? Mouse: PMPS 113, Just switched to Accu-Check from AT

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Polgeria, Sep 3, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Not sure if this is a good number for a human meter or not, lol.
     
  2. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Congrats on the switch! Mouse is showing lovely numbers as always. :)

    Non-diabetic numbers on the human meter is 50-120.
     
  3. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Sweet! Mouse is so well behaved with her numbers right now!
    The Accu-Check is temp until I get the right strips for the reli-on, as I ordered the wrong ones. My parents came through with a back up meter and strips until I can get to the store in person.

    Given her current numbers, should I hold her shot, or dose as normal and track, and can someone switch me over to a human SS please?
     
  4. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Panic likes this.
  5. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    I think @Bandit's Mom is helping with SSs right now. :)

    Might want to double-check on the Lantus forum...Mouse's pre-shot numbers are lower than I'm used to dealing with - however it looks like you gave full dose before when she was around 104 on the Alphatrak and she did well, so I'd think she'd be fine.
     
    Bandit's Mom and Polgeria like this.
  6. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Will do!
     
    Panic likes this.
  7. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Thanks Elizabeth!:bighug:
     
    Panic likes this.
  8. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    We're both helping out, especially while Marje is vacationing
     
  9. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    I moved over to a human SS, but I didn't move her AT data to it. Just linked both in my sginature
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  10. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Who me?? You must be confused....LOL

    Always happy to help when I can
     
  11. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Hi Alison, sent you a PM for this. :)
     
    jt and trouble (GA) and Polgeria like this.
  12. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Should be all set for you, and I closed them on my end.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  13. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hi Allison,

    Just checking in to ask how Mouse is doing now. I see from one of your other threads that her appetite is normalising. How is her tum now? How is she acting? Is she happier in herself?


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) and Polgeria like this.
  14. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Her numbers are lower than ever, and she's so much more kitten like. I have never seen her play like this (she had a rough upbringing, being picked on by one other cats, that we've since re-homed). She's happy, alert, and showing critical thinking.
    Yesterday, she was trying to decide if she wanted lap time, checking to see if I had my sling on. I was encouraging her to hop on, and she decided not to. As soon as I took my sling off, she tried to run away. (if the sling comes off, she gets an ear poke). Her numbers at the time were 80, so I'm super excited to see her be that alert with a low BG.

    This morning, she was tracking the kitten, and think she might have actually played with him a bit, if he'd slowed down for half a second.

    Her stomach REALLY likes this dose, we've had no GI upset with it.
     
  15. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Terrific news, Allison! I'm very pleased Mouse is feeling so much better now.

    [​IMG]

    Next discussion with the vet should be interesting.

    This cracked me up! Smart cookie, that girl of yours. :D


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) and Polgeria like this.
  16. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    I'm scheduled to send them a curve next Tuesday. If she continues on this trend, she might be down to a .5 dose by then, I hope. I just need Mouse to decide to stick in the green a little more consistently.

    It will definitely be an interesting conversation. :cat:
     
  17. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Do please update us. I'm hoping that your experience will be valuable to them.

    I really am happy that Mouse is feeling much better. That's the whole purpose of all this malarkey. I hope your own recovery is progressing well too. :)


    Mogs
    .
     
    Polgeria and jt and trouble (GA) like this.
  18. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    A thought:

    It might be an idea to keep a little note of the brand/variety and carb level of the food you give Mouse each day. Some cats have a 'preferred' carb level (e.g. some do better on ultra-low carbs, some do better on, say, 6-7% carbs). Should any GI upsets occur in the future (and I sincerely hope they don't!) having the food record handy might give you another puzzle piece when trying to identify a cause.


    Mogs
    .
     
    Polgeria and jt and trouble (GA) like this.
  19. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    She only gets the Tiki Cat Salmon or Chicken right now; when she was getting sick, it was the Salmon. Both are noted to be 0% carbs . It is possible that she got into the high carb kibble on her sick days though. I wasn't always picking it up fast enough. Now I'm watching it better, and she's not getting into it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page