More ear-pricking help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jldnvjld

Member Since 2010
I am having a dreadful time with getting the drop of blood for home testing.

I am using
the lancet pen that came with the Relion Confirm monitor set on depth 5 (deepest setting)
26-gauge Relion lancets
a warm wet washcloth in a plastic bag to warm the ear before trying
a little vaseline on the edge of the ear

I looked at the ear with a strong flashlight to see the blood vessel along the edge.
I have watched youtube videos.

I position the pen at the edge of the ear, press down with my finger (wrapped in a paper towel) on the other side of the ear.
I press down pretty firmly.
I click the button
'milk' ear to push blood to where I think the drop should form.
no drop of blood forms.

I did get one sample by using the lancet without the pen, but that obviously hurt the cat (he flinched.)

Any further suggestions? For the three samples I've gotten, I think I spent 15 minutes or so each time torturing the poor cat with attempts. It's very distressing for both of us. His ears are very bruised now. It's horrible.

j.
 
I am sorry you are having such a hard time. You are doing lots of things right. I wonder if a bigger gauge lancet would help. Lots of newbies use a 28 or 29 gauge lancet at first. Have you taken off the plastic cover? That really helped us to see that we were aiming in the right place.

Have you posted your city and state? Maybe there is someone who lives nearby and can help.

You can put neosporin (with or without pain relief) on his ears to help with the bruising.
 
Try setting the level a little higher, don't go so deep, and press but not hard. The device is so quick you really only need to touch the ear. You might also try just massaging the ear before sticking....that will make it warm and bring the blood flow up. Just make sure you have the device flat......if it is at an angle at all it won't work. Flat on the skin.
 
It sounds like you might do better by using a rice sock to warm his ears. You might want to massage the ear before you start the whole process, too. And though it might not seem like it, the ear will "learn" to bleed when pricked.

A little pressure with the paper towel on the spot will help reduced bruising.

I know it might be discouraging right now, but I promise it will get easier!
 
perhaps you are missing the ear entirely? did your lancet device come with a clear cap option? if so, use that as that allows you to aim a bit better. when i've gone out and helped people learn to test their kitties, several times when i switch them over to the clear cap, they get it right away as they can see that they are actually on the ear with the center of the lancet device vs. just to the right of where they should be.

no matter what though kitty's ear has to learn to cooperate and give up some of that precious blood so don't be too hard on yourself.

by any chance does your kitty let you play with his feet? i ask because you can also test via their paw pads. there's not as many that do it, mostly because most kitties are uncooperative when it comes to their feet, but there are a few. even a youtube video for that too from one of our members here if you wanna see that http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KdUqsCUAyKU
 
I just did Maverick's first ear prick ever and it went perfectly! We used a rice sock and petted him all over, he just loved it and massaged his ear a lot with it. I found an LED light that I use in my dresser to find things when I can't turn the light on (if my husband is sleeping). Here is a link to it. http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs..._mmc=shopping-_-googlebase-_-D27X-_-100670776

It lit the veign right up. We used a 25 gauge needle from the vets for when we are learning his ear pricking. With this light I can probably go a lot smaller. It also provided a firm backing to raise the vein.

Since it went so well for me, I thought I would share. I have the lancet thing that came with my meter but this went so well I don't think I'll use it.

Hugs.

Karrie and Maverick.
 
klkelly said:
I just did Maverick's first ear prick ever and it went perfectly! We used a rice sock and petted him all over, he just loved it and massaged his ear a lot with it. [....]
Since it went so well for me, I thought I would share. I have the lancet thing that came with my meter but this went so well I don't think I'll use it.

Hugs.

Karrie and Maverick.

I think part of the key to success may be early success, in which case, congratulations to you. This morning my failures (two strips, about six pokes) were due to my cat struggling wildly -- I couldn't get enough blood on the strip. My failures have added yet another cause for failure. I'm happy for you, Karrie and Maverick.
 
A couple of things...

Restraining is not always a good thing. I put Squeak on the floor between my legs, hold a warmed rice sock in my left hand and have it 'in' his ear. I use my right hand to put a thin sheen of vaseline on his ear, and grab my softclix lancet device. keeping the sock in his ear to provide support, I put the pen against the thicker edge of his ear, about 1/2 to 1/3 of the way towards the bottom, and poke. I may milk a bit of blood if the bead isn't big enough.

This cat does not like to be restrained, so I make sure he is comfy but not struggling.

Give yourself a mental break, try a few new approaches, and it WILL get easier.
 
Cindy + Mousie said:
perhaps you are missing the ear entirely? did your lancet device come with a clear cap option?
There is a clear cap, but it doesn't appear to be the same as the solid cap -- no depth adjustment, which puzzled me. I'll try it on myself to see how it works.

by any chance does your kitty let you play with his feet?
I watched the video and I'm doubtful; Junga wears softpaws on his claws and that's definitely a two-person project. Perhaps if he gets a bit calmer I can try. At this point I think I've got him so freaked out that my chances of success are minimal.
 
Sue and Oliver said:
I Lots of newbies use a 28 or 29 gauge lancet at first.
In my understanding, the bigger the number, the smaller the lancet, so the 26-gauge I'm using is larger than a 28 or 29. In any case, 26 is the largest Relion makes, so I'd need a different lancet device if I were to use a lancet bigger than 26 gauge.

In any case, thank you for your response.
 
Uh oh - looks light I might be in for a challenge once he realizes what I'm doing huh. Never thought of that. I'm following your post for tips :)
 
klkelly said:
Uh oh - looks light I might be in for a challenge once he realizes what I'm doing huh. Never thought of that. I'm following your post for tips :)

I've added treats at the end of the process in hopes of improving his impression of the whole experience (gotta try something.) I got him some freeze-dried liver cubes at the fancy petfood store, and then he gets a dab of duck catfood (his FAVORITE) in his bowl. EVO makes a 95% duck food, and Blue Wilderness does too. Be prepared for sticker shock on the duck. I also tried freeze-dried fish treats, but he didn't like them (they went to the neighbor cats.) Be sure to read ingredients to make sure the treat is all-meat; some treats are high carb.

J.
 
The problem may be the device you are using; the one that came with my old meter was not helpful at all. I went to my nearest pharmacy and asked if they had an extra softclix pen and they gave me one...
 
Jen & Squeak said:
Restraining is not always a good thing. [....] This cat does not like to be restrained, so I make sure he is comfy but not struggling.

I think you're right; if we get to the point where he's struggling, I probably should just let it go for that session. I'm not improving anything by trying so hard to get a pre-shot sample.
 
Jen & Squeak said:
The problem may be the device you are using; the one that came with my old meter was not helpful at all. I went to my nearest pharmacy and asked if they had an extra softclix pen and they gave me one...
Do you recall what kind of meter you are using?
I will keep an eye out for a softclix pen. About $40 at Amazon (ouch.) You scored at the pharmacy!
 
I'm using a one touch mini that a friend sent me (she got it for free) after my old bayer elite xl died and they stopped making strips for it :) But I hardly ever test, only when Squeak looks off. Knock on wood he won't ever need insulin again!
 
jldnvjld said:
Cindy + Mousie said:
perhaps you are missing the ear entirely? did your lancet device come with a clear cap option?
There is a clear cap, but it doesn't appear to be the same as the solid cap -- no depth adjustment, which puzzled me. I'll try it on myself to see how it works.

by any chance does your kitty let you play with his feet?
I watched the video and I'm doubtful; Junga wears softpaws on his claws and that's definitely a two-person project. Perhaps if he gets a bit calmer I can try. At this point I think I've got him so freaked out that my chances of success are minimal.

I have been using the pen that came with my OneTouch Ultra. It came with a clear and solid cap. I first drew lines on the solid cap to help "aim". After switching to the clear I have better success. I did have to set the depth hight though. The clear cap is dished out a bit so his hear will be closer to the lancet. I squeeze his ear for about 10seconds after I am done and his ears look pretty good, and I have been testing every two hours lately.

I also use a rice sock and he actually likes that part. Seems eaiser than a wet rag/bag. Also, when I tired to actually hit the vein it didn't seem to work as well. Now I am going between the vein and outside edge of ear and that seems to work a lot better the first time. Very little wasted strips. Perhaps his ears are getting broken in with the increased frequency?

Anyway, good luck. Hope some of that helped a bit. Oh, I do not know what guage lancet I am using, box doesnt say. They are just OneTouch Ultra Soft Lancets.
 
jldnvjld said:
Jen & Squeak said:
Restraining is not always a good thing. [....] This cat does not like to be restrained, so I make sure he is comfy but not struggling.

I think you're right; if we get to the point where he's struggling, I probably should just let it go for that session. I'm not improving anything by trying so hard to get a pre-shot sample.

If I missed it I am sorry, but wondering how you are holding him when you try to prick him? I have found that placing him on kitchen counter and holding him down with my right forearm (over his back) while holding ear with left hand and pen in right works well. Gives enough control, but he doesn't fight a whole lot. He tries to get up now and then but I just push back down. And besides if you control the head (or ear) the body will follow. He will not go anywhere without his ear. :-D
 
Scruffy said:
If I missed it I am sorry, but wondering how you are holding him when you try to prick him? I have found that placing him on kitchen counter and holding him down with my right forearm (over his back) while holding ear with left hand and pen in right works well. Gives enough control, but he doesn't fight a whole lot. He tries to get up now and then but I just push back down. And besides if you control the head (or ear) the body will follow. He will not go anywhere without his ear. :-D

I'll give it a 'shot' (pun intended.) I've been sitting on the floor with him more or less in my lap, hanging on to his head and ear with my left hand and manipulating the pen with my right.
 
FWIW, tonight was my wifes first time trying it alone. She called me and explained it wasn't working. I advised her to put more pressure on his ear to force it against the tip of the pen. This worked for her, I think she was afraid she was going to hurt him and/or prick herself. I now have my pen set to 3 and it still causes him to bleed through both sides of his ear 1/2 the time.
 
Well, the treats have helped. I crumble some on the counter so they're right in front of his nose. He's chowing down on treats while I fumble at getting his ear pricked. I'm not really improving in the ear-pricking department, but he cares less when he's eating freeze-dried liver treats (no grain or other ingredients.) I also had to skip the ear-warming; it makes the process take too long, it seems, and he's associated it with the trauma and so starts making worried sounds right away.

So long as he continues to have an appetite for treats, I think this approach may work.

Thanks for all the advice, folks.

J.
 
Fantastic! Whatever it takes, as long as you get the numbers.

Have you posted over on the Lantus support group? viewforum.php?f=9 They all use your insulin and can give you great dosing advice. You are getting some nice low numbers, but also some possible rebound as you change from one unit to two. My understanding is that Lantus works best with a consistent dose.

Your spreadsheet also mentions you are going to the vet for a curve tomorrow? Please be aware that if your kitty is at all stressed there (strange noises, smells and people) stress raises bg levels and doses based on those numbers can be too high once you get home. Many people here do the curve at home and fax the results to the vet for consultation. Just an idea....
 
Sue and Oliver said:
Have you posted over on the Lantus support group? [....]
I have looked at the Lantus group. I want to see what the vet says about dosing; then perhaps I'll post there for a second opinion. My vet seems fairly up on things; in any case he is in favor of home testing, very much in favor of a meat-focused, canned diet, and sent me to catinfo.org for more information on feline diabetes.

Sue and Oliver said:
Your spreadsheet also mentions you are going to the vet for a curve tomorrow?
Yes. I'm not at all confident that at this point I could manage hourly testing. Junga's pretty calm at the vet, so long as they don't take urine samples (he hates that, but that's not on the schedule for tomorrow, thankfully.) I'm hoping for the best!
J.
 
It does sound like your vet is up to date on testing and food and even the choice of insulin. I am amazed at the low numbers you are shooting. Two units at 83 and one unit at 57. Our protocol is usually no shot under 200 for new diabetics until you have data, particularly nadir numbers.
 
I swear by the makeup sponge between the ear and your hand. I also found that it was better to remove the cap, position the lancet a hair's breadth away from the ear, and fire it with confidence. Better to poke him good once than being shy and missing again and again.

I get mine to lie down on the bed, I have all the equipt. ever at the ready, I groom alot and coo to him a bit, put a jar of his treats right under his nose, then work the pricking in there after I have a good grip on him. The mother hcat hold helps to calm him too. I follow the prick immed. with the treats.

I know it's not easy - it took me over a month of failed attempts, but now it seems almost a breeze. You'll get there - I have faith.
 
Sue and Oliver said:
It does sound like your vet is up to date on testing and food and even the choice of insulin. I am amazed at the low numbers you are shooting. Two units at 83 and one unit at 57. Our protocol is usually no shot under 200 for new diabetics until you have data, particularly nadir numbers.

I am hoping tomorrow's curve results in a dosage adjustment. I agree we need data.
 
I have had the same problem with my cat. I can't get his ear to bleed. Finally able to warm the ear and lance it with the device, but no blood. Yesterday I took him for a fructosamine and they did a BG and it was 38. He had no symptoms of hypoglycemia which really scares me. They gave him glucose on the spot and he want up to 189 and they sent me to the 24 hour vet. 2 hours later he was down to 107. They had to admit him and I was presented with a $1,000 and $1,600 estimate for an overnight stay with tests every 2 hours. I nearly had a heart attack. They are cutting the insulin in half and the technician will work with me tonight to give me tips and tricks for testing. Its got to work because this cannot happen again. If they give me any tips that help I'll let you know. Those freeze dried liver treats do help them stay calm.
 
Scratchy's Mom,

I am afraid you won't get many responses down near the end of another person's thread. If you would, copy your post and go back to the main board. Choose New Topic and copy your post there. I'm sure we can help if you tell us the problem and what you have already tried.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top