Me & Spike are new to all this...BG Question

Phew! Let's see if he keeps sliding down towards tonight. I'm inclined to hold the 1.75U and give him a few cycles to even out, but if he goes back up at shot time 2U may be ok as well
 
Phew! Let's see if he keeps sliding down towards tonight. I'm inclined to hold the 1.75U and give him a few cycles to even out, but if he goes back up at shot time 2U may be ok as well
Back up to 307 @+9.....Hmmmmm?!?!?!?
 
Looks like a bounce. I don't think he went much lower than 150-160 today, so I'd say 2U should be ok from here on out if you're comfortable with that
 
I am. Leaving. Hurch and will b home by 7:30 cst. I'm assuming he will. Limb to upper 300's. If so, then the full 2u or ? Pls advise. Try to get u a bg at shot time ....gotta rush home now....
 
Looks like a bounce. I don't think he went much lower than 150-160 today, so I'd say 2U should be ok from here on out if you're comfortable with that
He just tested his PMPS at 380. You thinking the 2.0u is the way to procees tonite?
 
PMPS is 380, so following our plan and just gave him 2.0u. When do u think his nadir is happening? Seems to me that it moves around a bit...ECID...lol

I'm also not educated on it enough to know what the effects of how we have had to alter his dose almost every shot for the past 3 days.

@FrostD
 
Unfortunately don't know when nadir is, ProZinc is most often +4 to +6 but every cat is different.

Let's hold 2U for the next few cycles (as long as above 200) and let him settle down. He's bouncing today, and usually when that happens it's a later nadir in the following cycle (possibly what happened yesterday, he broke the bounce starting the night before and had a long slide down).
 
Yes ma'am and thank you. That actually makes sense to me at this point. I'm very comfortable with 2.0u as long as his PS number is about 200 tomorrow, which due to time change will actually be about +11.75 hrs in real shot time. I'll check him at +4 b4 I go to bed. If the AMPS is for some reason below 200, I'm assuming he will need a reduced shot. I can't stall too long if that occurs as my boss wants me at work by 8am tomorrow. If below 200 I'll just have to make a judgment call but will err on the side of caution, of course.

I'll keep his SS updated but a couple of times it would only let me "view only", and that got frustrating. The Google sheets app said "anonymous jack..." was currently viewing my SS. I rebooted my phone and it then allowed me to edit the SS... go figure.
 
03/13/2022. His AMPS was 314 so it looks like he will get 2.0u this morning. Thank you @FrostD as I feel that this is a safe dose since he has bounced around the past 48/72 hrs, the time change is ruff on us all, and I can't seem to test him while he's in nadir & it makes me wanna kick myself.

I'll get home around 3:30 pm and have him at vet at.4:30pm (@+9.5) for his 1st followup bloodwork....and to explain to vet that I'm a dedicated "Cat Daddy" who is in this to win this. I'll ask about the Urinary wet purina and her suggestions...BTW, cat & dog food shelf here in Northeast Texas are quite bare these days and it's scary. It feels like soon we will all stand in front of empty stores like old photos of the USSR.
 
Spike saw the Vet today and got a BG of 152 at +9.5 hrs there in the Vets lab. The vet said that we did good by setting his new dose at 2.0u if above 200 BG level.

Now we are home and his PMPS is 148. I'll test again in 15 minutes, but need advise on a reduced dose if it doesn't come up significantly. I can't understand why it's lower now. I fed him a tablespoon of wet food at +11 when we got home as he seemed to be starving (and as a Lil treat).

@FrostD
@Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Hi Lee I'm not familiar with Prozinc or feel comfortable giving advice about doses
I'll try tagging Melissa again for you
@FrostD
I don't think she is on here right now. I can't decide either no dose at all or a reduced dose. I'll have to leave for work by about 7:45am cst in the morning and don't want to get extremely off schedule unless I am supposed to just skip tonight entirely. The "Newbie Panics" is what I got right now...lol
 
So you're an hour late now...your choice. I would try 0.5-1U. 1U didn't hold him down as much as I'd hoped the other night but he was rising much more rapidly. 0.5U more conservative and better chance of sleep for you.

I probably won't be on in time in the morning, but I'd say same thing. If he's low again, skip or up to 0.75U depending on number and comfort level
 
Also, sorry I wasn't on earlier. I can't get on til kids are in bed and time change/daylight change has them messed up too
 
So you're an hour late now...your choice. I would try 0.75-1U. 1U didn't hold him down as much as I'd hoped the other night but he was rising much more rapidly. 0.75U more conservative and better chance of sleep for you.

I probably won't be on in time in the morning, but I'd say same thing. If he's low again, skip or up to 0.75U depending on number and comfort level
181 BG at 8:30pm. Aka +13.25 hrs...pls advise.
 
Really concerned how this will effect his AMPS at about 7:15 or 7:30 tomorrow morning.
 
Just gave him about 0.6u to 0.7u at 8:45pm aka +13.75 hrs. Thank you so much.

In other news, my vet was impressed with FDMB, the spreadsheet, and our decisions regarding Spike....and I owe y'all so very much.♡♡♡
 
181 BG at 8:30pm. Aka +13.25 hrs...pls advise.
Advice still stands, I had a feeling he wouldn't go up that much ;)

I did factor in the time difference when considering the dose, so fingers crossed. Always a bit unpredictable when the dry food carbs work their way out, plus he likes the long slides down
 
Just gave him about 0.6u to 0.7u at 8:45pm aka +13.75 hrs. Thank you so much.

In other news, my vet was impressed with FDMB, the spreadsheet, and our decisions regarding Spike....and I owe y'all so very much.♡♡♡
Awesome! Sounds like you've got a vet willing to work with you, which is the most important thing
 
Advice still stands, I had a feeling he wouldn't go up that much ;)

I did factor in the time difference when considering the dose, so fingers crossed. Always a bit unpredictable when the dry food carbs work their way out, plus he likes the long slides down
How long does it take dry food carbs to clear their system. He hasn't touched kibble since like Wednesday or so.
 
How long does it take dry food carbs to clear their system. He hasn't touched kibble since like Wednesday or so.
Anecdotally, about a week. It's a bit hard to tell right now what his normal trend is vs what's bounces/breaks/changing dose vs what may/may not be carbs. Should become more clear in the next few days, and hopefully we can get a dose that's shootable both AM and PM
 
It was hard to eyeball that shot. Plunged was past the. 5u mark but I wouldn't call it .75u either. Hopefully, spike and I will b back on track by 7:15 or so in the morning...and that these changes won't make him sick. I'm not too worried about hypo due to the speed his bg was climbing by +13 hrs...I HATE this bouncing around stuff. He definitely fasted since about 3pm cst due to his trip to the vet today.
 
I get it! Takes a bit to figure them out. The more I look, the more it seems like he has a late nadir and a bit longer than usual duration (when his dose is close to correct). That will make things a bit interesting, we have one other cat here right now I can think of like that
 
Spikes AMPS was at 275 today at 7am (+12) so I am giving his 2u normal dose.
I hope we can get on track and have normal nadir that don't go too low today, as I'll be at work until about 5pm.
 
Many thanks for holding my hand thru all these lil learning experiences, @FrostD.

The vet said she'd actually had a couple dog owners chart BG, but never a cat parent has shown this amount of dedication in her experience. I told her that she and I are both Alumni of Tarleton State University. so you know I'm gonna study the material for Spike. She said that your advice of 2.0u as his new normal dose was perfectly on target and would have been her advice if she had seen Spikes SS. A MILLION THANK AND GOD BLESS YOU'S Melissa!!! I showed her FDMB and she seemed amazed that their are thousands of us. She read this thread & part of the Prozinc dosing page and she said, "y'all got this"!!! Spikes next appointment is March 28th. @ 4:30pm & she said she would run a full lab to check blood ketone BUN & everything else. She is a big believer in AminaVast ×1/day as his numbers Bun etc is slightly elevated.
 
I will accept the pat on the back :smuggrin:

SS isn't updating for me, not sure if it's my phone or you haven't had a chance, but where was he at tonight?
 
161 @+6.75 and 449 @AMPS. AMPS WAS at +12.50 hrs as I overslept. I also believe he got into sum kibble that I put down for other cats that I bet they didn't finish but Spike did...a bad mistake on my part.

Ss now says "view only" but my permissions are that I'm the owner and can make changes. It's acting hinky!!!

I gave the usual 2.0u.
@FrostD
 
Okie dokie hopefully just a bounce and he comes back down. Possibly another lower PMPS tonight, we'll see
I've had nothing but problems with "view only" mode since I started using Google Sheets on my phone and using this SS. I check the sharing options and I'm the SS owner, but it locks me out sumtimes. I'll keep you updated one way or another though.

Yes, it was my stupid fault. Woke up at 2am, checked his BG & it was a nice comfortable 161. I let my barn kitties in and they begged for the Iams UTH as they all love it. I meant to pick it back up in 10 minutes while Spike was oblivious lounging on my bed...but I went back and straight-up crashed back out next to him. Woke up this AM late and the kitchen bowl was empty and Spike was happily washing his face with his paw!. Pretty sure I knew what happened..lol. already running late, I took him back to my room & tested and got that whopping 449 BG reading @+12.5 hours for his AMPS. Hopefully, he won't pay a heavy price for my screw-up during the day while I'm trucking, or tonight when we test again. That 2.0u hopefully was the correct shot to give.

YOU ARE AWESUM, how you r on here helping so many of us newbies on all the different forums and many threads. Your advice is kind, clear and correct (according to my Vet...lol). I see how you advocate for the "patient" at all times...just like I would if I could.

A million thank you's♡♡♡
 
You are welcome! I can't be in as much as I like, but I try. As for advice, we all do the best we can, but sometimes gets a little tricky. The further you get into this you'll start to see his patterns and know what to do
 
Back
Top