Mimi 5/9 PS 64

Mimis mom

Member Since 2019
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...5-5-100-continue-to-drop.262701/#post-2944462

I don’t know what to do- With TR it’s shootable but because of the number is she at higher risk of hypoglycemia?
I have to leave soon- I know I could have waited to see if it rose or not but she gets super anxious and meows heavily, starts running around trying to rip at stuff- she’s like a totally different cat and it breaks my heart hearing her cry -
I had to give her something- I panicked and did a tiny bit of HC.
Her shot time is now- whenever I’ve waited in the past to see if it was rising it only rose a few points in a 20 minute period and I also don’t want to mess up her shot time any more than that.

Full shot??
half shot?
should I give her 2.5 vs 2.75?


I know I’ve run into this before but I can’t think straight and I need help

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

@Chris & China (GA)

@Wendy&Neko
 
“ If the big picture is making sense but you see one cycle that doesn’t fit, then keep that 20-50% variation in mind and just wait it out.”


- taken from what is the insulin depot- what does 20-50% variation mean?
 
I’m just going to have to skip…. No one got back to me in time. It’s getting really late..
 
I gave her 1 unit 45 minutes ago which would have been about +12.5 because I didn’t do the shot at her time.
I fed her HC- an hour ago- and then she ate some LC 30 mins ago.

why is it 54? (It was 56 at another test)
 
I gave her 1 unit 45 minutes ago which would have been about +12.5 because I didn’t do the shot at her time.
I fed her HC- an hour ago- and then she ate some LC 30 mins ago.

why is it 54? (It was 56 at another test)
I wouldn’t be doing 911 if I didn’t have to leave 2 hours away for the day
 
Please update your spreadsheet with today’s data. That’s the first thing we look at.

Please list food given, amount, carbs and when. Use the format:
+12 64, tiny bit (whatever that means) HC
+12.5 BG=?, 1.0 unit, fed ? When was HC and LC, how much?
+? 54 or 56

This is not a 911 or medical emergency. Just really confusing to figure out what you did, especially with no SS updates.
 
I
Please update your spreadsheet with today’s data. That’s the first thing we look at.

Please list food given, amount, carbs and when. Use the format:
+12 64, tiny bit (whatever that means) HC
+12.5 BG=?, 1.0 unit, fed ? When was HC and LC, how much?
+? 54 or 56

This is not a 911 or medical emergency. Just really confusing to figure out what you did, especially with no SS updates.


Im sorry- I left all the info I had on here - I will also put it on her SS.

her BG is now 49

I’m like shaking - I just need help and I was getting nothing which is why I put 911- also it was to me a possible hypo situation. Because I have to leave
 
her BG is now 49

OK...she's just a little low but not dangerously low but we don't want her to drop any more.

If you have some HC food like Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers, give her a couple of teaspoons of mostly the "gravy" part and test again in 20-30 minutes.

When do you have to leave? How long will you be gone?
 
OK...she's just a little low but not dangerously low but we don't want her to drop any more.

If you have some HC food like Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers, give her a couple of teaspoons of mostly the "gravy" part and test again in 20-30 minutes.

When do you have to leave? How long will you be gone?
I was supposed to leave an hour ago and it’s 2 hours away, it’s for work.
So I shouldn’t wait and see if she keeps dropping -‘just go with the HC?
 
So I shouldn’t wait and see if she keeps dropping -‘just go with the HC?

Are you waiting for 3 drops below 50 before taking reductions or until she drops below 40 once?

A lot of us do that with long term diabetics (over a year) or with cats that don't hold reductions well.

I'm more concerned about you needing to leave though, especially if it's for work. You can always abort the cycle, load her up on HC food and leave some down for later.
 
Are you waiting for 3 drops below 50 before taking reductions or until she drops below 40 once?

A lot of us do that with long term diabetics (over a year) or with cats that don't hold reductions well.

I'm more concerned about you needing to leave though, especially if it's for work. You can always abort the cycle, load her up on HC food and leave some down for later.
Wait - I think she had just eaten MC in. The auto feeder right when I got home because I just looked- I set it for 12 pm and I think I got back at 12:05 or something and tested her- thafs the 49 number.
Now her BG is 55 and the food is eaten out of the feeder (but I’m sitting in front of it I didn’t hear it go off) must have happened while I stepped outside and I didn’t look at it

im losing my mind today lol- I’m also on the phone rescheduling all of my clients to make another way work..
 
I left MC in her autofeeders for 12, 2:30, 3:30 and another one at 5

i still might be able to leave- but I don’t know- if she has all of those times for the feeder maybe she’ll be ok? Especially since I did only 1 unit?
 
Maybe change to Noon, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm until you're well past her usual nadir and then 1 last snack 2 hours before the PM shot (remember, you shot late this morning so you'd shoot later tonight)

I'd personally like to see her moving up a little more before leaving her but you also don't want to jeopardize your job or lose any clients so I think she'd be OK with leaving the food down too.

Really depends on your comfort level and how much being late or cancelling would effect your employment
 
Maybe change to Noon, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm until you're well past her usual nadir and then 1 last snack 2 hours before the PM shot (remember, you shot late this morning so you'd shoot later tonight)

I'd personally like to see her moving up a little more before leaving her but you also don't want to jeopardize your job or lose any clients so I think she'd be OK with leaving the food down too.

Really depends on your comfort level and how much being late or cancelling would effect your employment

well- it wouldn’t really affect this too much-it’s a side job…
 
I’m sorry I dipped out for a while- I’ll test her now- she’s been eating every 30 mins- Since I’m right here and I see she’s eating (MC) I wanted to give her ear a break. Also I got busy with another dilemma unrelated :confused:
 
That's a nice safe number!!

Yo Mimi! Let's see how long you can surf that pretty green wave!!
upload_2022-5-9_15-40-51.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-5-9_15-40-51.png
    upload_2022-5-9_15-40-51.png
    93.1 KB · Views: 129
Love that photo!! should I reduce her at shot time? She’s at 2.75 now- took the token 1 unit dose-
 
So below 50 at any point in the cycle not just nadir?

If I followed SLGS- what does that mean for her long term.
She’s been a diabetic almost 3 years now- she doesn’t seem to be going into remission or at least her chances are very slim right?
She also seems to be so sensitive like- I can’t get her in numbers like the 100s-
She always does 200s or then dips into the 50s or 60s
I don’t see that as being tightly regulated- she just seems somewhat regulated?
what am I doing wrong- or what should I do? Are there a lot of members on here that so SLGS? Will that method keep her closer to hyper numbers and then she risks more of the bad side effects of having diabetes?
 
So below 50 at any point in the cycle not just nadir?

It's at any point, but in long term diabetics, we usually wait until they drop below 50 three times or below 40 once (On TR). On SLGS they start out earning reductions if they drop below 90, but as you gain more experience and data, that number can come down too. Some people choose a "no shot" number they are comfortable with at that time (like below 80, or 70) and as they gain more confidence, they can shoot those lower numbers.

what am I doing wrong- or what should I do? Are there a lot of members on here that so SLGS? Will that method keep her closer to hyper numbers and then she risks more of the bad side effects of having diabetes

You're not doing anything wrong. Insulin is a hormone and can react drastically differently from day to day, cycle to cycle.

Except for the last few days, you've been getting a test or two between the AM and PM dose....is there any reason you couldn't get back to getting at least 1 test in between? If you could, you might want to seriously consider going to TR.

TR is more aggressive so it's not for everybody, but it also allows you to increase the dose as often as every 3 days if the current dose isn't getting her where you want her.

With SLGS, you are supposed to hold the dose for a full week (unless she drops below your "no shot" number in which you'd reduce) before you can increase the dose, even if she's running higher than you want her to.

You might want to re-read the Sticky on TR and SLGS and see what you think. Ask any questions that might come up.

In my opinion, if it were my cat, I'd give the 2.75U dose if she's high enough at PMPS (over 150).

Remember, if you shoot a lower number than you're used to you can stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if the number goes up. That's a pretty good indication that it's OK to go ahead and shoot. You should also have plenty of supplies, be able to test as long as may be necessary and grab a +1 and +2 to start.
 
Back
Top