Mikey 450 +2 303 +3 205

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...e-no-good-really-bad-day.135909/#post-1401227

Posting a quick condo from work. Mikey scared us half to death with an AMPS of 35! We retested twice and got 48 and 50. Needless today, no shot for our boy this morning. He's still not eating properly, so I'm taking him back to the vet after school. I'm starting to wonder if his mouth is sore or infected. He eats a little, then sits and stares at the food. I suspect he needs more bupe and antibiotics. Poor baby. Meanwhile, do I need to decrease tonight, or can we say that the 35 was a fluke?
 
So sorry to hear Mikey is having such a hard time. I really hope you figure out what is going on. It really stresses me out when my babies are not eating.
 
Don was home with the plumber this morning, so he got a +5. The bounce kicked in, and he's HI at this point. He had eaten most of his food. @Sienne and Gabby would you reduce him tonight, or shoot through the bounce, since he missed a dose entirely?
 
Good luck at the vet. I hope Mikey will be eating more enthusiastically soon. It could be that he is still hurting from the dental. I forget: did he have extractions? Maybe ask the vet to check to see if there are any bone shards floating around.

Lots of vines for Mikey,

Ella & Rusty
 
Yes, he had three extractions, and one of them was kind of nasty. I'm wondering if cats can get dry socket. I'll ask about the bone shards too. Still can't believe he gave us a 35 at preshot. That just doesn't make a bit of sense.
 
I suspect it's related to him not eating. I'd ask the vet as well. Punkin had problems after his dentals with infections and we had some lingering problems with it until they cleared up. He got C. Diff from the antibiotic - make sure you always give Fortiflora or some probiotic along with antibiotics.

I'd decide on tonight's shot based upon whether or not he's eating normally. You might want to give a reduced shot because of the circumstances, knowing that you may need to go back up in dose as he heals.
 
We're back from the vet. Mikey's mouth looks great. Everything is healing well. However, his colon is full of diarrhea, which the vet feels is from the antibiotic. He wants us to try flortiflora, and if that doesn't work, go with Flagyl. He said not to shoot until we're sure Mikey's going to eat. He almost had a heart attack over the 35. He'd forgotten is was on a human meter! That would be ugly on an alphatraks!
 
Poor little Mikey - not wonder he's not feeling like eating much. I hope the Fortiflora or other probiotic does the trick.

We used to think that the AlphaTrak read 30 points below the human meters, until the latest doc from Dr. Rand said more like 18-ish points at low numbers. I remember the heart attack I had helping someone late at night whose cat was in the 40's on the AT. Still ugly! Even 35 on a human meter must have been a shock.:eek:
 
FortiFlora has the advantage of being like kitty crack. Most cats love the stuff. A more potent probiotic is ReNew Ultimate. I've found it in the refrigerated supplement section at Whole Foods and some folks have mentioned that they've found it at GNC. If you want to go that route, I'd call around.

I'm not sure why the vet would suggest Flagyl. Does he think that Mikey has an anaerobic bacterial infection? (That's what Flagyl treats.) ABs can kill off the good bacteria in the colon -- hence a probiotic.

You might want to try giving Mikey food that's easy on his GI track -- something like baby food. You would want Gerber or Beechnut Stage 2 which is protein and broth (no veggies).
 
He LOVES the fortiflora and ate his PMPS meal without a bit of hesitation. I took the reduction to .25, though, because if he decides he doesn't want to eat later, I'd rather have less insulin on board. As Julie said, I can always go back up. I think the vet uses Flagyl for diarrhea. It's never made sense to me, and it's never worked on any cat I've used it on. (OK, that was only one cat, but it didn't work on him. :)) The one other thing that the vet said about the 35 this morning, is that the dental might be working, and Mikey may be heading into remission. He wants me to keep watching Mikey very, very closely. I guess he's learned what we all know: NEVER TRUST MIKEY!
 
Mommy be so proud of me! I goes from 35 dis mornin', to HI, to 455 at PMPS, den 303, den 205! I be da king of da bungee cord!!!!! I still givin' lessons! Deys free as a public service to all kittehs! Hey @Vyktors Mum comes ober. Mommy so proud, she cooks all night!
 
punkin was given metronidazole for diarrhea and my understanding was that it also had anti-inflammatory properties in the gut. If you don't see relief from the flagyl and fortiflora, you might ask about it. You don't want that to go on and on - it's hard on his body and that's how punkin got C Diff. It's a bear to get rid of.
 
Flagyl is the brand name for metronidazole. I just use the brand name, because it's easier to spell. :) If he's not doing better by Saturday, we're supposed to pick up the flagyl/metronidazole and use it and the flortiflora. Mikey ate a bit of baby food at +3, and his BG seems to have stabilized. I'm not sure we should shoot in the morning, if he's not eating, since no one will be here from +1 until PMPS. The problem is, he eats great at PS, then doesn't want to eat after that. Today I left him shut up in a room with his timed feeder, and he ate most of his food, so maybe when he goes low he eats. Who knows with Mikey? What do you think about shooting tomorrow @julie & punkin (ga) ?
 
It's so hard to predict in advance what to do. I like the idea of the timed feeder.

I'm not sure anything has changed from his usual situation - I think you'll just have to see where he is in the morning and skip if you need to.
 
The thing that's changed, is that I can be sure he'll eat the food I leave for him. That's what worries me.

Does anyone know how long fortiflora takes to work?
 
probably a couple of days if it's after the diarrhea's already happening. I'm not sure - probably depends on how bad things are. It can prevent it if they get it from the start.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top