce to 1.0 unit...just saw that is what you dosed. That looks good.
 
So much for bouncing... He's been boucing all over the place tonight :( tell me that y'all think. Should I go back up to 1.25 or stay at 1??
 
So much for bouncing... He's been boucing all over the place tonight :( tell me that y'all think. Should I go back up to 1.25 or stay at 1??
I would try 1 for a few days and see if the bouncing settles. Man it’s like this cat is made of rubber. How is he behaving?
 
Some bouncing last night after the blues yesterday plus a lower dose of insulin in the PM. His bounces are short lived though.
 
I would try 1 for a few days and see if the bouncing settles. Man it’s like this cat is made of rubber. How is he behaving?
Pretty normal. Always hungry, waking me up for food, bugging his brother and sisters. More normal than he was in the beginning. He used to just want to stay and hang out in the bathroom after eating. Now he want paws at the door and meows when he wants out which is usually when he is done eating whether his food is gone or not. Tried to smack the dry food bowl out of my hand when I yank it up after he comes out from the bathroom eating his wet food. Lol
 
Pretty normal. Always hungry, waking me up for food, bugging his brother and sisters. More normal than he was in the beginning. He used to just want to stay and hang out in the bathroom after eating. Now he want paws at the door and meows when he wants out which is usually when he is done eating whether his food is gone or not. Tried to smack the dry food bowl out of my hand when I yank it up after he comes out from the bathroom eating his wet food. Lol
I'm glad to see the preshot this morning came down out of the black. Glad she's feeling good.
 
Yeah I checked him about 1:30 and he was 220. Gave him a little wet food as a snack.
Good... The hope is that limiting the drop to only around 50ish percent it will eventually calm the bounce back up. Let's see what happens over the next few days.
 
Good... The hope is that limiting the drop to only around 50ish percent it will eventually calm the bounce back up. Let's see what happens over the next few days.
Hey what was the expiration date of the Insulinx test strips you ordered??
 
Yeah I found that listing on Ebay and am debating on whether or not to get them lol I saw that they expired in August.
 
Yeah I found that listing on Ebay and am debating on whether or not to get them lol I saw that they expired in August.
I didn't notice it at the time. He was upfront about it so I can't hold it against him. They seem to be ok. I have a tab on my spreadsheet showing the comparison numbers.
 
I didn't notice it at the time. He was upfront about it so I can't hold it against him. They seem to be ok. I have a tab on my spreadsheet showing the comparison numbers.
Yeah I saw that on the other post. There are only 2 boxes left. I saw the listing and got excited about 100 strips for 8.99 and then I saw the date and was like awww man. Im just scared that you got a good box and I might get a wonky box lol.
 
Yeah I saw that on the other post. There are only 2 boxes left. I saw the listing and got excited about 100 strips for 8.99 and then I saw the date and was like awww man. Im just scared that you got a good box and I might get a wonky box lol.
Something in me just isn't ready to completely trust a non alpha brand. I'm a bit anal about the numbers.
 
Something in me just isn't ready to completely trust a non alpha brand. I'm a bit anal about the numbers.
I know what you mean! But the Insulinx are so much closer in numbers to the Alphatrak than the Freestyle Lite. The Freestyle Lite are much closer to the Alphatrak than my ReliOn meter.
 
Actually, today’s numbers are a classic curve - AM/PMPSs similar and mid cycle BG about 50% of PSs. If the whole curve was shifted downward so you had yellows on either end and low blue or high green in the middle it would be perfect. Let’s see how he is in the AM. He might need to go back to 1.25 u.
 
Actually, today’s numbers are a classic curve - AM/PMPSs similar and mid cycle BG about 50% of PSs. If the whole curve was shifted downward so you had yellows on either end and low blue or high green in the middle it would be perfect. Let’s see how he is in the AM. He might need to go back to 1.25 u.
:bighug:Thank you
 
Agree with Kris. Today was a good curve. You are doing a stellar job of testing. It is too bad with the rubbery kitteh and all the bouncy-ness. I bet the regular dose will be 1.25 after some stability.

Some cats are just bouncy. Leo is an example. Usually 4.5 units for AM dose gets him down to 150. Sometimes he drops to 110 during the day. But sometimes he just won't come back up for PM. Other days he is at 250-300 in the PM.
 
So I have been up all night. I'm barking a sinus infection that's making the right side of my face and mouth hurt really bad. Booger has done well with his levels tonight. Gave a little food at 4am as he was acting like he was starving and doing everythi g he could to annoy me to get me to feed him lol. He is at 406 now due to the food. Hoping he comes down some for morning PS. How you all are doing well and your kitties too. Thanks again for all of your continued support and guidance.
 
So I have been up all night. I'm barking a sinus infection that's making the right side of my face and mouth hurt really bad. Booger has done well with his levels tonight. Gave a little food at 4am as he was acting like he was starving and doing everythi g he could to annoy me to get me to feed him lol. He is at 406 now due to the food. Hoping he comes down some for morning PS. How you all are doing well and your kitties too. Thanks again for all of your continued support and guidance.
Feel better soon. My son has been battling a sinus thing all week and I'm afraid it might be another sinus infection. He just had one two months ago. :/. I've got a touch of it too. Got a sinus headache right now. Blah. So I feel ya.

Looks like your cats bouncing is settling a bit. Let's see what happens today.... We may need to go to 1.25, but I like the shape of this curve better. :)
 
Hi, I just joined the forum and am following Booger as I’m struggling with some possible bouncing and regulating Henry. I need to get all my profile info in and start a spreadsheet, but I just wanted to reassure Booger’s mom, I saw you were upset by some kitties not surviving. Henry is 18 and has been diabetic for 5 years and is still doing well, thanks to Dr Lisa Pierson’s information and support from a forum like this. I had him well regulated for a long time but he got off track after a long trip, so I’m back to start from scratch again and will be looking for guidance in the coming weeks. Your dedication to Booger will go a long way in ensuring he survives his diagnosis
 
Hi, I just joined the forum and am following Booger as I’m struggling with some possible bouncing and regulating Henry. I need to get all my profile info in and start a spreadsheet, but I just wanted to reassure Booger’s mom, I saw you were upset by some kitties not surviving. Henry is 18 and has been diabetic for 5 years and is still doing well, thanks to Dr Lisa Pierson’s information and support from a forum like this. I had him well regulated for a long time but he got off track after a long trip, so I’m back to start from scratch again and will be looking for guidance in the coming weeks. Your dedication to Booger will go a long way in ensuring he survives his diagnosis
Thank you so much for the reassurance. I'm sure booger would be worse off if I had not sought out support and found this forum. I hope your kitty gets back on track quickly and is doing well.
 
Feel better soon. My son has been battling a sinus thing all week and I'm afraid it might be another sinus infection. He just had one two months ago. :/. I've got a touch of it too. Got a sinus headache right now. Blah. So I feel ya.

Looks like your cats bouncing is settling a bit. Let's see what happens today.... We may need to go to 1.25, but I like the shape of this curve better. :)
Hope you and your son feel better soon as well! Booger went up quite a bit today after eating a snack around 2 or so. Should I continue with 1unit for another cycle or take him up to 1.25 units? @JanetNJ @Kris & Teasel @JeffJ
 
....finished taxes for Theresa and then me this weekend. Hey, at least I got them done!

Booger is doing good, and the 1.25u plan for tomorrow is good too.
 
So I didn't give Booger food at 10am like I have been to help slow down the insulin because I felt like I was altering his BG level. It probably would have shot him up to 400 or 500 after eating. So 1 unit doesn't seem to be enough and 1.25 seems to be too much. At a loss here..... @JanetNJ @Kris & Teasel @JeffJ
 
So I didn't give Booger food at 10am like I have been to help slow down the insulin because I felt like I was altering his BG level. It probably would have shot him up to 400 or 500 after eating. So 1 unit doesn't seem to be enough and 1.25 seems to be too much. At a loss here..... @JanetNJ @Kris & Teasel @JeffJ
I'd start by going back to 1 u and staying there longer - 4 or 5 days. There are been a lot of dose changes in a week. If those 8 or 10 cycles at 1 u show nadirs that are too high you can experiment with what we'd call a "fat" 1 u. Draw up more than 1 u then releases extra until you'r *just* near the bottom of the 1 u line and *just* barely touching it.
 
Sorry to hear about the sinus issue. Glad to see you are maintaining the spreadsheet. I suspect some of the high readings may be food influenced.
 
@JanetNJ I remember you saying that the insulin is still good past the throw away date usually unless there are visual signs of change to it. I have still been using the same vial which the 42 days was up on it on April 2nd. Based on Boogers numbers today either it is losing its potency or 1unit isn't enough anymore. I planned on going up on the insulin a bit in the morning by doing the "fat" 1 unit or just a tad beyond as the one time I went up to 1.25units it proved to be too much at the time. I need some advice here. Please and thank you. @Kris & Teasel @JeffJ
 
Booger's numbers look real good compared to one month ago. I think a fat 1.0 unit dose might be helpful. But he seems pretty regulated on 1.0 lately. I agree the last time you dosed 1.25 units, it was too much at the time.

I never had insulin go bad. Most people just refrigerate it, and it lasts quite awhile.
 
Booger's numbers look real good compared to one month ago. I think a fat 1.0 unit dose might be helpful. But he seems pretty regulated on 1.0 lately. I agree the last time you dosed 1.25 units, it was too much at the time.

I never had insulin go bad. Most people just refrigerate it, and it lasts quite awhile.
Thanks for your reply Jeff. Yeah he seems ok but yesterday he was in the 300-400s all day. I am glad he stayed consistent and was not all over the place yes, but he should be lower. I did do a fat 1unit dose this morning. I think he has gone pretty well though he was given a snack a little while ago. I will keep him at this dose for a few days and then try the 1.25 again if he stays in the 300-400s or too high.
 
That happens even with longer term cats. Leo wouldn't nadir 1.5 nights ago, and gave me a 160 AMPs yesterday. So I underdosed him on purpose, and he was 300+ all day. So it happens.

After your insulin runs out, I hope you consider lantus or levemir. They will even out the whole curve. Since the insuiin lasts past 12 hours, it somewhat reduces the AMPS and PMPS, while producing the same nadir values. Let's see how Booger does with the 1.0-1.25 dosage regime.
 
Maybe his food digestion in the evening is slower than during the day. Many cats have daily variations. I think you are on the right track with the dosage between 1.0 - 1.25. The most important target with diabetes is to get the kitten into a decent nadir pattern, with a low in the 100-150 range. Some people target lower, but I play it safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top