? Nadir

Status
Not open for further replies.
He is currently 133. I don't give his shot until 8:30. Its 8:09. I usually feed anywhere from 45min to an hr before because he pretty much snacks and I want to make sure he eats a good bit before his shot.
Ok great! no shoot. Esp since that's the number after food. :)
 
He didn't eat much because like I said he snacks on his food lol. He is wanting to go eat right now. Should I let him and then see what he is before 8:30? Oh and I am updating his Human meter SS right now from the test last night which were odd as well lol
 
I checked my meter and it was an hour from the 85 test and the 133 test. So even if he shoots up to 400 today, I will just wait until his next shot time to administer insulin?? Hope you guys will be around tonight. I am sure I will need guidance!
 
I checked my meter and it was an hour from the 85 test and the 133 test. So even if he shoots up to 400 today, I will just wait until his next shot time to administer insulin?? Hope you guys will be around tonight. I am sure I will need guidance!
Yes, wait until the next shot time. I'll be around. :)

How are you feeling about sticking with the human meter for now?
 
Yes, wait until the next shot time. I'll be around. :)

How are you feeling about sticking with the human meter for now?
I feel a lot better knowing that the Freestyle Lite strips are not too far off from the AT2 strips. 300-500 much more of a difference in numbers but I have found that under 300 is not that much of a difference. maybe 50 points or less.
 
Yes indeed - congrats on your first no-dose. Just think, if you had not been testing and you dosed Booger. He probably would have hypo'ed big time. This situation really highlights the importance of testing and being in tune with your kitteh's fluctuations and dosage swings.

For strips - I exclusively use the Freestyle Lite strips. You are right, they are a little different but not by much. And all BG tests are + or - 20%. So a single reading of 100, may actually be 80 or 120 with any brand of strip.

My work schedule has me pretty busy. However I usually check @tags after 8pm CST. It will be a rare day when you find me on the forum before 9am CST. :eek:Yesterday I worked (with some breaks) from 9am to ~9:30pm. But the pay is real good.
 
I'm double checking: are you using the Freestyle Lite strips in a Freestyle Meter or are you putting them in the AT meter? We need to know because that will affect our interpretation of your numbers. FS strips in the AT meter give readings close to what AT strips would give whereas FS strips in an FS meter will give lower readings.

Your human meter SS shows lime green below 50 so I assume you're using the FS meter. Just want to be sure.
 
I'm double checking: are you using the Freestyle Lite strips in a Freestyle Meter or are you putting them in the AT meter? We need to know because that will affect our interpretation of your numbers. FS strips in the AT meter give readings close to what AT strips would give whereas FS strips in an FS meter will give lower readings.

Your human meter SS shows lime green below 50 so I assume you're using the FS meter. Just want to be sure.
I think I am just going to take the AT2 SS off for now. I am not using it. I am using the AT2 meter with the Freestyle strips. He is now 532 at +4. :( @JanetNJ @Kris & Teasel
 
Last edited:
I think I am just going to take the AT2 SS off for now. I am not using it. I am using the AT2 meter with the Freestyle strips. He is now 532 at +4. :( @JanetNJ @Kris & Teasel
In that case you should be entering data on the pet meter SS because the FS strips in the AT meter will give readings similar to AT strips. You want the lime green to pop up at any number below 68. The pet meter SS will do that.
 
In that case you should be entering data on the pet meter SS because the FS strips in the AT meter will give readings similar to AT strips. You want the lime green to pop up at any number below 68. The pet meter SS will do that.
Dang ok. Ill update that sheet then
 
The others on this thread probably experienced those bounces too. Certainly Leo has. We dislike skipping doses for Leo, but on occasion he is just too low to dose.

If Leo is eating well for the last few days and he is 180 or above, then he gets dosed. Otherwise I do not dose if 195 or below. And he does the same thing as Booger just did - Leo bounces right up almost every time. But that's a lot better than dealing with a hypo - from too much insulin and not much food.
.
 
The others on this thread probably experienced those bounces too. Certainly Leo has. We dislike skipping doses for Leo, but on occasion he is just too low to dose.

If Leo is eating well for the last few days and he is 180 or above, then he gets dosed. Otherwise I do not dose if 195 or below. And he does the same thing as Booger just did - Leo bounces right up almost every time. But that's a lot better than dealing with a hypo - from too much insulin and not much food.
.
I am just concerned about Ketones. No insulin and high glucose. There is still 6 and a half hours until he gets insulin.
 
Yeah I guess that is what I will have to do. Should I just leave him at the 2units?
Yes, leave it at 2 u. Don’t panic and increase the dose because of a bounce inflated number. That can lead to over dosing. Yes, we look at high numbers but the lows always trump those.
 
You're getting excellent advice from our experts. Boogie will be just fine. Short periods of high BG may be challenging for the kitteh, but no long term effects.

It is definitely tough to watch it happen. And there isn't much to be done about it, except move the PM dose up by one hour.
 
That was a nice nadir last night. Let's hope Booger continues to have similar nadirs this week.
 
That was a nice nadir last night. Let's hope Booger continues to have similar nadirs this week.
Yeah I was half asleep when I checked him. I think he got in the cat food container with the Cat Chow for my other cats. He was high at 4am and the container lid was open at that time. He is getting sneaky.
 
The sugar kittehs are the best food thieves. Leo is an expert. If crunchies are out for an extra 10 seconds he is right there wolfing them down.
 
Just seeing this now. You could give 2 u and get a +2 or +3 test as Janet suggested. If that worries you maybe drop to 1.75 u or 1.5 u. Your call.
 
I am just feeling distraught. I am seeing so many kitties on here that have other issues as well as diabetes and it makes me think that maybe diabetes is a death sentence. I know they say it is not but I have read so many posts about kitties crossing the rainbow bridge and having other issues. Makes me scared for Booger thinking that these posts I have read could eventually be him....
 
You gave 1.5u. That is a safe dose. Sorry I missed this earlier. I bet Booger goes back to 400. He seems to like the high numbers.

Just how did Booger get his unique name?
 
Last edited:
We have had a number of losses recently. It is real hard on the owners. I take it hard too...I get attached to the kittehs and their owners.

But diabetes is not a death sentence. Leo is diabetic for almost 3 years now. He also has acro and small cell lymphoma. But he is alive and doing well, as he always lets me know when it is meal time!

It is easy to find the kittehs that are gone. But if you look through the subforums, there are other longterm diabetics as well. You are doing good, and Booger has a good potential for a long life. We just need to get his dose dialed in. I still recommend Levemir or Lantus when you run out of the current. The depot insulins round off the edges of the 12 hour curve.
 
You gave 1.5u. That is a safe dose. Sorry I missed this earlier. I bet Booger goes back of 400. He seems to like the high numbers.

Just how did Booger get his unique name?
His previous owner named him Booger. I rescued him from an animal shelter when he was about a year old. I was going to change his name because I thought Booger was a silly name but he responds well to it so I just kept it. I call him Boogie, Boogie-Boo, Booger-Booger Boo as well. lol Cats respond better to -ee sounding names hince the nickname Boogie.
 
That's good, and expected. I would feed him whatever he wants.

Leo doesn't eat much at night. Usually a late night meal around 11pm. I give a reduced dose (9pm). But that is Levemir.
 
Yeah he's been acting like I don't feed him lol. Ill probably wait to see where his level goes. If it drops below 100 he will definitely be getting wet food. He's already eaten like 4 times today. About 1.5 cans of FF.
 
I don't measure Leo's food. I watch for longer term gain or loss. Leo gets a few kibbles every day. The kibbles are a very small percentage of his diet, and he deserves the feeling of treats.

I'm signing off tonight. So far so good with Booger at +4 and 151.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top