Monitoring Hypo

Status
Not open for further replies.

LovingErlend

Member Since 2011
Erlend has been on 3u Lantus for the last four months. Up until now we haven't done strict testing, so we don't have a lot of data to work off of, except that her preshot range could be 225-325 and her nadir on the last curve was +5.

At PMPS +3 noticed Erlend vomited (very rare for her). Tested: 39. Administered a finger full of Caro and some dry food (when she wouldn't eat gravy wet food). +3.5 reading was 78. Allowed her to eat gravy wet at that time.

+4: 128bg. Watched her closely, tested again at +5: 223 bg. Hopefully she's in the clear, but how long should I be monitoring her to make sure she doesn't crash? Sleep at some point would be nice, but obviously ensuring she's safe is primary concern ~O) .

Also, will call vet to consult, but would also appreciate the board's input: come AMPS, what would you recommend as a reduced dose? Is it dependent on her AMPS reading?
 
You are doing great. I've been there with the all nighter also. We aren't Lantus users so I can't help you with your dosing, where others may. It's best to wait until you know that number to decide what to do.

Hang in there. I would test at +6 and encourage the eating. It sounds like you are heading in the right direction.

Here's the link for handling hypo's.

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=15887
 
You'll definitely want to give Erlend a reduction. She may be higher than normal in the morning. We call that a bounce. It's the liver's job to protect the body when it senses blood sugar has gone too low, and it will spill a type of glucose that will raise the numbers for a while. Sometimes bounces will last up to 72 hours, so you could see her numbers higher for up to 3 days.
When you have a chance, I would set up a spreadsheet (others here can advise you of the link we use), and to read all the stickys at the top of the Lantus forum.
You did a good job getting her numbers back up, and I'm glad you tested when you did.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top