Kris & Teasel
Member Since 2016
Good advice from Bellasmom. So much of this is about managing our own stress and anxiety.
Ok I understand. I know its confusing me using two meters. I hope to get it to where I am only using one. I mainly used the AT2 yesterday during the hypo and to double check lower numbers on the Relion. It confuses me too bc the Relion shows lower readings than the AT2.He's in a bounce phase after those lime greens. It'll settle eventually and then you'll be able to assess the dose properly. He needed that reduction so keep that dose for a few days to see how it all plays out. Make sure you keep both spreadsheets up to date as you use them. It would be helpful to us if you say up front in a post:"please check ______ spreadsheet". It's confusing right now and could lead to errors in advice when you're in a tight spot.
Yes, the ReliOn will always read lower with a bigger difference at high BGs and a much smaller difference at low BGs. For example, at a high BG level you might get a reading of 450 on the ReliOn but 600 on the AT (just making up numbers for this example). At the low BG end of things where you're getting a sign that a bit of food is needed, you'd be looking at 50 on a ReliOn and 68 on the AT. Those are approximations but they're reference numbers we use here all the time to tell people what to watch out for. Somewhere, someone, sometime determined that a reading of 50 on a human meter is roughly equivalent to 68 on the pet meter. Those two numbers are the most important to know. They're the ones that warn you to take action because BG is on its way down to (possibly) hypo level. All the other numbers above that on either meter just tell you how well kitty is doing - OK or too high. Too high is too high on either.Ok I understand. I know its confusing me using two meters. I hope to get it to where I am only using one. I mainly used the AT2 yesterday during the hypo and to double check lower numbers on the Relion. It confuses me too bc the Relion shows lower readings than the AT2.
I understand what you're saying. The nadir is very important to look at when dosing Vetsulin but we also pay attention to the pre shot numbers. It takes time and lots of SS data to learn your kitty's responses so that you can make good dosing judgments. If your meter is working properly and you're sure the blood drop was large enough and you get the business end of the strip well into it, take the reading at face value.Yes it is hard to wrap my head around. Because if the dose is based off the nadir number than if the relion shows he is 151 (like last night) he could very well actually be 200 something which is not that great. He may actually need a little more insulin but me seeing 151 makes me think his dose is ok or a little high so I take him down a notch and he goes up. Does that make sense?
This would tell me that I was living too far north, and that I needed to move back to Austin TX. Although I won't be bragging about it too much in JulyWhat if you compare two different Fahrenheit thermometers on that cool day. The second one might read 38F where the first read 35F and the second might read 3F where the first read 5F. Would it change your outerwear decision?
Hey, Jeff, what's that green stuff Leo is lounging on? Winter here has been too long ...This would tell me that I was living too far north, and that I needed to move back to Austin TX. Although I won't be bragging about it too much in July
Leo is enjoying it now....a good excuse as any for a gratuitous kitteh pic.
Best description ever! Thank you for this! It’s so hard to explain and I was one of those instistant on the alphatrack too and this way of describing it really helps it sinks in!I understand what you're saying. The nadir is very important to look at when dosing Vetsulin but we also pay attention to the pre shot numbers. It takes time and lots of SS data to learn your kitty's responses so that you can make good dosing judgments. If your meter is working properly and you're sure the blood drop was large enough and you get the business end of the strip well into it, take the reading at face value.
Ignore for a moment that we can convert between Fahrenheit and Celsius temperature scales. Let's say you're trying to decide what jacket to wear on a certain cold day. If you know the significant numbers on each thermometer - really hot, really cold, etc. it doesn't matter which thermometer you use. Let's say you choose the Fahrenheit thermometer: would a temperature of 35F make you choose a different jacket from a temperature of 5F? Probably - and what those temperatures are on a Celsius thermometer don't even come into the decision. What if you compare two different Fahrenheit thermometers on that cool day. The second one might read 38F where the first read 35F and the second might read 3F where the first read 5F. Would it change your outerwear decision? Not at all.
We all understand Fahrenheit here - to continue my silly comparison. We also understand Celsius. However Fahrenheit is much more popular.
Handsome dude is Leo!Throwup:
Some cats just throw up if they haven't eaten in awhile. Leo seems to throw up every night. It's mostly bile. There is food for him to eat, but he is picky and wants "fresh food".
Green stuff:
That green stuff is actually plants. Maybe a strange concept for those living near the friggin arctic! Anyhow we used to have grass in the backyard. Too many trees shaded it out. Now we get 6-8 weeks of a clover field every spring. It's pretty neat. And is sure beats that white stuff you guys have all over the ground.

I'm glad it helped!Best description ever! Thank you for this! It’s so hard to explain and I was one of those instistant on the alphatrack too and this way of describing it really helps it sinks in!
You’d leave the AT meter set at whatever the cat code was on your last vial of AT strips.What code do you use on your Alphatrak with the freestyle strips. I just did a test and with the Alphatrak strip I got 563 and with the freestyle strip I got 619.
Its set at 38. That's what's on my AT bottle but still a huge difference in numbers ugh.You’d leave the AT meter set at whatever the cat code was on your last vial of AT strips.
These numbers are within 20% of each other. Glucose meters are allowed a 20% variance in the readings they give.What code do you use on your Alphatrak with the freestyle strips. I just did a test and with the Alphatrak strip I got 563 and with the freestyle strip I got 619.
You could try 2.25 u today. Get a +2 to see what might happen.Should I attempt to give Booger 2.25 this morning or keep it a 2 for a few more cycles? @Kris & Teasel @JanetNJ @JeffJ
I went ahead and gave him 2 units tonigut but can you take a look at his Alphatrak spreadsheet and tell me how much longer I should keep him at 2 units please.Yes. What’s up
No ma'am I'm trying and he's eating less of it.I think it's OK to try 2.25. Have you eliminated the dry food yet?
If he really doesn't wanna give it up, try switching to young again zero carb. They will send a free sample of the food if you ask. Youngagainpetfood.comNo ma'am I'm trying and he's eating less of it.
It's a 12 he insulin I thought as its twice a day. Yeah I wish it lasted longer as well. Maybe I should do a glucose curve but every hour. May be able to get a better picture of the readings and how the insulin effects him through out the day. Should I consult the vet about 3 shots? I really can't afford $200 a month insulinIt's low but not hypo. I just wish it lasted longer. Honestly I would either switch to a longer acting insulin or consider 3 shots.
Insilun lasts longer than a month. Usually 3-6 months.It's a 12 he insulin I thought as its twice a day. Yeah I wish it lasted longer as well. Maybe I should do a glucose curve but every hour. May be able to get a better picture of the readings and how the insulin effects him through out the day. Should I consult the vet about 3 shots? I really can't afford $200 a month insulinespecially not right now.
Oh, well the Vetsulin says to dispose after 42 days of first puncture. This is from the vetsulin site --> "*In the US clinical study, glycemic control was considered adequate if an acceptable blood glucose curve was achieved (ie, reduction in hyperglycemia and a nadir of 60–160 mg/dL), however, the Technical Services department believes that a nadir below 100 mg/dL in cats may warrant a decrease in the dose." So should I take him back down to 2 units since he was under 100 at nadir? I think today when he was at 86 he was probably really in the 90's (if I would have used a AT2 strip). I am just afraid of giving him 2.25 right now (it's time for his shot) and then he drop even lower tonight possibly in to hypo. What do you think?Insilun lasts longer than a month. Usually 3-6 months.
I know that's what the packaging days but if kept refrigerated it lasts at least 3 months.Oh, well the Vetsulin says to dispose after 42 days of first puncture. This is from the vetsulin site --> "*In the US clinical study, glycemic control was considered adequate if an acceptable blood glucose curve was achieved (ie, reduction in hyperglycemia and a nadir of 60–160 mg/dL), however, the Technical Services department believes that a nadir below 100 mg/dL in cats may warrant a decrease in the dose." So should I take him back down to 2 units since he was under 100 at nadir? I think today when he was at 86 he was probably really in the 90's (if I would have used a AT2 strip). I am just afraid of giving him 2.25 right now (it's time for his shot) and then he drop even lower tonight possibly in to hypo. What do you think?
I agree. Maybe less bouncing at 2 units eventually. HopefullyThat’s a little low for comfort. I’d drop back to 2 u tonight. He might bounce high for tomorrow. Try leaving it at 2 u for a couple of days. I like the green he had at 2 u a couple of days ago.
Tthanks for the info. I can't just switch him right I would need to discuss with the vet.Something to consider - Levemir. I get mine directly from Alan Hamman in the subforum "Supply Closet", who is in the Dallas area. I never knew him before the first order. He is a cat owner and a nice guy. He has always shipped on time. An alternative supplier is Marks Pharmacy in Canada...which many people order from.
Let's assume you use 3.0 units/dose, which is 6.0 units/day. Here is a cost analysis for Levemir.
You can purchase individual pens, or a pack of 5 pens. A pack of 5 pens is ~$180 including shipping. Each pen has 300 units. I never bought a single pen, since I buy 5 at a time. Costs:
~$40 for 1 pen = 300 units
$180 for 5 pens = 1500 units
Their expiration is October 2019 if kept refrigerated. Let's assume you use 3.0 units/dose, which is 6.0 units/day. Those pens would last you:
~$40 for 1 pen
= 300 units
= (300/6) = 50 days
so that is $0.80/day ($40/50 days)
$180 for 5 pens
= 1500 units
= (1500/6) = 250 days
= 8.3 months
so that is $0.72/day ($180/250days)
So this vial I have I can use safely past 42 days?? Which is April 2.I know that's what the packaging days but if kept refrigerated it lasts at least 3 months.
Yes. My vet said they last 4-5 months if stored and handled properly although I usually only keep them three months just to be sure they are full potency. I've never noticed a change in numbers when switching to the new vial, so they must still work the same. I keep the old one as back up in case I drop and break the new one.So this vial I have I can use safely past 42 days?? Which is April 2.
Delay without feeding for up to an hour. If it goes over 200 you can shoot (reduce the dose of its close to 200) or skip if it's still under 200@JanetNJ @Kris & Teasel @JeffJ i hope one of you is up. I'm confused! Booger was 85 this morning when I checked him before feeding! Like say what?? So obviously no insulin this morning but what now? Check him in a little while and if he is high give insulin or wait until dinner time???
I would start by not feeding and test again in 30 minutes and see what it is@JanetNJ @Kris & Teasel @JeffJ i hope one of you is up. I'm confused! Booger was 85 this morning when I checked him before feeding! Like say what?? So obviously no insulin this morning but what now? Check him in a little while and if he is high give insulin or wait until dinner time???
Haha ok well what's the number?Well dang I wish I would have known not to feed. He woke me up bc he was hungry lol. He didn't eat much.