Max...officially all over the board 5/4

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, I was planning to start over with his dosing today (I had no ketostix last night and was scared to start without those). Yesterday, his numbers were as follows:

AMPS 430, 1.5u, 1 can FF
AMPS +6 347, 1 can FF
PMPS 409, 1.5u, 1 can FF
11pm he got 1 last can of FF

Then this morning's whammy....AMPS 178

I obviously did not shoot this morning yet. He is eating now and has been acting like he is starving. He came into the bedroom this morning and laid on my head to let me know it was chow down time. :lol:

So I'll retest after he eats and see what his numbers are then. Any other advice? Should I still do a curve on him tomorrow at every 2 hrs or is it fruitless until I lower the dose for a week?
 
Good morning, Sandy -

This probably doesn't help you now, but I was always advised to 1) retest when you get a reading like that and 2) withhold the food - wait :15 - :20 and retest, so you're not shooting into the food.

I'd take a 178PS all day long; hope y'all have a great day!! You can still do a curve, depending on what you're trying to see. But, I'd probably wait until you had lowered your dose for a few days at least.

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
I wouldn't mind the 178 if it hadn't come behind the 400 numbers I was getting yesterday. I thought that was bad....I have already fed him. GREAT! :?
 
You have NO idea how many times I have done something, then gotten word from somebody that I probably shouldn't have done it. (I smack myself in the forehead a lot ;-) ) If you test again before the food has a chance to get into his system, then it should be fine. Have you re-tested, yet? Worst case scenario, you reduce your dose, if you think it's food inflated or even delay/skip a shot.
 
No worries. Now we are sure he needs a reduction!

Sometimes if the cat is getting too much insulin, it takes a while and then BAM, you get a low number. This happens faster when people are really giving a lot - like 4 units twice a day, but also sometimes happens with smaller doses like yours. Or it may be that the food finally kicked in.

Regardless, good news. Will you be around to test after the food is not influencing the number and shoot late(without messing up your 12/12 schedule) or do you need to skip? If you skip, just expect a higher number this pm and don't react to it. It will be because he has gone a whole cycle without insulin. You still need to reduce the dose a little, because you got a number too low to shoot this am and because he could have gone low overnight.

We'll get this figured out. Remember, it's GOOD news!

PS. Aren't you glad you are testing? :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top