Milo AMPS 411 please help too much insulin?

ssaraiex26

Member Since 2022
Hello,

I'm very confused at what's been happening with Milo the last couple of days. He was doing very well on 1.5 units, his numbers were constantly in the 100s. then, since his preshot numbers became a bit lower, we reduced to 0.75 units and he seemed to do well on that decreased dose too (he remained flat in the 100s and sometimes 200s but was told to hold the dose for at least a week to see if a bit of an increase was needed). Then after 6 days on the 0.75 dose, on 8/17, when his mid cycle numbers were in the 130s, by night time he was in the 300s and just kept rising where the next day he was in the 400s. So now, the past 2-3 days theres been a pattern of a very high morning pre shot number (3-400s) and he would CONTINOUSLY drop through out the day and by night time his pre shot number would be back in the 100s. Then overnight, he just climbed back up to the 400s.

Nothing has changed in his diet and he is acting totally fine. Checked for ketones and its negative and even took him to the vet to check for UTI or teeth issues and both are negative. I was told to DECREASE his dose this morning to 0.5. Is it possible that the 0.75 dose became too much?? I'm so confused with what happened. He was doing well and regulated and bam, back in the 400s. I don't understand why the last two days in the cycle he would just drop and drop and drop... then the next cycle he would rise and rise and rise..

Can someone look at his chart and let me know if they think it's possible he does indeed need a decrease? I'm just scared decreasing will only make things worse. He was doing so well and I'm feeling shattered seeing this ugly numbers again the last couple of days and theres no signs of other health issues going on.

I was told these numbers these past few days do NOT look like a bounce since he was regulated for a good while and that these numbers are random. Which is why I was told to reduce.

I guess I'm looking for some support and confirmation that decreasing the dose for at least 5 days is indeed a good idea.

Here is a link to his chart. I would appreciate any feedback.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1OJFXUCG3_Mduhhwqn_zgAChDW3MmEp-1EjJrFFpqb2o/edit?usp=sharing
 
Last edited:
Why did you reduce today? He needs .75. Who told you to reduce? I don’t see that here. You only reduce if under 90.
I was told to reduce since the last three days he has jumped back to the reds - and has been having a pattern of dropping consistently one cycle up to 300 points, and then next cycle he dramatically goes way back up to red. I was told this could mean that the dose is now too much. That it’s not from bouncing.
 
Previous post
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-11-22-milo-amps-368-please-help.267010/#post-2988347. Have you read the 2 dosing methods for lantus?
Since you are feeding any dry food at all ( the young again ) you will have to follow the SLGS dosing method can you add that to your signature and SS/
I'll give you the link
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Thank you I will add it. But this info isn’t really helping me with my question? About the reduction
 
I was told to reduce since the last three days he has jumped back to the reds - and has been having a pattern of dropping consistently one cycle up to 300 points, and then next cycle he dramatically goes way back up to red. I was told this could mean that the dose is now too much. That it’s not from bouncing.
@tiffmaxee

Hi Elise looking at her SS on 8-11 AMPS she shot 1.50 units then during the night cycle he dropped to 73 , the next day 8-12 she gave 0.75 shouldn't she have given 1.25 units?
@tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
I was told to reduce since the last three days he has jumped back to the reds - and has been having a pattern of dropping consistently one cycle up to 300 points, and then next cycle he dramatically goes way back up to red. I was told this could mean that the dose is now too much. That it’s not from bouncing.
In your previous post here (linked by Diane in post #2), there was discussion about your spreadsheet not working at the time. I rather suspect that the spreadsheet originated in a certain FB group - because those ones have that bug in them. In addition, people in that particular FB group give bad advice. They are always getting people to reset the dose or go too low with the dose.

Milo's dose is too low, you should be giving 1.25 units, as he earned a 0.25 unit reduction by going under 90 when on 1.5 units.
 
Back
Top