Murphy up to 556 pmps

Status
Not open for further replies.
Lu said I should give him half dose, so as long as he's his usual 300+ that's what I'll do. The vet said that was fine too.

Thanks about Colin's pic!

Hope someone shows up soon to help you.
 
Wow Murphy. Look at those beautiful blues and green yesterday. I am sure the wise ones will weight in, but I can hear Rachel saying shoot the same dose into the bounce otherwise you'll get more bouncing, let it clear and then see what you have to do with the dose. Those higher numbers get us as crazy as the lower numbers. But the good news is that the dose you gave him gave a nice nadir. That's my 2 cents worth. And I love Colin's new photo too! Very dapper!!!
 
I am not sure, Carol. His numbers don't make much sense to me. I think you could stay with 2.25 and see if he settles in or up to 2.5. Either way I think we will get some info.

Your SS said 2.5. Is that what you decided on?
 
Sometimes I think he is a late bouncer and sometimes I think he needs time to settle into a dose. I wish he'd give us some more direction. I know you wish that too...
 
Murphy's just a puzzle these days! I definitely don't want to see him bouncing, but I hate seeing those high preshot numbers. I'm not 100% sure if he is bouncing right now or not. I've been staring at his SS for the last 10 minutes hoping it would come clear! I'm going to try to look at it some more and see if I can figure anything out...but for now, I feel like I would either do 2.25 or 2.5. Whatever you think is best.
 
thanks everyone I gave him a 2.5 because it is my rule not to increase at night - I guess I'll give him a 2.5 tomorrow but I don't feel all that comfortable with that - if it was a bounce, he would stay high and flat, right? Not go into the yellows?
He is only on canned food and Young Again dry now so no more carbs - he is still on doxy but his nasal congestion has really cleared up - I can't think of what could be going on. I'd like to stay with 2.5 for one more day unless his amps is off the wall
 
Then I say do that! In the end, you hold the syringe. Don't give a dose you aren't comfortable with.

You are making progress...gotten some nice mid cycles lately (anti jinx). We'll just keep trying until something works!
 
He was at 393 at amps this morning, I am so thankful - I think I dreamt that he was going to be 700 this morning So I gave him the 2.25u and see where it takes his BG today - somehow I think those high numbers were a bounce, but that doesn't totally make sense.
 
I am SO glad to see that. I can't tell you how often I have looked over his SS for a pattern we can get our heads around. The only pattern I think I see is that he usually reacts to a new dose with a lower than expected number and then bounces. Then we'd expect him to settle into the dose but that seems to take a couple cycles of bounces. Sometimes we've thought the new dose is too high and reduced back (because often he was "earned" a reduction with a 50- ). But maybe we need to ride it out and see whether he settles in.

So I think stay with the 2.25 and see what he does. We'll just hope we can find something predictable in there.....
 
It sure is nice to break that pre-shot cycle. Bounces can last up to three days or six cycles so hopefully today is the start of a new day.
If these were bounces wouldn't he have stayed high all day and not gone into the yellows? I've got my fingers crossed but don't want to get my hopes up too high thanks everyone for the advice and moral support
 
Good Morning Carol ~ it seems like Murphy and Bubba have a bit in common. Bubba seems to react to a dose change the same way and it takes him a while, to settle in. Today, I just upped him to 2.4 because he has been stuck in the yellows for a bit......oh, this dancing........
 
I'm probably going to need some help on a dose tonight - Murphy has had a remarkable day - blues and greens - He's 85 at +8 - - assuming he doesn't have a Huge bounce by pmps (around 6:45 Eastern time) and assuming he is in a shootable number - (I don't know what that number is) - I may be stumped as to what to shoot him with - If he is below 350, I think I would be afraid to go 2.25u will need some handholding
 
I'm probably going to need some help on a dose tonight - Murphy has had a remarkable day - blues and greens - He's 85 at +8 - - assuming he doesn't have a Huge bounce by pmps (around 6:45 Eastern time) and assuming he is in a shootable number - (I don't know what that number is) - I may be stumped as to what to shoot him with - If he is below 350, I think I would be afraid to go 2.25u will need some handholding
What a beautiful day!!!
 
@Sharon14 - best of luck to Colin today on his dental - were you able to resist his cries of hunger this morning? Keep us updated on his progress throughout the day

Thanks, Colin is home and doing well. He had 2 extractions, so I hope it helps some. This morning was horrible though. All 13 crying and then some began fighting, so I put Colin outside and fed them. Poor Colin sat at the door, looking in...

Great numbers for Murphy! So exciting!
 
Thanks, Colin is home and doing well. He had 2 extractions, so I hope it helps some. This morning was horrible though. All 13 crying and then some began fighting, so I put Colin outside and fed them. Poor Colin sat at the door, looking in...

Great numbers for Murphy! So exciting!
Oh, so glad you posted, I was just thinking about you and your gang. That no feeding thing plays havoc on the whole gang. You are like me, if one can't eat, no one eats. Your morning sound like no fun. Glad you are home and hope the extractions help him. Did they tell you if there was any infection?
 
They said some roots were exposed, but I didn't get to talk to the vet, I may call them later. He's on clavamox since Sunday.
 
Well, IF he follows his previous pattern, he will move up a little. But, he is not Mr. Reliable. I would think 2 would be fine but if you want to skinny it up a smidge, that'd be fine. Then maybe a before bed test?
 
Well, IF he follows his previous pattern, he will move up a little. But, he is not Mr. Reliable. I would think 2 would be fine but if you want to skinny it up a smidge, that'd be fine. Then maybe a before bed test?
Thank you so much for the hand holding - I did give him a skinny 2 and will definitely test him before bed. This is the most difficult situation of all for me - having a shoot into a low pmps and wondering what dose. But what a day he had - did you see his spreadsheet?
 
Wow, he's had a really lovely day! I'm so glad to see these numbers...I, like Sue, have been trying to figure out some sort of pattern and haven't really gotten far. So it's nice to see him spending some time in lower numbers...now I'll be very interested to see what happens tomorrow.
 
Clearly he is a late bouncer. But I like the 2.25. It got you good numbers yesterday - be ready to feed a little mid cycle if needed. The theory is that they get used to the low number and quit bouncing. Be sure to read this theory to Murphy at least twice daily until he understands it completely. :banghead:
 
Nice ones, @Sue and Oliver (GA) and @Rachel - well, he's not going down too much today (good thing because he doesn't seem to be all that hungry) so I will stick to the 2.25 - tomorrow I won't be around from mid morning until late afternoon --what I need so much guidance on is what dose to shoot in the evenings if he has a relatively low pmps- if he goes from a high amps to great blues and greens from a certain dose, wouldn't that dose to be too high to shoot if I am starting from a lower baseline (for example yesterday with a pmps at 215)?
 
@Bobbie And Bubba you haven't started a new post in awhile, how's Bubba? Have you been able to take off the cone?
He's healing nicely. We saw the vet yesterday and he was pleased with his healing. He did not charge me!! He is just so awesome! He has an orange male one- eyed cat and pulled out his phone and showed me the picture and then turned it to Bubba and said " Look, Bubba, here's your support group!" Ahhhhhhhhhh. Also, his one vet tech has a one eyed cat and his office manager has a one -eyed cat and a one -eyed dog! Is this the right practice for me to be in or what!!???? Anyway, he wants the cone on till this weekend and I am putting warm compresses on the site 2 day because there is still fluid there and the heat will help the body to absorb it faster and the moisture to help dissolve the external sutures. Bubba is a very good patient except he wants to go out but doesn't even cry about it anymore. He just sits by the French doors looking out. Today, I took his collar off while I was holding him and he gave himself a long luxurious bath, HA! Then, his paw went right for the site and the collar got put on sooooooo fast.

How is Colin faring less 2 teeth? Isn't it amazing how they eat right after wards like nothing happened? Did he have any issues with the anesthesia like vomiting or anything? Hopefully, you'll see his numbers come down. :)
 
Glad Bubba's doing well, and that he's being a good patient. Are you going to let him go out after he heals, or is he strictly indoors now?

Colin is doing ok. He's more hungry than ever and BGs are high, so we just keep on keeping on. I hope the dental helps him, if not we have to consider insulin resistance and/or acromegaly. If it's the latter, there's not much I can do for him, so I don't want to go there yet.
 
@Carol C yeah, generally speaking, if you are getting a good drop from a certain dose and start with a lower preshot, that dose may be too high since it could drop to unsafe levels. However....ECID. That's the hard part since sometimes cats need to settle in to a dose, sometimes they react great to a dose for a bit and then it has to change...you know.

Generally, if you know you need to get some sleep, it's good to be conservative I think.
 
@Carol C yeah, generally speaking, if you are getting a good drop from a certain dose and start with a lower preshot, that dose may be too high since it could drop to unsafe levels. However....ECID. That's the hard part since sometimes cats need to settle in to a dose, sometimes they react great to a dose for a bit and then it has to change...you know.

Generally, if you know you need to get some sleep, it's good to be conservative I think.
@Rachel - thanks for confirming my thoughts about pm doses
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top