Moira dosing / feeding advice

Carys'n'Moira

Member Since 2025
Evening @Suzanne & Darcy

I was wondering if I could get your thoughts on Moira's recent numbers if possible? We recently changed over her food to a lower carb option. Her old food was 9.6% carbs and her new food is 1.5%. I've also started shooting her along her tummy area instead of her scruff/shoulders (she is not thrilled about this)!

Since I've been doing these changes, I've noticed that we are getting nice nadirs, but her preshots seem to be getting quite high. I'm questioning whether we should go back to her old food but continue with the new injection site as a test. Also questioning whether she may need more insulin, or a smidge less. Bit confused if I'm honest. Would appreciate your wonderful input 🙂🙏
 
Hello Carys! I hope you are well. I have spent quite a bit of time going over recent developments on Moira’s spreadsheet. My honest opinion is that she is ready for an increase to 1.5 units.

I appreciate your thoughtful approach. I don’t see a huge difference in the preshot numbers with the new food/new shot area. I do see some subtle differences. I would increase her dose to 1.5 units to hopefully get lower blues and some greens. It’s always trial and error when trying new shot locations and the same goes for food. You can see which flavors and carb levels work best. You can use both at different times.
 
Hello Carys! I hope you are well. I have spent quite a bit of time going over recent developments on Moira’s spreadsheet. My honest opinion is that she is ready for an increase to 1.5 units.

I appreciate your thoughtful approach. I don’t see a huge difference in the preshot numbers with the new food/new shot area. I do see some subtle differences. I would increase her dose to 1.5 units to hopefully get lower blues and some greens. It’s always trial and error when trying new shot locations and the same goes for food. You can see which flavors and carb levels work best. You can use both at different times.
Thanks Suzanne 🙂 I really needed a second pair of eyes on her spreadsheet! I did increase this morning to 1.5u. had a pretty flat cycle but she's always like that on her first cycle on an increase. Hope the bump up helps her preshots a bit - she's been waking my partner and I up in the mornings as she gets very hungry in the reds. She's really liking the new food and seems to be going for a number 2 a bit more regularly on it. Hope we can make the new food work for her and her numbers 🙂 thanks for your help
 
Hi @Suzanne & Darcy I hope you are well. I am getting some extremely crazy readings from Moira at the moment and I'm not really sure what to make of it.

She's been a bit constipated over this past week. Went to the vets who did a microenema and prescribed lactulose. It's worked to some effect, but we were back at the vets today as she has been leaking urine a bit while sleeping. Very unusual for her. Vet said to increase lactulose and bring in urine sample tomorrow. Not displaying any obvious signs of UTI and bladder seems normal size.

Im a bit concerned about some of her preshot numbers. They seem to be up in the blacks which has never ever happened since I switched to a human meter to a pet one. There's also a wild swing down between +1 and +3. I'm not sure what to make of this in all honesty.

When I inject her scruff, the absorption rate seems much slower and we get lower preshots. But with her tummy it seems to abruptly wear off at +10 and she shoots back up. When I shot new areas with her old food, she did not shoot up so high like this.

I don't know whether the lactulose is playing a part in these black numbers, or whether the lower carb food just doesn't suit her well (we've only been getting red and black preshots since we fully switched over).

I'm really considering just going back to her old food at this point. The constipation and high preshots only started after the change. I'm wondering whether Moira just needs a few more carbs in her diet?

Not sure if you have any guidance you could share, but id be really grateful for any input. Feeling very confused and concerned about her at the moment.
 
For constipation…. Do you have access to MiraLax? It works well and mixes in food and I have never had a cat notice it in his/her food.
 
It really does sound like she should go back to her old food. Those blacks really are awful. I will write more…
Hi Suzanne - sorry for the delay in replying - I got an email notification about your first message, but not the others 😬 I did take your advice and decide to go back to her old food. The blacks are really horrible to see. Until recently id only ever had one black (on a human meter) so I really don't like seeing them at all!
 
How did it go at the vet? Or were you just dropping off a urine sample today?

How did it go at the vet? Or were you just dropping off a urine sample today?
I just dropped off a urine sample. Thankfully all clear of infections so vet was not convinced UTI was at play. Urine sample was very high in glucose though so I had a stern talking to about that
 
For constipation…. Do you have access to MiraLax? It works well and mixes in food and I have never had a cat notice it in his/her food.
Unfortunately no miralax in the UK - you can buy it on eBay but it's extortionate so a total write off for me
 
@Suzanne & Darcy So for a full update. We went back to her old food. Moira is now back to pooping (surprisingly regularly for her) every 36 hours. Poops look great - very healthy and no straining. I cut out the lactulose when we ran out and have been engaging in a bit more play time to try and keep things moving. All seems to be working so far in that department.

Shes also not wet herself since I cut out the new food and lactulose thankfully. I've also increased her dose to 1.5u for a week, then up to 1.75u this evening. I'm not sure of the cause of the urine problems - whether it was just from high black numbers - but thankfully it has stopped.

She's still getting some red preshots - I'm not really sure what's going on there. In the past when she would get red preshots it would always indicate to me that her dose was too low. But this time around she's definitely getting decent movement in her numbers. I've decided to stop shooting the tummy area in case that was causing things to wear off quicker and just stick to the shoulders and scruff for the time being.

I have been using shorter needles so not sure whether they have had an impact. I'm hoping that the increase to 1.75 will be enough to kick start some lower preshots like it did in the past. I have also ordered a new bottle of prozinc today just in case that's a factor in anything.

Fingers crossed the increase will be sufficient to getting back to blues and yellows and far, far, far away from reds and blacks 🤞
 
I am sorry for my delay in replying. I lost one of my sweetest cats on Sunday morning and then my husband was quite ill and in the emergency room.

I saw your post and was happy to see that I think you are on the right track.

About the incontinence, I do see a lot of that when cats are in high numbers.

You definitely have plenty of wiggle room in her nadirs for the increase to 1.75 and possibly 2.0 units ( but we will see.) Your schedule and ability to test is of course a strong consideration. The thing is…. I think if we are ever going to have a chance of getting her preshot numbers down we need lower nadirs.
 
I am sorry for my delay in replying. I lost one of my sweetest cats on Sunday morning and then my husband was quite ill and in the emergency room.

I saw your post and was happy to see that I think you are on the right track.

About the incontinence, I do see a lot of that when cats are in high numbers.

You definitely have plenty of wiggle room in her nadirs for the increase to 1.75 and possibly 2.0 units ( but we will see.) Your schedule and ability to test is of course a strong consideration. The thing is…. I think if we are ever going to have a chance of getting her preshot numbers down we need lower nadirs.
Hi Suzanne - no worries about no replying sooner. I am so so sorry to hear about your loss. What was kitty's name and what were they like?

I'm sorry to hear your husband has been unwell also. Is he doing okay now?

It sounds like you've had a very tough week. I hope you are doing okay and are taking sometime for yourself x
 
About the incontinence, I do see a lot of that when cats are in high numbers.

You definitely have plenty of wiggle room in her nadirs for the increase to 1.75 and possibly 2.0 units ( but we will see.) Your schedule and ability to test is of course a strong consideration. The thing is…. I think if we are ever going to have a chance of getting her preshot numbers down we need lower nadirs.

The incontinence was very strange for us. I did look online and in the forum but couldn't find any answers about it. I'm glad it has now stopped anyways.

I agree with you about the increases. I've just quit my job so I am able to test quite frequently at the moment. The only slight issue is we are moving house next weekend so I need Moira to be on a predictable dose for moving day. I'll be driving with her for a few hours on my own so definitely don't want to be dealing with a hypo on the road. Moira hates being in the car. We have gabapentin to give her (which she's never had before) so I'm really not looking forward to that day. I may just stick with 1.75 for the time being to ensure no hiccups for the travel day. Will see what she does over the next few days x
 
I definitely would stay with the 1.75 dose during all the moving activity! She hasn’t been on it that long.

I would start with a very small dose of Gabapentin. How much do you plan to give her and how sedated do you want her to be. Remember that you will need to give the Gabapentin about two hours prior to the time you need her to be sedated/relaxed. She will need to be kept from being in places where she could fall during the peak activity of the Gabapentin because she will not have full coordination of her limbs.
 
I definitely would stay with the 1.75 dose during all the moving activity! She hasn’t been on it that long.

I would start with a very small dose of Gabapentin. How much do you plan to give her and how sedated do you want her to be. Remember that you will need to give the Gabapentin about two hours prior to the time you need her to be sedated/relaxed. She will need to be kept from being in places where she could fall during the peak activity of the Gabapentin because she will not have full coordination of her limbs.
Thanks Suzanne. The vet has just given me 1 x 50mg gabapentin. My plan currently is give insulin in AM as normal. Let her have +2 and +4 snacks. Give gaba at +4. Let her eat +6 snack then head off half hour/hour later.

When is the peak of gabapentin after consumption? Thanks for the tip about falling - I can keep her away from anything at height during that time.

I just want her chilled enough not to cry out the entire journey. It's about a 4 hour drive. She's done it once before and got very stressed and panted a lot. My partner was in the car then though so he could check she was okay. Obviously very hard for me to do on my own while driving
 
Back
Top