Di&Misho
Member Since 2014
My name is Diana and I am Bulgarian, it is a country in Europe. My English is very broken but I hope you will understand me. I desperately was searching help using Google and I found your message board. I understand that a lot of people here are very experienced and I strongly believe you will be able to help us. I take care of diabetic male cat. He is 6 years old and was diagnosed in April. Unfortunately vets here don't have any experience with Diabetes Mellitus as people in my country usually PTS pets with diabetes
MIsho ,it is his name, is a rescued ex stray cat whom I used to feed on daily basis. But when I took him to my vet and was diagnosed I realized I have to take him off the streets. Misho was put on Insulin but due to lack of experience his initial dose was 8 units :shock: twice daily which cause very rapid drop of his readings and hypoglycemia . His initial BG number was 33,3 this is in mmol in your readings it is something like 599. I had to administer insulin twice daily total16 units !!! I didn't know by that time that it is totally wrong. Later I contacted a Russian lady that said the cat is overdosed and I had to decrease the dose immediately. From 8 units per shot to 2 units per shot…. She said I have to switch to Levemir as the insulin I was using was not suitable for a cat as it was with peaks that dropped Misho’s numbers from 33 – 2 .Misho had readings below 40 every day and then was again zooming to HI. I use glucometer to monitor his BG every day and it shows HI when the BG is over 599.
Misho is now on Levemir but the problem is that I change the dose for every shot which I read is not right. The reason I do this is because even a dose of 0,5 sometimes causes BG of 30 after 4 hours with starting BG for example 300 . After having such readings ( 30 -35 ) Misho’s BG zooms to over 400 before the next shot . I have to give him at least 1 unit because if I shoot 0,5 the next pre-shot number will be high again.Sometimes I don't see low numbers but even with relatively normal BG like 11-13 he again zooms this usually happens when the pre-shot BG is high and then drops off within 4 hours with 8-10 mmol/L
I am sorry for my explanations I know they sound silly with my English and probably I look like a dummy , that is why I didn’t post in the forum so far.
By the way Misho is on wet Diabetic food product of Integra Protect Animonda- I order it online from Germany as here in Bulgaria we have only dry Diabetic and I think Misho had much higher readings at that time so I switched to wet. He has 255gr each day divided in two meals I feed him when I shoot the insulin . Misho is only 3,200 kgs he lost weight and until now he hasn’t put weight on. He is always hungry and begs for food but this is his daily portion according to the producer. Misho doesn’t drink water at all since we switched to wet food.
I don’t know if I gave you all the info you need. IF you have any questions let me know please. I can give you the numbers for any random day . I cannot measure the BG of Misho very often as he is not at home but for most of the days I have his BG for at least 4 times a day.
PLEASE help me with Misho because I am hopeless that he will be regulated. I am all alone and only reading articles on Internet doesn’t help me though I know much more about feline diabetes now .I know I don’t do things the right way and may be this is the reason why I still have problem regulating him. Very often when I least expect he has hypo and in a few hours after I have found this out and only 1 spoonful of his food he zooms to very high numbers. I read this they call rebound .
Thank you for reading this and I do apologize for my broken English!
Misho is now on Levemir but the problem is that I change the dose for every shot which I read is not right. The reason I do this is because even a dose of 0,5 sometimes causes BG of 30 after 4 hours with starting BG for example 300 . After having such readings ( 30 -35 ) Misho’s BG zooms to over 400 before the next shot . I have to give him at least 1 unit because if I shoot 0,5 the next pre-shot number will be high again.Sometimes I don't see low numbers but even with relatively normal BG like 11-13 he again zooms this usually happens when the pre-shot BG is high and then drops off within 4 hours with 8-10 mmol/L
I am sorry for my explanations I know they sound silly with my English and probably I look like a dummy , that is why I didn’t post in the forum so far.
By the way Misho is on wet Diabetic food product of Integra Protect Animonda- I order it online from Germany as here in Bulgaria we have only dry Diabetic and I think Misho had much higher readings at that time so I switched to wet. He has 255gr each day divided in two meals I feed him when I shoot the insulin . Misho is only 3,200 kgs he lost weight and until now he hasn’t put weight on. He is always hungry and begs for food but this is his daily portion according to the producer. Misho doesn’t drink water at all since we switched to wet food.
I don’t know if I gave you all the info you need. IF you have any questions let me know please. I can give you the numbers for any random day . I cannot measure the BG of Misho very often as he is not at home but for most of the days I have his BG for at least 4 times a day.
PLEASE help me with Misho because I am hopeless that he will be regulated. I am all alone and only reading articles on Internet doesn’t help me though I know much more about feline diabetes now .I know I don’t do things the right way and may be this is the reason why I still have problem regulating him. Very often when I least expect he has hypo and in a few hours after I have found this out and only 1 spoonful of his food he zooms to very high numbers. I read this they call rebound .
Thank you for reading this and I do apologize for my broken English!