? Mouse: PMPS 113, Just switched to Accu-Check from AT

Status
Not open for further replies.
Congrats on the switch! Mouse is showing lovely numbers as always. :)

Non-diabetic numbers on the human meter is 50-120.
Sweet! Mouse is so well behaved with her numbers right now!
The Accu-Check is temp until I get the right strips for the reli-on, as I ordered the wrong ones. My parents came through with a back up meter and strips until I can get to the store in person.

Given her current numbers, should I hold her shot, or dose as normal and track, and can someone switch me over to a human SS please?
 
I think @Bandit's Mom is helping with SSs right now. :)

Might want to double-check on the Lantus forum...Mouse's pre-shot numbers are lower than I'm used to dealing with - however it looks like you gave full dose before when she was around 104 on the Alphatrak and she did well, so I'd think she'd be fine.
 
Hi Allison,

Just checking in to ask how Mouse is doing now. I see from one of your other threads that her appetite is normalising. How is her tum now? How is she acting? Is she happier in herself?


Mogs
.
Her numbers are lower than ever, and she's so much more kitten like. I have never seen her play like this (she had a rough upbringing, being picked on by one other cats, that we've since re-homed). She's happy, alert, and showing critical thinking.
Yesterday, she was trying to decide if she wanted lap time, checking to see if I had my sling on. I was encouraging her to hop on, and she decided not to. As soon as I took my sling off, she tried to run away. (if the sling comes off, she gets an ear poke). Her numbers at the time were 80, so I'm super excited to see her be that alert with a low BG.

This morning, she was tracking the kitten, and think she might have actually played with him a bit, if he'd slowed down for half a second.

Her stomach REALLY likes this dose, we've had no GI upset with it.
 
Terrific news, Allison! I'm very pleased Mouse is feeling so much better now.



Next discussion with the vet should be interesting.

Yesterday, she was trying to decide if she wanted lap time, checking to see if I had my sling on. I was encouraging her to hop on, and she decided not to. As soon as I took my sling off, she tried to run away. (if the sling comes off, she gets an ear poke).
This cracked me up! Smart cookie, that girl of yours. :D


Mogs
.
 
Terrific news, Allison! I'm very pleased Mouse is feeling so much better now.



Next discussion with the vet should be interesting.


This cracked me up! Smart cookie, that girl of yours. :D


Mogs
.

I'm scheduled to send them a curve next Tuesday. If she continues on this trend, she might be down to a .5 dose by then, I hope. I just need Mouse to decide to stick in the green a little more consistently.

It will definitely be an interesting conversation. :cat:
 
Do please update us. I'm hoping that your experience will be valuable to them.

I really am happy that Mouse is feeling much better. That's the whole purpose of all this malarkey. I hope your own recovery is progressing well too. :)


Mogs
.
 
A thought:

It might be an idea to keep a little note of the brand/variety and carb level of the food you give Mouse each day. Some cats have a 'preferred' carb level (e.g. some do better on ultra-low carbs, some do better on, say, 6-7% carbs). Should any GI upsets occur in the future (and I sincerely hope they don't!) having the food record handy might give you another puzzle piece when trying to identify a cause.


Mogs
.
 
A thought:

It might be an idea to keep a little note of the brand/variety and carb level of the food you give Mouse each day. Some cats have a 'preferred' carb level (e.g. some do better on ultra-low carbs, some do better on, say, 6-7% carbs). Should any GI upsets occur in the future (and I sincerely hope they don't!) having the food record handy might give you another puzzle piece when trying to identify a cause.


Mogs
.
She only gets the Tiki Cat Salmon or Chicken right now; when she was getting sick, it was the Salmon. Both are noted to be 0% carbs . It is possible that she got into the high carb kibble on her sick days though. I wasn't always picking it up fast enough. Now I'm watching it better, and she's not getting into it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top