MONEYS CHART

Copy paste of my reply in your thread in the Main Forum - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/moneys-chart.248293/

===============================================================================

Hi Roxanne, great job on filling in Money's spreadsheet! Are you still using the Libre? I see a note on 5/29 saying it came off?

If you're still using the Libre, could you fill in the data for the PM cycle as well? Many cats go lower at night and Lantus dosing is based on how low the dose takes the cat.
I am going to tag @@Emily + Zen who also use the Libre to see if she can help you with the easiest way to get all the data in.

We follow two dosing protocols here. If you pick one that suits you, we can advise you accordingly.
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

If you post in the Lantus / Basaglar (glargine) and Levemir (detemir) forum, you will get a lot more eyes of Lantus users on your posts.


Link to your previous post - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-mon-fighting-fd.247271/
 
Unfortunately it came off after a couple days .. I’m waiting for them to send me a replacement .. I’m using a contour next for the moment and for the night testing I’m not sure how to do it since I’m sleeping...!?! Also I’m not sure about either method since my vet doesn’t really give me much info ... at the moment I’m getting used to prickin her eye and don’t think I could do that every hour to her !?? My vet is no longer even asking for her testing because he says money is not responding to lantus and that I must see a specialist ... I’m so confused because I’ve réalised that her amps and pmps are much lower then In beginning

Looks like you need a new vet! :mad: Insulin is a hormone and not a drug. It can take a few months for the numbers to get regulated. Some cats take a little longer than others. We can help you with dosing.
Looking at your SS, I would say Money is doing great. The starting dose of 1.5U was too high for her since it took her down to 36. A cat's normal BG is 50-100 on a human meter.

On the testing front, you need not prick her ear every hour. With Lantus a test at +2 is usually a good indicator of how the cycle is going to pan out:
  • If the +2 is around the same as the PS, it's usually going to be a pretty normal cycle....gradually down to nadir and then gradually back up to the next PS.
  • If the +2 is a lot higher than the PS, that usually means there's a bounce starting and it's usually OK to take a break from testing.
  • If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's an early indicator that numbers might head a lot lower later in the cycle and you need to get some more tests later in the cycle.
 
Ok thanks will do !!!! Just wanted to know what is a too low PS to give insulin ? If her numbers are normal like last night 108 ..
 
Ok thanks will do !!!! Just wanted to know what is a too low PS to give insulin ? If her numbers are normal like last night 108 ..
We ask new members not to shoot below 150. However, the idea is to gradually start shooting lower numbers - the aim is to shoot anything over 50 if you're following the TR dosing method anything over 90 with SLGS.
 
A suggestion or two...

Decide where you want to post. If you post on both Health and this forum, you will go batty from jumping between the two forums. It will also frustrate those of us who are posting since it's unlikely people will post in both places. A moderator can merge threads but it's best if you pick a spot to post. If you're using Lantus, my bias is to suggest you post here. The most expertise with Lantus is on this board.

With either of the dosing methods, you need to test at both AMPS and PPPs. You will also need to get at least one additional test each cycle. A "before bed" test during the PM cycle is strongly encouraged. If numbers are dropping, you may need to stay up or set an alarm. Like Bhooma said, a +2 test is helpful. However, it's only a semi-reliable signal. Not all cats experience insulin onset at +2. If your cat has onset later (e.g., +3) and you don't test until mid-cycle, you could have more drops like you did on 5/21 and 5/22. The trick is knowing your cat.
 
Welcome. I don’t have time to go back and read your condos but want to suggest you pick a method as suggested and increase/decrease in .25 increments rather than .50.
 
@Roxy450 , so glad to see you again! Money's spreadsheet already is looking better! :bighug: Great job!

Here's what I found from my vet: they are typically more well-versed in treating diabetic dogs than diabetic cats, and my vet actually referred me here for a lot of the support you'd typically see from a vet during these times. She was typically quite conservative in her dosing suggestions (she sticks closer to the Start-Low-Go-Slow protocol than to the Tight-Regulation protocol), but she also mentioned that some patients look to her for dosing advise, whereas others just take the wheel and steer once they've gotten to know more about how their cat reacts to both food and insulin. When she told me that, that's when I started posting here daily and talking through dosing options with these fine folks, and that's when Zen's numbers started really getting better.

Regarding the Libre: get your vet to put it on with extra skin glue. REALLY glue that sucker on there, and try to put it as far up on Money's ribs as they're comfortable putting it. Then, put two shirts on over it. The first shirt should be tight, so that Money can't get her teeth around it. The second should be thick so that she can't even bite through it. Zen manages to bite holes in his shirts within a single day, but we've kept his last two sensors on him for the full 14 days using this methodology.
 
Heyyy thanks soo much for the reply !! The vet did glue with vet bond and I got her a cute baby t-shirt and all was good first time but when I went back to instal second one the tech ripped it off and caused a biggg booboo lol so I wasn’t able to put a shirt back on … that’s how money got to it !! I called freestyle and they were so nice to replace it for me here is a pic of the removal site . POOR LITTLE MONEY WAS UPSET FOR A WHOLE WEEKS
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-6-7_8-26-52.jpeg
    upload_2021-6-7_8-26-52.jpeg
    55.8 KB · Views: 173
A suggestion or two...

Decide where you want to post. If you post on both Health and this forum, you will go batty from jumping between the two forums. It will also frustrate those of us who are posting since it's unlikely people will post in both places. A moderator can merge threads but it's best if you pick a spot to post. If you're using Lantus, my bias is to suggest you post here. The most expertise with Lantus is on this board.

With either of the dosing methods, you need to test at both AMPS and PPPs. You will also need to get at least one additional test each cycle. A "before bed" test during the PM cycle is strongly encouraged. If numbers are dropping, you may need to stay up or set an alarm. Like Bhooma said, a +2 test is helpful. However, it's only a semi-reliable signal. Not all cats experience insulin onset at +2. If your cat has onset later (e.g., +3) and you don't test until mid-cycle, you could have more drops like you did on 5/21 and 5/22. The trick is knowing your cat.
Thanks for the info I’m new so bear with me hahaha I posted and then was told to go to lantus page so I did not sure how to merge or even delete the other thread lol as for testing I will test at +3 I think that’s when is starts to kick in and at +6 since I know that’s when she’s lowest just to make sure everything is ok… and will try to include bedtime as well … but wat is PPP?
 
Thanks for the info I’m new so bear with me hahaha I posted and then was told to go to lantus page so I did not sure how to merge or even delete the other thread lol as for testing I will test at +3 I think that’s when is starts to kick in and at +6 since I know that’s when she’s lowest just to make sure everything is ok… and will try to include bedtime as well … but wat is PPP?
Sienne meant PMPS, your PM shot time.

To make a new post for today, go to the main page of the Lantus forum https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-basaglar-glargine-and-levemir-detemir.9/ and press the Post New Thread button.

For your thread title, please use the following format:
"DATE, NAME OF KITTY" and then all of your testing numbers. For example, today's thread title would read: "6/7 Money AMPS" and then the numbers you've tested. Please also cut and paste the URL for THIS thread to your first post there for continuity.
 
A cautionary note -- a Lantus nadir is "supposed" to be at around +6. However, our cats refuse to read the instruction manual. Nadirs can and do change. In addition, some cats routinely have an early or late nadir. For example, my cat's nadir generally fell at around +3 or +4, except for those cycles when it was at some other totally random time. Our cats do not like to be predictable!
 
Back
Top