Meadow AMPS 177...I messed up!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meadow

Member Since 2010
This morning at 6am Meadow's AMPS was 177. So I gave her breakfast and then got distracted because my head is not in the right place today being the 1st yr anniversary of Munchkin's passing. So Meadow's insulin completely slipped my mind and I left for work. When I returned at 9am, I retested her and the bg was 298..3 hrs after eating. So I gave her the 1.25u because I did not want to skip a dose again since her BG's are not that horrible right now. Looks like now we are back on the 9am/9pm split. I feel so guilty for missing the am dose! Retested at 11:15am and her bg was 240.

Link to yesterday's condo.http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16613
 
We all have tough mornings and this one sounds especially difficult for you. Don't beat yourself up over the late shot. You will get back on track. Take the day to remember all the good times you had with Munchkin. I hope your day improves!
 
It happens to all of us. We chalk it up to life - ya know.

Don't fret it and honestly no harm done. Even if you totally skipped the shot all you would have done is deplete the shed. And you would start over rebuilding it is all.

No harm, no foul - seriously - stuff happens.
 
Goodness! It has had to have happened to every single person at LEAST once!
I like to call it "life happens" So what if the times are a bit off now; plans can be made to work back to where you prefer to be. Meadow got her insulin and everything will be fine; don't worry.

What you can do is think of some ways to put reminders for yourself so you are less likely to forget again.

I have one civvie who eats ONLY DRY FOODS. When I am home, it's on a counter top that the others don't get on and when I go out, I put a big bowl over top. So I don't forget the bowl of the kitty krack, I have a sign taped to the apt door right by the turny lock thing. It says:
COVER DRY FOODS!

I don't forget now :lol:
 
Gayle and Shadoe said:
I have a sign taped to the apt door right by the turny lock thing. It says:
COVER DRY FOODS!
I don't forget now :lol:

LOL Gayle. As soo as I gave her the insulin at 9am, I posyed sticky notes on the cabinets and front door as well. I even put one on my dashboard of the bus. Now I just have to remember to look at them! :lol:
 
:lol: Gayle - yup Ive seen that sign in person! lol

there's so much to try to remember, as a newbie once, I had my kitchen walls plastered with notes, don't forget this, don't forget that, hypo list, pics of syringe measurements,,,geesh! and ya, I forgot some things too :lol:

it happens like everyone says, but you'll get back on track! :razz:
 
Everyone forgets stuff. Or at least I hops so, because if not, we're all in trouble at my house!

It is awfully frustrating when the schedule gets messed up, I know. But you can slide back to your normal time a little bit at a time. Meadow told Basil that she is very impressed that she was able to make you feel so guilty Cats like to do that once in a while. It's like a pop quiz and you passed with flying colors!
 
Aww, don't beat yourself up. We have all done it!! And Meadow's AMPS was very lovely indeed. You'll get back on track. :mrgreen:
 
Dottie,

There was a few times that I took Sara's bg and than spaced the shot out. I happen to be home so I could give it late. I usually try to be 12/12 so when I realised it I was like OMG how could I forget. I think Sara's care has become so routine to me that it is easy to get distracted. Its happened to all of us.

Just start moving your shot back 15min each cycle and in no time you'll be back on track. Meadow's bg's will even out. Don't you worry.

My thoughts are with you on your loss of Munchkin. We especially miss them on the anniversary of their passing. No wonder you had your mind on other things.

It will be fine.

jan and sara
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top