? Mocha Dosing Review

Anoud&Mocha

Member Since 2026
Mocha Previous Thread

Hi everyone, I really need urgent advice for Mocha . At 7:00 AM, her pre-shot BG was 208 mg/dL, and I gave her 0.5 U of Lantus. She experienced a very rapid and continuous drop down to 101 mg/dL within just 1 hour. I have given her multiple meals, high-carbohydrate wet food, and even honey, but her blood glucose is still dropping and won't stop! I honestly think that even 0.5 U is too strong for her and she is very sensitive to it. What should I do right now to stabilize her safely? Please help!
 
Am I a bad pet owner and do I just not know how to handle her, or is this situation extremely complicated, or is this normal for all cats?! I tried so hard to stay composed, but her glucose drop just wouldn't stop no matter what I did. I've even noticed that she drops after eating, whether she had external insulin or not. Because I couldn't get her blood sugar back up at home no matter how hard I tried, I had to take her back to the clinic again. Please, is this normal, and what should I do?
 
I wanted to share an important pattern with you: Mocha's numbers keep dropping for about 6 hours straight, and then they start to stabilize. So, if she drops sharply in the very first hour, it usually leads to very low numbers in the hours that follow. And no matter what I give her at home, it doesn't bring her numbers back up—even honey has never worked or made any difference for her.
 
I also wanted to share a crucial detail: Mocha's last fructosamine test was on September 4th, done after stopping insulin for a whole week. During that week off insulin, her numbers would drop on their own down to 104, then rise back up to 300, and so on. When we did the test, the result was 363.2 umol/L , which is why the vet decided to put her back on insulin.


Given how she behaves how should we handle her dosing safely without risking hypos?
 
I’m so sorry - it sounds like it was a hectic and stressful night, and I don’t think a lot of members were up when you were posting. I’m glad that Mocha is stable now, and you did a great job keeping her safe!

When you get a chance, could you please update your SS with the tests you did yesterday and note how much HC wet food you gave and when (eg 2 tsp HC at +1.5). And confirm for us which HC wet food you’re feeding and what the carb % is?

Right now I only see 208 AMPS to +1 101. While that is a big big drop, I think we’d also need to see how far she dropped down, how much food intervention was given etc for you to get the best dosing advice. Especially since you’re following TR, you normally wouldn’t automatically reduce unless you see some low numbers at / below 50.

Hopefully someone more experienced will weigh in soon!
 
I’m so sorry it’s been so difficult for you and Mocha. I know you are working so hard to keep her safe.
She’s is so sensitive to insulin!
Hopefully her pancreas is trying to work again so she won’t need insulin support in the future.

Did you give 1/2 unit today (you say that above) or .01 units? Your spreadsheet says .01 unit.

Did she go lower than 101 today? If so can you update your spreadsheet so you can get dosing advice?

When you feed her to stop the dropping glucose, try feeding a few teaspoons of high carb wet food only at a time.
You want to keep her hungry so she will continue to eat as the cycle goes on, if more is needed.
And of course you know you can add a little honey if needed.
(I know you’ve been doing that)

Please let us know how she’s doing today.
Sending you lots of good wishes!
You’re such a great caregiver for your sweet girl! ❤️💞🥰🙏🍃🍀🍃🍀
 

@Connie & Parker & Moonie @Staci & Ivy​

Oops, sorry, I typed 0.1 by mistake in the spreadsheet I actually meant 0.5 units! To answer your other questions, she did not go lower than 101 today (101 was her lowest point, and I even took her to the clinic just in case the drop continued). At first, I fed her her regular diabetic wet food, but when I saw her BG kept dropping, I gave her about 20 grams of whiskas beef in gravy. The drop stopped about 45 minutes after eating, and her numbers stayed steady even around +7 hours post-shot. Then it started to rise, but I realized it went up because I hadn't fed her since that last meal. Once I fed her again, it dropped and then went back up, and her reading at +9 was around 220. Right now, her pre-shot reading for tonight is 198. Is this a bounce? I'm asking because yesterday her numbers without insulin were actually lower than this. Thank you again for everything!
 

@Connie & Parker & Moonie @Staci & Ivy​

Oops, sorry, I typed 0.1 by mistake in the spreadsheet I actually meant 0.5 units! To answer your other questions, she did not go lower than 101 today (101 was her lowest point, and I even took her to the clinic just in case the drop continued). At first, I fed her her regular diabetic wet food, but when I saw her BG kept dropping, I gave her about 20 grams of whiskas beef in gravy. The drop stopped about 45 minutes after eating, and her numbers stayed steady even around +7 hours post-shot. Then it started to rise, but I realized it went up because I hadn't fed her since that last meal. Once I fed her again, it dropped and then went back up, and her reading at +9 was around 220. Right now, her pre-shot reading for tonight is 198. Is this a bounce? I'm asking because yesterday her numbers without insulin were actually lower than this. Thank you again for everything!
It’s pretty normal for them to rise at the end of the cycle as the insulin from the previous dose is wearing off.
She had a safe cycle today 🙏
 
Last edited:
Here’s Mocha after our adventure today. She’s finally resting and giving me some serious side eye, probably plotting her revenge for all the poking, prodding, and extra snacks she never asked for (but definitely enjoyed ).


I’m pretty sure she hates me right now… but honestly, can you blame her? After the rollercoaster we just went through, I’d probably be giving me the side eye too 😭


IMG_9584.jpeg
 
Aww Mocha is so beautiful!! If you get a chance, I'd probably use the "?" on the dropdown menu and put "dosing review" on the title somewhere, so that someone experienced could give you advice.

In case you don't get an experienced person to weigh in before the next cycle - I'll offer my 2 cents, albeit with the caveat that I'm still new to this. I know seeing the fast drop is really uncomfortable, but if it were my cat, I would do what Staci suggested if I saw a similar drop again into the blues - which is feed 1-2 tsp of HC and retest in 30-60 mins and see how she does. A normal BG number is 50-120, so Mocha was in a very safe zone even at 101 with the big drop. But I know her depot hasn't really been built because you've skipped shots, so it might be worth getting someone experienced to confirm the dose and make sure it's something you're comfortable with.
 
Last edited:
Here’s Mocha after our adventure today. She’s finally resting and giving me some serious side eye, probably plotting her revenge for all the poking, prodding, and extra snacks she never asked for (but definitely enjoyed ).


I’m pretty sure she hates me right now… but honestly, can you blame her? After the rollercoaster we just went through, I’d probably be giving me the side eye too 😭


View attachment 80392
She’s beautiful! 😻
She still loves you 💞💞💞
 
Hi Anoud, I am also new here, and so will not be giving any advice. My cat also seems to be very sensitive to insulin, and dropped fast and hard from just one drop of insulin on Friday. Twice. Dyana stayed up all night with us, even though she's 3 hours away and it was even later for her. I know how scary it can be to be alone with a loved cat late at night with little or no help to hand. I am very afraid to start shooting again, and am trying to get my nerve up, and collect more data in the meantime. I am sorry I was actually catching up on sleep, since even though i can't offer advice, I could at least have let you know you weren't alone.
Mocha is beautiful, and I would bet she loves you. She is lucky to have you caring for her.
 
Hi Anoud, I am also new here, and so will not be giving any advice. My cat also seems to be very sensitive to insulin, and dropped fast and hard from just one drop of insulin on Friday. Twice. Dyana stayed up all night with us, even though she's 3 hours away and it was even later for her. I know how scary it can be to be alone with a loved cat late at night with little or no help to hand. I am very afraid to start shooting again, and am trying to get my nerve up, and collect more data in the meantime. I am sorry I was actually catching up on sleep, since even though i can't offer advice, I could at least have let you know you weren't alone.
Mocha is beautiful, and I would bet she loves you. She is lucky to have you caring for her.
Hi Morna, thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing your experience 🙏🏻🤍 I'm so sorry you had such a scary night with Hester too, it's definitely terrifying when they drop fast like that. I'm taking things one step at a time and gathering data too. Thank you again for your support, Sending love to you and sweet Hester, and I hope we both find our peace of mind and safe footing soon 🤍🤍
 
To answer some of your questions. First, ECID or every cat is different. Mocha is a little unusual, but as @Morna & Hester Sue posted, not unique. Some cats need just a little bit of insulin, some need a lot. We just need to find the amount that works for Mocha. I suspect Mocha's pancreas has started to heal and is working sporadically, hence the drops after food. But her overall numbers are above the normal range for a diabetic cat, so she does need some insulin help. Her fructosamine results were not far out of normal range.

You could try 0.25 units if you want to experiment with that. Another thing you want to do is to feed the curve, to try to slow down the drops. Not sure at what + time you fed the drop on the 21st. That's really good information to include on the spreadsheet Remarks, along with quantities. Using Food to Manipulate the Curve
 
Back
Top