Gill & George
Member Since 2015
Mia's giving you a crash course in feline Diabetes and lantus cycles
Haha oh yes she definitely isMia's giving you a crash course in feline Diabetes and lantus cycles![]()
Super nervous to see how high it's going to go until her preshot to be honest+4 is 103. No drama today is a good thing, I think.
I agree with what Gill said about ketones, etc. The dosing protocols call for definite reduction with a drop into the 30s. But don’t be upset if you feel her numbers are too high. It’s really not a good idea to rush the process— and it is a process! Many cats will need reductions and then need an increase afterwards. Some go back and forth between does for a while. And some cats really surprise us and don’t need to go back up in dose. Your sweet Mia is doing sooo well in such a short period of time. There are many people who would love to have your spreadsheet numbers for their cat.Super nervous to see how high it's going to go until her preshot to be honest
@Gill & George yes I realized after my last post that I have to keep in mind the possibility of bouncing with the next cycles. Not sure if I have asked this before, but is there a general period of time we can expect to see results of a bounce?She's had less insulin, and she also dropped into lime green, it's possible that she may react with a bounce and we will see a higher than usual Pmps.
She earns a reduction with that drop into the 30s, and it's the Nadir's that govern our dosing decisions with Lantus, so if she's high at pmps, don't panic and continue shooting the reduced dose. With one proviso, that she's eating and behaving normally, no signs of lethargy or sickness. It would also be a good idea to check for keto es as we've reduced the dose. Not enough insulin can be a trigger to developing ketones especially if there were to be something else going on(inappetence, illness, inflammation), in those circumstances we might make a different decision with regards to dose at pmps.
If all's well stick with the drop dose, if there's any issues with the above, shout out and we'll make a different plan.
@Suzanne & Darcy will try to remain cool as a cucumber when testing throughout this cycle and next one, and keep in mind that higher numbers might be from her bouncing. Will ask you too, how long can we see effects from bouncing usually?I agree with what Gill said about ketones, etc. The dosing protocols call for definite reduction with a drop into the 30s. But don’t be upset if you feel her numbers are too high. It’s really not a good idea to rush the process— and it is a process! Many cats will need reductions and then need an increase afterwards. Some go back and forth between does for a while. And some cats really surprise us and don’t need to go back up in dose. Your sweet Mia is doing sooo well in such a short period of time. There are many people who would love to have your spreadsheet numbers for their cat.

Bounces are when we see high flat numbers for at least one cycle, they can be triggered by a drop into low numbers that the cat is not used to ( not necessarily lime green) and they can last up to a maximum of 6 cycles, but not unusual to see them be anything between 1 and 6.Not sure if I have asked this before, but is there a general period of time we can expect to see results of a bounce?
@Gill & George Ah ok, very familiar with bouncing while she was on Caninsulin, just wasn't sure how long the effects could last. Good thing to keep in mind when checking her BG levels the next 3 days then.Bounces are when we see high flat numbers for at least one cycle, they can be triggered by a drop into low numbers that the cat is not used to ( not necessarily lime green) and they can last up to a maximum of 6 cycles, but not unusual to see them be anything between 1 and 6.
A long spell in lower than usual numbers or a sharp drop can also trigger them.
To be honest, Mia hasn't been bouncing since she's been on Lantus, so my guess would be that she won't, but time will tell.
Actually looking at her caninsulin numbers I don't see bouncing, I see lack of duration.ok, very familiar with bouncing while she was on Caninsulin, just wasn't sure how long the effects could last. Good thing to keep in mind when checking her BG levels the next 3 days then.
@Gill & George oh ok, that's a new perspective to me. I am just going by what I have been told on the forum in my previous threads. Which was that her high numbers after having lime green numbers were due to her bouncing because of the liver going into panic mode like you said.Actually looking at her caninsulin numbers I don't see bouncing, I see lack of duration.
Caniinsulin is an in out insulin, which means when the cycle is over her BG shoots up because there's no insulin available to keep her BG down, so by PS her numbers shoot up, you shoot her next dose and insulin becomes available her BG dived.
Bouncing, as we refer to it on this forum is when a cats body is actually responsible for the high BG readings, irrespective of there being insulin. Think of it as the liver going into 'panic mode' it reacts to a 'percieved dangerous BG level'. (The lower than usual BG numbers etc) And releases hormones that result in glucose being dumped into the blood stream, which results in the spike in BG, and then those levels remain high and flat (we don't see a curve with a defined onset, nadir and duration), by definition we get at least one cycle of high flat numbers and for most cats these high flat numbers will subside (liver stops releasing hormones/glucose) within 6 cycles.
Mia went up and down, which certainly feels like 'bouncing' or at least being on a seesaw, but I see the lack of duration of caninsulin and it's rapid action, and lack of insulin depot being responsible for the crazy cycles you experienced,
@Suzanne & Darcy Yes she's had very stable numbers today. Her preshot BG will be in around 45minI don’t see any indication of a bounce yet. I doubt if she will bounce because she’s not shown herself to be a bouncy cat so far. She also had a gentle curve today.
Regarding the "bouncing", have i misunderstood all the previous posts on ny other threads when she was on caninsulin? I feel like we discussed her bouncing due to the lime green numbers on several occasions
Well if you look at her spreadsheet while she was on Caninsulin, when she went into lime green then green then yellow by the end of the cycle that’s not because of a bounce. It’s just that the short-acting (in a cat) Caninsulin wore off — there just wasn’t any more insulin available to her. So if she were bouncing, you would see those yellows continue into the next cycle and perhaps even climb into pink (or higher,) but in Mia’s case, when she got her next insulin shot her numbers went back down again and frequently went into lime green again. That shows that she was not bouncing because if it was a true bounce the insulin would have had little effect (BG not really going down and certainly not way down into low green and lime green.) Does this make sense? So when we see higher numbers toward the end of a cycle but then the next shot is given and the numbers go down again, we call that loss of duration (meaning the previous shot wore off.)@Gill & George oh ok, that's a new perspective to me. I am just going by what I have been told on the forum in my previous threads. Which was that her high numbers after having lime green numbers were due to her bouncing because of the liver going into panic mode like you said.
Ha ha. I keep cross posting with Gill! I think I will now sit back and let her do all the work!![]()
@Gill & George No new food, she has been eating the same low carb food since we switched her diet weeks ago. Apart from the one meal she had 4 days ago with the new food that made her BG jump. She got some of her old dreamies treats 2 days ago when she dropped into lime green numbers, but nothing after that.Have you introduced new food?
How liquid is it,?
George used to get diarrhea (very soft poop)after I fed him high carb food and when he had a lime green event
Yes they have half day today and closed tomorrow. But there is an emergency vet available.What are the vets opening hours today? Is it half day today?
Do you have a vet available on Sunday if you were to need it?
From what you are saying she seems ok and is not showing any signs of pOn/discomfort, other than the poop she seems herself.
Do you have s good relationship with your vet? Will they talk to you if you phone and ask for advice?
Has she had pancreatitis in the past? Or periodic problems with diarrhea?
@Gill & George yes definitely hoping it was just a random one time thing. She is strictly indoors, but has access to a balcony, so bugs, dust etc.It might be just a one off event. I know some of mine occasionally do that for no reason I can figure out.
Is she an indoor cat?
Given she seems ok is eating and behaving normally in your position I'd probably speak to your usual vet for advice, and watch for any signs of pain/discomfort, and monitor her ketones, and see of her next poop is normal or still problematic.
Any signs of her not eating or of lethargy, would set alarm bells going for me.
My worry with what I've said above is your access to care if you need it, for me here in Spain we have the same hours, and the nearest out of hours vet is an hour's drive away, so that often influences my decision on whether to take them or just observe when they get sick on a Friday night.
LOL yes I know Malta is pretty 'compact' I'm from Gibraltar originally, though I live in Spain, we visited Malta on a youth exchange trip. My Great Grandmother was Maltese, Gib has always had close. links to Malta.Regarding care later today or tomorrow if needed, luckily nothing is anymore than 30min drive here in Malta.
@Gill & George Oh, love that you have maltese blood in you! Have yet to visit Gibraltar myselfLOL yes I know Malta is pretty 'compact' I'm from Gibraltar originally, though I live in Spain, we visited Malta on a youth exchange trip. My Great Grandmother was Maltese, Gib has always had close. links to Malta.
Keep us posted of you're worried about anything.
I see she's gently heading down this morning sorry o stepped out, took 5 cats and two dogs for their vaccinations this morning.
Before you take her up check with us, I'm going to the UK for a conference today, so I may not be around very much, Tuesday and Wednesday. I'm back Wednesday afternoon.Will follow your suggestion and give it a couple of more cycles until making any changes to her dose
She had a pretty flat cycle last night, sometimes a flat blue cycle precedes a very active cycle. So let's see if she's playing games with us.Yesterday evening she had a bit of a weird cycle were we didn't see her numbers going down until +6, which has been unusual for her. Both her
LOL. A lot of families are descendants of malteses families, if you looked in the phone book you'd recognise a lot of surnames.@Gill & George Oh, love that you have maltese blood in you! Have yet to visit Gibraltar myself![]()
Before you take her up check with us, I'm going to the UK for a conference today, so I may not be around very much, Tuesday and Wednesday. I'm back Wednesday afternoon.
She had a pretty flat cycle last night, sometimes a flat blue cycle precedes a very active cycle. So let's see if she's playing games with us.
LOL. A lot of families are descendants of malteses families, if you looked in the phone book you'd recognise a lot of surnames.
Sorry for the lack of reply here @Suzanne & Darcy! Took a little "break" from it all over the weekend (apart from testing and insulin of course). But yes your explanation of her low numbers while on caninsulin definitely makes sense in regards to it being a short-acting insulin. So for it to be a bounce, it will result in longer lasting higher numbers and not actually just "bouncing" from low to high during a cycle.Well if you look at her spreadsheet while she was on Caninsulin, when she went into lime green then green then yellow by the end of the cycle that’s not because of a bounce. It’s just that the short-acting (in a cat) Caninsulin wore off — there just wasn’t any more insulin available to her. So if she were bouncing, you would see those yellows continue into the next cycle and perhaps even climb into pink (or higher,) but in Mia’s case, when she got her next insulin shot her numbers went back down again and frequently went into lime green again. That shows that she was not bouncing because if it was a true bounce the insulin would have had little effect (BG not really going down and certainly not way down into low green and lime green.) Does this make sense? So when we see higher numbers toward the end of a cycle but then the next shot is given and the numbers go down again, we call that loss of duration (meaning the previous shot wore off.)
Yes managed to get in another ketones test, and was negative luckily! Haven't been able to check her poop today, so not sure what the update is on that yet. But have been adding probiotics (fortiflora) to her food twice a day so could be that has done the trick.How is she doing? I saw you had negative ketones. I think you should got ahead and take her back up to 0.1 units. She’s been in too much blue and we’ve lost the greens. Even when she did go green it was not for long. What do you think? Do you want to wait until tomorrow morning?
Unfortunately, I have never had the need to use calipers, but other people on this Board have.

@Suzanne & Darcy right back to green numbers today it seems like. But not too happy about her going all the way down to 2.9 even though it is technically in the green and not lime green numbers@Heather82372 and @SmallestSparrow you both use calipers and have had some good discussions about it lately. Can you help Monica with using calipers to measure a small 0.1 dose?
Yes of course very happy to see those green numbers again! Just found it to be quite a big drop from her pre shot number. Her +6 is coming up now in 30min, so will update the SS then.I understand your anxiety. The 50s are good numbers (2.9/52) is safe. We have cats on the Board who hang in the 50-80 range for long periods of time. It does take some time to become accustomed to that. In Mia’s case, it looks like she went up to 74 within an hour. After that, I can’t tell what happened. We would like her to spend time in dark green.
Actually my last post about calipers was me asking about it because it was so confusing to me. Honestly, life has been too busy for me to even figure it out yet. Sorry I can't help.@Heather82372 and @SmallestSparrow you both use calipers and have had some good discussions about it lately. Can you help Monica with using calipers to measure a small 0.1 dose?
Didn’t someone post a video about how to use them? I haven’t been able to find it yet.Actually my last post about calipers was me asking about it because it was so confusing to me. Honestly, life has been too busy for me to even figure it out yet. Sorry I can't help.
When her preshot numbers start to come down and you are “shooting low to stay low” then the cycles will smooth out and be much flatter.Yes of course very happy to see those green numbers again! Just found it to be quite a big drop from her pre shot number. Her +6 is coming up now in 30min, so will update the SS then.