mom-mom at 49 **** PLEASE HELP, she went up to 86. +7-hi

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom-Mom

Member Since 2014
MOM-MOM IS AT 49. SHE DIDNT REALLY EAT THIS MORNING AT ALL. SHE DID NOT GET A SHOT EITHER. SHE IS GOING TO THE DENTIST TODAY. SHOULD I FORCE FEED HER??? SHE WENT UP TO AN 86 THANK GOD. SHE WAS DRINKING TONS OF WATER TRYING TO GET THE AMBESOL TASTE OUT. i AM STILL TRYING TO GET HER TO EAT. IS THE 86 TEMPORARY? LIKE REAL REAL TEMPORARY????
GETTING READY TO LEAVE FOR THE VET AND TESTED HER AGAIN. NOW SHE IS HI??? I DONT GET IT. :o
 
Re: mom-mom at 49 **** PLEASE HELP

Is she going to be put under anesthesia? If so you don't want her to eat. If not I'd see if you can finger feed her. Will she eat treats?
 
Re: mom-mom at 49 **** PLEASE HELP

If she didn't get a shot, you don't need to worry about the 49

If she's going under anesthesia (which is really required for a good dental) you don't want to feed her now
 
Re: mom-mom at 49 **** PLEASE HELP

Her appointment isnt until 4:30 and the vet doesnt know about the tooth yet. Well the secretary that took the appointment does. I forced a few (3) raw treats and gave her some maple syrup, now she is drinking milk from my cereal. I put some topical ambesol on it and after 5 minutes she already seems a little better. Is there anything I can do or should be doing????
 
Re: mom-mom at 49 **** PLEASE HELP

Since she didn't get insulin her numbers will come up. If she needs anesthesia she shouldn't be eating. I personally wouldn't make an appointment that requires anesthesia so late in the day. I would only allow it in the morning unless this is a 24 hour facility as she would need to be monitored after any procedure and might need fluids. Is this a new vet? Do they know she is diabetic? I don't want to alarm you but I would be concerned as to whether they can do anything for her so late in the day. Even x-rays require anesthesia and I am always told not to feed after midnight if anesthesia is being considered.
 
Re: mom-mom at 49 **** PLEASE HELP, she went up to 86.

I just called the vet. It is the same vet that diagnosed her so he knows abut her diabetes. He doesnt come in until 3pm. There was never any mention about anesthesia so I am not sure what he can do for her today. She seems alot better now that I gave her the topical. She even seems like maybe she might eat for me real soon. When I called the vet just now, I explained why she was coming in and her blood sugar levels, etc.. and I explained that I even see a spot of blood around the tooth thats bad. I just need him to pull that tooth. Can he do that without anesthesia??
 
Re: mom-mom at 49 **** PLEASE HELP, she went up to 86.

If she cooperated and the tooth is that loose, he could pull it.....
I don't know how he will respond.

As I understood it, this was just a consultation really. Not a surgery day.... right?

Mom-mom can't go hypo since you didn't give a shot.....
no need to panic.....or go overboard with maple syrup....

Breathe.....
 
Re: mom-mom at 49 **** PLEASE HELP, she went up to 86.

Rhiannon, Thank you for letting me know that. I pray that he will pull it. I went to the grocery store next door and bought her favorite fancy feast, cod, shrimp & sole. I think that is even on the "ok" list anyway. She is eating it all up. Thank God
 
Re: mom-mom at 49 **** PLEASE HELP, she went up to 86.

I hope it's so loose that he can just touch it and it falls out. It sure sounds like it's been loose in it's socket and that would explain all the noise.
Paws crossed for a good vetty visit.

She might feel so much better after the tooth is out and be able to get back to some normal numbers soon....
 
Re: mom-mom at 49 **** PLEASE HELP, she went up to 86.

Glad she's eating for you!

Please go ahead and take the 911 down now.

Remember, if you don't give any insulin, they can't hypo, so if it happens again sometime in the future, just relax and breathe! No need to feed or give syrup to bring them up.

No insulin=No hypo!
 
Re: mom-mom at 49 **** PLEASE HELP, she went up to 86.

Please don't give her Anbesol. The active ingredient, Benzocaine, is potentially toxic to cats.
 
OMG I didn't know that it was toxic. The pharmacist said that it's NOT recommended but, if I dont have anything else, I can put a small dab there. It did the trick. I am off to the vet now to hopefully get this tooth out. If he wants to wait until tomorrow so he can give her anesthesia, I'm gonna bring her home and bring her back. She was tooo traumatized the last time being there. Well Wish my baby girl luck all nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
It is never, ever a good idea to give a cat any human medication -- prescription or over the counter -- unless you know that it is safe for cats. An aspirin could kill your cat. As Linda indicated, Anbesol is not safe. A quick Google search would have given you the information you needed.

IMHO, you really need to slow down. Your panicking and potentially not making good decisions. Reacting to a situation because you're worried or getting panicky will not help Mom-mom. The calmer you are, the better she will respond. It will also let you think through your options. We will help you process the information if you're feeling overloaded. Please don't have a knee jerk response unless you know the implications.

It is unlikely that a tooth can be pulled without anesthesia. It also sounds like there's an infection present that should be treated.

The "Hi" is due to a bounce. Mom-mom isn't used to seeing green numbers. When numbers drop into low ranges or into ranges that your cat isn't used to, the liver and pancreas respond by dumping a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones into the blood stream. This causes numbers to spike upward. Bounces are annoying but not dangerous and something that most of our cats experience. It can take roughly up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.
 
hank God mom-mom's dental appointment was today. The day started out with her AMPS at 132 so no shot. At +2 she was 113 and +4 she was 49 :? . I went crazy to bring her to a normal range. Her appointment was at 4:30, so I went early at 4pm, hoping he would see her early, and he did. When he opened her mouth, it was bloody. The bottom long tooth towards the back was split in half. Every time she moved her mouth it would wiggle.And Im sure it was very painful. The vet KNEW that keeping her overnight was NOT an option. I would have brang her back in the morning if I had to. He pried open her mouth and with this tool, broke the loose piece free. She scratched the hell out of him. Then he took blood to test her red & white cells and gave her a 2 week antibiotic shot. I could tell immediately on the way home she felt 100%. For the past month she could'nt even close her mouth all the way because of that tooth, now she can. Besides that little incident in the beginning with the vet, she was an angel there. She is like a new cat. The vet thinks that her sugars had alot to do with the bad tooth too. Maybe we will be saying goodbye to the diabetes stuff for a while (maybe). Anyway, all went very well for her and I am so overjoyed for her. Thanks all for the support thru this time for mom-mom and I.
The above is Laura's post on the Health board.

Did the vet give you any pain meds for Mom-mom? Given that he yanked a tooth without anesthesia, she really needs meds for the pain. (If you've ever had a tooth pulled, it's a very painful experience.) In addition, you need dental x-rays. If there is a root left, there is a high risk of infection.

If the vet gave Mom-mom an antibiotic shot that lasts for 2 weeks, do you have any idea which antibiotic he gave Mom-mom? We strongly discourage the use of Convenia, which is most likely what the vet gave your cat. The risk with this antibiotic is that if your cat is allergic, you have a drug that lasts well over 2 weeks in your cat's system and there's no way to get it out or to neutralize it's effect. One of the vets who occasionally posts here, Dr. Lisa Pierson, will not use this drug because of the potential risk and because its only indication is for skin infections. It may not have an effect on a dental infection.

It is unlikely that Mom-mom's BG numbers were effecting her tooth. Rather, it is the opposite. The pain from the tooth and any related infection would cause elevated BG numbers. This is something that people have been noting in your condo for some time.
 
Hi Laura,

Just wondering how her blood sugar has been for the rest of today. I'm not seeing anything recent on her spreadsheet.

Did the vet remove the whole tooth or just a fragment of it? I'm unclear on that.

Good you know now not to give any more anbesol. Most people meds and many people foods aren't good for cats. The vet would be able to give you Buprenorphine for a painkiller, which is a good option for cats. You just squirt it on the gum under the lip and it absorbs readily and gives pain relief.

I hope she's doing much better tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top