Kris & Motska (GA)
Member Since 2010
Motska's numbers get a little wonky and stay lower every so often. While I am thrilled that this may be a good sign, I'm also a little stressed about it, since I'm at the office all day and can't do spot checks during the week. Any advice or comments would be appreciated. Here are her numbers from Sunday the 10th and Monday the 11th....
Sunday 10/10
9am -- AMPS -- 225 -- .1u (our AM shot was a little late today) didn't eat a lot through the day
8pm -- +11 -- 128 -- no shot & didn't eat a lot overnight
Monday 10/11
7am -- +22 -- 182 -- no shot & ate well during the course of the day (empty bowl when I got home)
6pm -- +33 -- 115 (Yippee!!! Tested twice -- once per ear -- the other test gave me a reading of 113)
7pm -- +34 -- 154 -- no shot & ate well throughout evening & overnight (decided to see how she did without a shot)
9pm -- +36 -- 152
10pm -- +37 -- 170
Tuesday 10/12
7am -- +46 / AMPS -- 198 and 178 -- 1 drop (decided to test twice -- once per ear -- just to make sure I had a valid reading)
Is this normal for a cat that's nearing a potential OTJ? It took her 46 hours to get back up close to 200! Motska has been diabetic for two years, and this is the lowest her dosage has ever been -- lately, it's been .1u as long as her BG reading is around 200. She's on Vetsulin, so there's no way on this earth that the insulin is just lasting a really long time for her!!! And yes, I do know about the Vetsulin warnings -- I just didn't want to switch her while she was doing so well on it.
I guess the reason I'm getting concerned is that the holidays are coming up and I'll need to kennel her at the vet over Christmas. They don't do pre-shot tests (they didn't recommend it to me, and ARE STILL trying to tell me that I need to have a veterinary glucometer in order to do it right). If I ask them to do pre-shot tests, they're going to charge me every time they do it AND, I don't think they'll be able to micro-dose her properly -- she's VERY fractious while she's there. So then my other option is to take her in and tell them not to give her any insulin at all, which I'm not ok with, either! And I don't know anyone that I trust to take her in for the week -- everyone I know either has dogs, or they'll also be out of town at the same time, or they're just not responsible enough to do it (as much as I love them anyway).
Okay, so maybe I'm panicking a bit prematurely -- Christmas isn't for another 2-and-a-half months. But thanks for letting me vent! And any comments or anything else would be greatly appreciated.
Kris
Sunday 10/10
9am -- AMPS -- 225 -- .1u (our AM shot was a little late today) didn't eat a lot through the day
8pm -- +11 -- 128 -- no shot & didn't eat a lot overnight
Monday 10/11
7am -- +22 -- 182 -- no shot & ate well during the course of the day (empty bowl when I got home)
6pm -- +33 -- 115 (Yippee!!! Tested twice -- once per ear -- the other test gave me a reading of 113)
7pm -- +34 -- 154 -- no shot & ate well throughout evening & overnight (decided to see how she did without a shot)
9pm -- +36 -- 152
10pm -- +37 -- 170
Tuesday 10/12
7am -- +46 / AMPS -- 198 and 178 -- 1 drop (decided to test twice -- once per ear -- just to make sure I had a valid reading)
Is this normal for a cat that's nearing a potential OTJ? It took her 46 hours to get back up close to 200! Motska has been diabetic for two years, and this is the lowest her dosage has ever been -- lately, it's been .1u as long as her BG reading is around 200. She's on Vetsulin, so there's no way on this earth that the insulin is just lasting a really long time for her!!! And yes, I do know about the Vetsulin warnings -- I just didn't want to switch her while she was doing so well on it.
I guess the reason I'm getting concerned is that the holidays are coming up and I'll need to kennel her at the vet over Christmas. They don't do pre-shot tests (they didn't recommend it to me, and ARE STILL trying to tell me that I need to have a veterinary glucometer in order to do it right). If I ask them to do pre-shot tests, they're going to charge me every time they do it AND, I don't think they'll be able to micro-dose her properly -- she's VERY fractious while she's there. So then my other option is to take her in and tell them not to give her any insulin at all, which I'm not ok with, either! And I don't know anyone that I trust to take her in for the week -- everyone I know either has dogs, or they'll also be out of town at the same time, or they're just not responsible enough to do it (as much as I love them anyway).
Okay, so maybe I'm panicking a bit prematurely -- Christmas isn't for another 2-and-a-half months. But thanks for letting me vent! And any comments or anything else would be greatly appreciated.
Kris