Carol & Murphy (GA)
Member Since 2015
Is Murphy bouncing from his greens yesterday? He was in the yellow today but look at his pmps- yikes!!
Love Colin's new photo - he is one handsome kitty - so elegant!!! Best of luck tomorrow Sharon - what did you decide about his insulin dose?Yikes is right! Murphy must like watching you dance!Good luck with the dose increase.
If these were bounces wouldn't he have stayed high all day and not gone into the yellows? I've got my fingers crossed but don't want to get my hopes up too high thanks everyone for the advice and moral supportIt sure is nice to break that pre-shot cycle. Bounces can last up to three days or six cycles so hopefully today is the start of a new day.
@Sharon14 - best of luck to Colin today on his dental - were you able to resist his cries of hunger this morning? Keep us updated on his progress throughout the dayGood morning Carol, glad Murphy wasn't too high this AM.
What a beautiful day!!!I'm probably going to need some help on a dose tonight - Murphy has had a remarkable day - blues and greens - He's 85 at +8 - - assuming he doesn't have a Huge bounce by pmps (around 6:45 Eastern time) and assuming he is in a shootable number - (I don't know what that number is) - I may be stumped as to what to shoot him with - If he is below 350, I think I would be afraid to go 2.25u will need some handholding
@Sharon14 - best of luck to Colin today on his dental - were you able to resist his cries of hunger this morning? Keep us updated on his progress throughout the day
Oh, so glad you posted, I was just thinking about you and your gang. That no feeding thing plays havoc on the whole gang. You are like me, if one can't eat, no one eats. Your morning sound like no fun. Glad you are home and hope the extractions help him. Did they tell you if there was any infection?Thanks, Colin is home and doing well. He had 2 extractions, so I hope it helps some. This morning was horrible though. All 13 crying and then some began fighting, so I put Colin outside and fed them. Poor Colin sat at the door, looking in...
Great numbers for Murphy! So exciting!
Bet you are glad that is over.......it's a necessary evil.They said some roots were exposed, but I didn't get to talk to the vet, I may call them later. He's on clavamox since Sunday.
wow - exposed roots - ouch!!! I do hope this is the start of a nice insulin response from himThey said some roots were exposed, but I didn't get to talk to the vet, I may call them later. He's on clavamox since Sunday.
wow - exposed roots - ouch!!! I do hope this is the start of a nice insulin response from him
It's amazing, isn't it? Bubba was the same way when he came home.Yes ouch! You never would have know it to see him eat though.
Thank you so much for the hand holding - I did give him a skinny 2 and will definitely test him before bed. This is the most difficult situation of all for me - having a shoot into a low pmps and wondering what dose. But what a day he had - did you see his spreadsheet?Well, IF he follows his previous pattern, he will move up a little. But, he is not Mr. Reliable. I would think 2 would be fine but if you want to skinny it up a smidge, that'd be fine. Then maybe a before bed test?
How is Colin doing today? Good to hear he is eating well, even with exposed roots! Cats are sure tough!Yes ouch! You never would have know it to see him eat though.

How is Colin doing today? Good to hear he is eating well, even with exposed roots! Cats are sure tough
@Rachel - thanks for confirming my thoughts about pm doses@Carol C yeah, generally speaking, if you are getting a good drop from a certain dose and start with a lower preshot, that dose may be too high since it could drop to unsafe levels. However....ECID. That's the hard part since sometimes cats need to settle in to a dose, sometimes they react great to a dose for a bit and then it has to change...you know.
Generally, if you know you need to get some sleep, it's good to be conservative I think.
Yeah! I just snuck a peek at Colin's SS, fingers and paws crossed.@Sharon14 Collin in blue and yellow!!! Horray!!! maybe it was the dental - I'm so happy for you Sharon!