Meadow PMPS 70 +2~54..Can't seem to keep anything down!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meadow

Member Since 2010
We're not having a good day here. Meadow's AMPS was 309. She ate breakfast normally at 7am and then had her cooked chicken for a snack at 9am. At 9:15am she vomited up everything she ate. I had to leave the house for a special event that I could not get out of, so I reluctantly left instructions for DH on what to feed her. She only took a few licks of the food I left and he tried several times throughout the day to feed her. He said she slept the whole day inside the cat tree we have. Got home at 5pm and she licked 1/2 jar baby food for me. Took her bg just now and it is 70. She licked a little juice from a FF chunky chicken flavor and a few pieces of cooked chicken. DH is hand feeding her the chicken now.

Do I shoot the whole 1u dose or do you think I should only give her .5 considering the low # ? I am inclined to give 1/2 dose, but want to get your opinions.

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20051
 
Re: Meadow PMPS 70..bad day...Advice needed by 7pm!

I'm no expert so I can't give advice but just here to help bump this. Hope you get some answers.
 
Re: Meadow PMPS 70..bad day...Advice needed by 7pm!

If Meadow isn't on any other meds, I'd give her 1/4 of a tablet of Pepsid AC to help settle her stomach. If you can't her to eat very much, I'd go with a reduced dose.

Any other symptoms?
 
Re: Meadow PMPS 70..bad day...Advice needed by 7pm!

it's a hard call.
i'm one who doesn't believe in reducing too much if at all if there's an appetite situation because i always worry about ketones. you can get a lick of HC food into her if necessary. you have HC in the house, right?
so my recommendation would be just to shave the dose or give 0.75u but monitor. check the +1 for sure and i'd probably do a +3 and +5 as well. and if she'll eat it, pls add more water to her food. she may be a bit dehydrated by now.

pred EOD, right? did she get it today?
i think 1/4 pepcid AC is an excellent idea. put in tiny bit of pill pocket or chase with water/butter.
 
Re: Meadow PMPS 70..bad day...Advice needed by 7pm!

Sienne and Gabby said:
If Meadow isn't on any other meds, I'd give her 1/4 of a tablet of Pepsid AC to help settle her stomach. If you can't her to eat very much, I'd go with a reduced dose.

Any other symptoms?

No ketones in the urine. Checked that before. She did need her breathing medication and pred tonight though. Her breathing is slightly labored. I can do the 1/4 pepcid and I just syringed 1/2 jar of turkey baby food into her.
 
Re: Meadow PMPS 70..bad day...Advice needed by 7pm!

chriscleo said:
what's the situation with the pred? she only gets it on certain days?

Right, she gets 2.5mg every other day. It keep sher asthma under control and iof she flairs up, we add an extra 2.5mg.
 
Re: Meadow PMPS 70..bad day...Advice needed by 7pm!

got it (edited my post just as you posted, looks like). just didn't see pred on spreadsheet today.
ketones can creep in with insufficient insulin and inappetance, so esp with a gentler insulin like lantus/lev i'd not reduce by more than 0.25u at your dose.
 
Re: Meadow PMPS 70..bad day...Advice needed by 7pm!

I think you can shoot either 0.5 or 0.75.

Just a quick additional question... Meadow had a 39 at AM +4 on 7/15. Was there a reason you didn't reduce the dose or did you opt not to because of the skipped shot that evening?
 
Re: Meadow PMPS 70..bad day...Advice needed by 7pm!

Okay, she's got 1/2 jar of baby food, a few pieces of plain cooked chicken and maybe a tsp of FF juice from a chunky chicken can. She also got her pred and theo ealrier and a 1/4 pepcid ac. Gave her a fat .50 dose and will recheck her in 35 minutes. I am just so nervous that she may be having pancreatitis again. Thank you all for responding so quickly.
Good God...will I EVER get this FD stuff down right and stop being such a nervous nellie about it all??? I feel like such a failure and bad catmommy for leaving the house today when she obviously wasn't feeling well. :sad:
 
Re: Meadow PMPS 70..bad day...Advice needed by 7pm!

Sienne and Gabby said:
I think you can shoot either 0.5 or 0.75.

Just a quick additional question... Meadow had a 39 at AM +4 on 7/15. Was there a reason you didn't reduce the dose or did you opt not to because of the skipped shot that evening?

Sienne, I shot a fat .50 tonight. And I did reduce the dose from a double fat 1u down to a strict 1u after that 39. Are you thinking I should go lower?
 
Re: Meadow PMPS 70..bad day...Advice needed by 7pm!

awww, stuff happens.
you are being a GREAT mommy. remember most people only rely on what vet says (if that) and don't go as far as we do to make sure our kitties are healthy.
pancreatitis is a real bear to add to the mix (apologies, bears). cleo has it, too.
for it we give fluids, injectable pepcid, and buprenex (bupe). it is very tough because kitties mask feeling unwell so much that we don't always know when they're starting a flare.
 
Re: Meadow PMPS 70..bad day...Advice needed by 7pm!

Dottie, you're doing great. This isn't easy stuff. It's a complicated disease, and you're managing a lot for Meadow. Sounds to me like you arranged a lot of good care for Meadow in your absence. Last I checked, beans are not able to stare at their kitties 24/7, and someone here would stop you if you could! :lol:

Hugs
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 309 PMPS 70...not feeling well today

Feel better Meadow - OK? I think you are doing fine too - it's all overwhelming at times, and all we can do it treat and manage the best we can. I do hope she feels better soon.
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 309 PMPS 70...not feeling well just vomited it

She just vomited up everything she ate 1/2 hour ago. She got her insulin and now has no food on board. What do I do now?? Going to check her BG again now.
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 309 PMPS 70...not feeling well just vomited it

She's at 80 right now. 45mins post shot.

Meadow said:
She just vomited up everything she ate 1/2 hour ago. She got her insulin and now has no food on board. What do I do now?? Going to check her BG again now.
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 309 PMPS 70...not feeling well just vomited it

you have some time to get food into her before the insulin kicks in. Did you give her a pepcid? If not, then that might be a good idea, then some more baby food or plain chicken, whatever she'll eat. Test again too, just in case she is dropping after vomiting.

eta: ok, I saw that you tested. Good, she's not dropping yet.
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 309 PMPS 70...not feeling well just vomited it

I would also give food in small amounts. 1/2 jar may have been too much. When Gabby's stomach was off (vomiting and diarrhea), I was feeding maybe a syringe or two at a time, or a fingerful or two at a time. I'd let it settle and then feed again.

Also, give the Pepsid some time to work.
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 309 PMPS 70...not feeling well just vomited it

you might want to give the pepcid and then wait around 30 minutes before feeding.
that usually works with alex...
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 309 PMPS 70...not feeling well just vomited it

Sienne and Gabby said:
I would also give food in small amounts. 1/2 jar may have been too much. When Gabby's stomach was off (vomiting and diarrhea), I was feeding maybe a syringe or two at a time, or a fingerful or two at a time. I'd let it settle and then feed again.

Also, give the Pepsid some time to work.

She had the pepcid before she vomited, so I assume she won't get any benefit from it since she most likely vomited it up with everything else. Okay, I will try a bit of baby food at 9pm and test first. I have a feeling this is going to be a long night. :YMSIGH: What happens with the shot tomorrow morning if she still can't keep anything down?
 
Re: Meadow PMPS 70 +2~54...won't eat a thing!

I'm going a bit crazy here..... She's 54 at the +2 mark. Opened 7 different foods and even offered Temptations which she LOVES...but she walks away from all food. I got 75cc squids in her and one syringe (6ml) of baby food laced with the juice from 9-Lives gravy food. Now she just went into the litterbox and offered up the strangest colored poop I have ever seen. It was a very bright pinkish/orange....almost like a salmon color...and it had a weird consistency, sort of a jellyish foam. Hard to describe because I have never seen this before. I took a sample and it will go to the vet tomorrow along with her. Will try to get another 6ml syringe of food in to her in about 15 minutes or so. I am trying very hard to keep my composure right now.
 
Re: Meadow PMPS 70 +2~54....Won't eat a thing!

Angels & Prayers coming to help you tonight Please surround Meadow with your Beautiful Green light Bring her healing and help mommy stay calm AMEN Kath
 
Re: Meadow PMPS 70 +2~54....Won't eat a thing!

if she really won't eat, then you can always squirt some Karo in with a syringe. You could mix some syrup with your next syringe feeding to keep her from dropping.
 
Re: Meadow PMPS 70 +2~54....Won't eat a thing!

Libby and Lucy said:
if she really won't eat, then you can always squirt some Karo in with a syringe. You could mix some syrup with your next syringe feeding to keep her from dropping.

Thanks Libby. That's what I did. Just took anothe rbg and she's at 58. Got another 6ml of food in her. Let's see if she keeps it down. Her tummy obviously hurts because she is sitting in the meatloaf position. :sad:
 
I have no idea how this night is going to play out. She can't seem to keep even a syringe of food down. Have no idea what's going on with her. We'll be at the vet first thing in the morning. I'm so worried about her. What will this do to her bg's if she can't keep food down?? :cry:
 
she threw up the food you just gave her?

You'll have to keep testing BG, unfortunately. She could drop, without food on board. Remember you can also run syrup on her gums. That will get it into her without it having to go through her digestive system.
 
Hey Meadow!
Try to keep your food on board, OK? You are making your momma bean worry.

Purrcie


Hey Dottie,
I'm checking in hoping for some good news and sending prayers and healing vines your way. Maybe that weird poo got whatever out of her system that is bothering her.
 
Not keeping anything down. I am very concerned and will be at the vet with her in the morning when they open. Something is very very worng here. :cry:

Libby and Lucy said:
she threw up the food you just gave her?

You'll have to keep testing BG, unfortunately. She could drop, without food on board. Remember you can also run syrup on her gums. That will get it into her without it having to go through her digestive system.
 
You could give another 1/4 tab of the Pepsid. A half of a tablet is the max dose. If you think she threw up the first dose, it's probably OK to give another 1/4.

This sounds a lot like what Gabby had about 5 or 6 weeks ago. The Pepsid did wonders to settle her stomach.

If she's literally not keeping anything down, you might want to consider a trip to the ER vet. If that's a consideration, I'd hold on giving any Pepsid. They will have an injectible form that may be a better choice.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
how far away is your ER vet? Just in case...

ER vet is only about 6 minutes away. But I really don't feel comfortable with them or the skills of their techs. I'd like to try to get her through tonight and then to my regular vet tomorrow morning.
I am going to give her another 1/4 tab pepcid and a dose of odansetron(sp?). Hopefully that will help so she can at least keep a little food down.
 
Have you given Pepsid and Ondansetron in combination before? I'd probably give one or the other, but not both. I believe the ondansetron is a bigger gun than the Pepsid.
 
+3~59

I'm glad the vet is so close. It's a long time til nadir, so you'll want to stay on top of it. I would give some syrup now, to try to get her into a more comfortable range while waiting for her to eat. If you can't syringe it, then rub it on her gums.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Have you given Pepsid and Ondansetron in combination before? I'd probably give one or the other, but not both. I believe the ondansetron is a bigger gun than the Pepsid.

Yes Sienne, both she and Munchkin have had both at the same time.....Munchie when she was having chemo and Meadow during her last severe bout of pancreatitis. I gave her only 3ml of babyfood mixed with some kayro this time. Let's see if it stays down.
 
Angels & Prayers coming to help you both throught the night Beautiful Green Healing light surrounds you both >>>Keep believing she will be alright ...You will be alright I pray it will be an easy night and no big drops..I pray Meadow will keep some food down to make it easier on her little tummy Thank you Lord Kath
 
I was looking at your spreadsheet, and realized that the 59 was at +4, not +3. That makes me feel a little better. It has been 1/2 hour, how about another test? And did the food stay down so far?
 
we do ondansetron and pepcid both. cleo gets injectable pepcid BID and either ondansetron, anzemet, or cerenia SID.

any hi carb food with gravy in the house? just a lick may do the trick better for you.

with stomach trouble literally give 1 or 2 fingers with baby food on them only once every 10 min. let her wait for her food. that should stir up hunger & help her keep it down better.

color/consistency of poo may be merely from food going out before being digested.

any yogurt or probiotics in the house? you could syringe them in if she won't take them off your finger.

her number may be high in the morning and dose may not be an issue. take it as it comes. i'm sorry she's not feeling well. believe me, many of us have been thru this. really sucks. hope she's better soon.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
I was looking at your spreadsheet, and realized that the 59 was at +4, not +3. That makes me feel a little better. It has been 1/2 hour, how about another test? And did the food stay down so far?


So far the 3ml has stayed down. Will try another 3ml now. Latest bg is 54. Going down again. :(
She also pooped on the rug in my bedroom....she has never ever pooped anywhere but in the box up to now.
 
is the 54 at +5?

I would do another test 30 minutes after the 3mL. Hopefully she'll turn upward soon.

Was the poop on the rug more normal, or still the weird color? She must have a tummyache. :sad:
 
most suggestions posted so far seem to be leaning towards treating pancreatitis. fair enough, since she's had a history of pancreatitis. but just to be safe, you're sure she hasn't eaten anything forbidden? plants, string, etc? if there's any doubt about that at all, please take her in to the ER tonight.
 
Yes Libby, +5 she's 54. ok, will do another test 30mins from last. Want to give this latest 3ml of food time to kick in. Poop was still odd color and semi-loose. Breaking my heart to see her like this. :(

Libby and Lucy said:
is the 54 at +5?

I would do another test 30 minutes after the 3mL. Hopefully she'll turn upward soon.

Was the poop on the rug more normal, or still the weird color? She must have a tummyache. :sad:
 
WCF and Meowzi said:
most suggestions posted so far seem to be leaning towards treating pancreatitis. fair enough, since she's had a history of pancreatitis. but just to be safe, you're sure she hasn't eaten anything forbidden? plants, string, etc? if there's any doubt about that at all, please take her in to the ER tonight.

If I had any doubts about that, she wouls have been at the ER hours ago. It's only me and hubby here and our house is thoroughly cat-proofed. No chance she got into anything forboten.
 
Thank you to everyone who stayed with me so far. Just did the +6 and she's up to 66. So far the last 2 feedings of 3ml babyfood laced with HC gravy and a bit of kayro has stayed down. I am going to go lie down for awhile as I am exhausted but will have the alarm set to wake me in 2 hours. I think she will be ok for 2 hours. Thanks again everyone!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top