Minnie was 52@6.25 today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

Member Since 2019
Still trying to follow TR as much as possible over here, but failing a bit as it’s very nerve wrecking to see a super low number. Today she was 52 at about a quarter past +6. Given the meter variance, she could have been under 50. I went ahead and gave her a .25 reduction. As you guys will see from her ss she’s still having very high pre shots, I know we don’t dose by that but just worried a reduction might send those am and pm pre shot numbers even higher. I mean she went down 300 from amps to midday today so still having huge highs and lows. I guess I’m just looking for some reassurance the reduction was warranted. Next vet checkup is tomorrow to see if the pneumonia has come back again.
@Nan & Amber (GA) @Panic @Deb & Wink

thanks!
 
I wonder why her pre-shots are so high despite the lovely green and blue nadirs. I know pre-shot numbers are the last to go down but still!
Worst thing that can happen is she has to go back up again, curious to see how she does.

Is she showing signs of pneumonia or is it routine? :nailbiting:
The pneumonia came back a second time so they want to check her again after stopping the last round of antibiotics. It’s hard to tell there are never any real signs. I noticed some moisture in her nostril the other day but that alone doesn’t mean it has. The vet said she’ll want to do a lung wash if it has come back to try to get to the bottom of it :nailbiting:
 
Last edited:
How did she do at the vet, Ale?
I pushed till next week. The vet was still sick until the night before they couldn’t even confirm the appt until that morning and I didn’t want her seeing a semi sick vet. Also, it must have been a zoo with all the appts that piled up and she’d been there longer unnecessarily. She behaving totally fine like she’s perfectly healthy so I figure it wouldn’t hurt
 
Ale do you think this might be a case where Minnie might need a few carbs to be able to dose properly??? You know I'm no expert but this back n forth up and down seems like you are chasing the impossible. Obviously dont go by me. lol you know better, just throwing it out there.
(((((Ale n Minnie)))))
 
No I remember something similar ... There's an article somewhere if I can find it. Some kitties actually do better with more carbs in their food, so instead of feeding 1-3% carbs you give 5-10%. I'll find it.
 
I’d love to know that @Wendy&Neko thinks of last night’s 140 pmps
The PMPS was lovely, but I'm not sure why you shot half the dose? We dose based primarily on the nadirs, or how low the dose is taking the cat, not the preshots. Remember, Lantus is good at giving nice flat cycles if you shoot lower numbers. Not something we suggest for new people until they get the data and experience to do so, but you have passed the 6 month mark now. Next time you get a number like that for preshot, don't feed, and post over in the Lantus forum for help. It'll also help us help you better if you change that SLGS in your signature to TR, and also change the top of the spreadsheet.
 
The PMPS was lovely, but I'm not sure why you shot half the dose? We dose based primarily on the nadirs, or how low the dose is taking the cat, not the preshots. Remember, Lantus is good at giving nice flat cycles if you shoot lower numbers. Not something we suggest for new people until they get the data and experience to do so, but you have passed the 6 month mark now. Next time you get a number like that for preshot, don't feed, and post over in the Lantus forum for help. It'll also help us help you better if you change that SLGS in your signature to TR, and also change the top of the spreadsheet.
I have never shot the regular dose with a pmps lower than150 and I’m still very much a chicken with TR to be honest. Im afraid it would have taken her dangerously low overnight. She only went up from 60 to 140, which has never happened before. I just didn’t feel safe to shoot her at that low of a number :(

now I feel like I’m a bad mother who screwed up. I should have given her the regular dose :banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Last edited:
Hi. If you post on Lantus someone will help you shoot lower than 150. We won’t leave you hanging until safe. If you can’t feel okay about it why not stick with SLGS?

We cross posted, Wendy.
She wasn’t getting the same results with SLGS after the 2 hospitalizations. She’s still having pretty sharp dips and highs where she’ll go from 300 down to 60, hence why I was scared to shoot at 140. You can see on the ss, even going from 400 yesterday down to 188, that’s a 200 dip... but thanks :) I’ll plan to do that.
 
It does take a leap of faith the first time you shoot lower numbers. :bighug: Cats on Lantus don't drop the same amount with lower preshots that they do at higher numbers. Next time you can monitor, and she gives you a preshot between 100 and 150, try the full dose and see what happens.
I will do that. I think if it had happened during the day I’d have felt a bit less terrified :rolleyes:
 
She wasn’t getting the same results with SLGS after the 2 hospitalizations. She’s still having pretty sharp dips and highs where she’ll go from 300 down to 60, hence why I was scared to shoot at 140. You can see on the ss, even going from 400 yesterday down to 188, that’s a 200 dip... but thanks :) I’ll plan to do that.

I was t recommending you switch back if you feel comfortable lowering your no shot number gradually. It was just a suggestion to avoid the need to skip doses. For many the skips lead to the extreme drops in the cycle whereas shoot low to stay low often needs to a flat cycle. It’s s scary I know. I’d get nervous every time I saw a 50-70 preshot but knew I could steer Max with food.
 
I was t recommending you switch back if you feel comfortable lowering your no shot number gradually. It was just a suggestion to avoid the need to skip doses. For many the skips lead to the extreme drops in the cycle whereas shoot low to stay low often needs to a flat cycle. It’s s scary I know. I’d get nervous every time I saw a 50-70 preshot but knew I could steer Max with food.
I didn’t skip the dose. I gave her 1/2. Now I know I should have gone with regular or maybe just .5 less. I’d love to go back to SLGS but she wasn’t getting regulated on it and her numbers are much better now. So I have to bite the bullet
 
Last edited:
You will be happier with her numbers when you get used to shooting lower. Baby steps.
I agree but it’s also that’s she’s been completely unpredictable since May. Before she had a pattern and now the huge drops and rises make me even more nervous to shoot lower. She’s at double the dose she was before the hospitalizations and she was well regulated back then. I know you’re right. I hate the feeling that I let her down :oops:
 
Last edited:
I agree but it’s also that’s she’s been completely unpredictable since May. Before she had a pattern and now that huge drops and rises make me even more nervous to shoot lower. I know you’re right. I hate the feeling that I let her down :oops:
Now you STOP THAT! young lady... dont make me come out there!
Just LOOK at what you and Minnie have overcome! I HARDLY call that letting her down. Minnie slap yo mama for me!:p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top