Yong & Maury GA
Very Active Member
Forget the exact last time I weighed Maury but finally put new batteries in the scale. 12.8 -13lbs 

.Don't have a heart attack ladies!It's an experiment. I'm here with him
![]()
Don't have a heart attack ladies!It's an experiment. I'm here with him
![]()
No no, it's fine! I don't need another one lol. Oddly enough, he's higher at this point than the other night after NS. I'm hoping it will help prevent an AMPS >350 (anti-jinx)@Bobbie And Bubba time for another award giveaway!
Ill say! I'm on my iPhone so don't have access to the BOS. Looks like he's all ready on the rise. A real testimony on knowing thy cat.@Bobbie And Bubba time for another award giveaway!
Chuck really didn't show many symptoms. He did pee more often with smaller amounts. He want eating all of his food at once. He started to do this again but I'm thinking it's from better numbers. His numbers were not good but he was on prozinc then.Ok Maury, time to get those AM cycles working.
Ran to the store shortly after his PM dose, got home and came downstairs only to smell urine. He peed on the floor. On a positive side it's not as dark as it was when he did it before diagnosis, nor as sticky (not full of sugar). He also did the butt scoot after using the facilities after eating. So I have to wonder if this action tonight and his day cycles are telling me a Vet visit is in order. I would expect both cycles to be wonky if he was getting a UTI. Not looking forward to contacting the Vet because they'll probably ask about his diabetes. I still have not thought of a polite way to say "I don't want your dosing advice"
@StephG maybe you can chime in. I forget if Chuck showed you any signs or if it's because you happened to do that urinalysis test strip just in time. I don't know if I can afford them yet. Maury needs more test strips soon and people on E-bay sucked up all the 100-ct I was buying for ~$25. They would be cheaper than a Vet visit and less stressful but if they confirm my suspicion, I'll still have to take him in
. Looking forward to your insight ladies!
![]()
He has done the butt scoot if a "present" gets caught on his "starfish"
You stood your ground, Yong!Maury weighed in at 13.2lbs so the Vet was happy he hadn't lost any weight. Glad to see his neuropathy improving but still noticed his hind legs lower than a normal kitty, which I told her I was aware of but since he developed it back to front, it's probably going to reverse front to back like he's shown. Tried to convince me my human glucometer wasn't a great idea because of the variation. Urinalysis came back clear, US on his bladder showed no crystals. She wanted to give him Covena antibiotic shot and wasn't thrilled when I said I would prefer him not to have that. Said she can't guarantee nothing is starting and to keep an eye on him, might just be behaviour issue which I also took into consideration. She gladly wrote him a Rx for Lantus and probably can't wait to tell me "I told you so" if he does better on it. She would prefer his nadir around 150. Kind of ignored me when I asked her if she heard of Lantus protocols
. I'll just be keeping an eye on him as usual but glad I had him checked.
RIGHT?!?! That's why I refused because if he should need them, there's a chance they won't work as well when he actually needs them. If I start Lantus, it won't be til July? I think? lolWow. "Your cat has no infection, so HERE...have some antibiotic!!!"
When are you starting the Lantus?
Don't encourage meIf she says I told you so...kick her! Just kidding![]()
I have never had any problems with Covenia and I have used it many times, but I would rather have an AB site specific or organ specific. I have a feral cat and Covenia has been a life safer many times because I cannot pill her. Glad that good looking man is doing alright.Maury weighed in at 13.2lbs so the Vet was happy he hadn't lost any weight. Glad to see his neuropathy improving but still noticed his hind legs lower than a normal kitty, which I told her I was aware of but since he developed it back to front, it's probably going to reverse front to back like he's shown. Tried to convince me my human glucometer wasn't a great idea because of the variation. Urinalysis came back clear, US on his bladder showed no crystals. She wanted to give him Covena antibiotic shot and wasn't thrilled when I said I would prefer him not to have that. Said she can't guarantee nothing is starting and to keep an eye on him, might just be behaviour issue which I also took into consideration. She gladly wrote him a Rx for Lantus and probably can't wait to tell me "I told you so" if he does better on it. She would prefer his nadir around 150. Kind of ignored me when I asked her if she heard of Lantus protocols
. I'll just be keeping an eye on him as usual but glad I had him checked.
Has Maury ever had bouts of cystitis before with no evidence of infection or crystals? These bouts can be stress-related inflammatory responses. Teasel was plagued with those pre-FD.Thanks for you insight, Teresa. Like I said the other reason I said no was because there was no sign of infection or crystals. Hopefully it was just behaviour, and a short lived behaviour!![]()
To be honest, Kris, I wouldn't know if he has or not. Reading about some symptoms associated with bladder inflammation and I'm leaning towards no. I'm going to try cleaning his boxes twice a day to see if that makes him happierHas Maury ever had bouts of cystitis before with no evidence of infection or crystals? These bouts can be stress-related inflammatory responses. Teasel was plagued with those pre-FD.
You were right to say no since there was no sign of infection or crystals. The last time I took Buddy to see his vet, he related to me that most people have a really hard time giving a cat a pill, so most want a shot (convenia). I told him there was no problems with Buddy taking a pill, so he gave Buddy pills the last time. I hope it is short lived behaviour for Maury.Thanks for you insight, Teresa. Like I said the other reason I said no was because there was no sign of infection or crystals. Hopefully it was just behaviour, and a short lived behaviour!![]()
That's why I took Maury in so I wanted to be proactive and get confirmationFreya had Convenia once with no apparent issues. However, I wasn't actually aware of what the shot was until after it was given. The vet hadn't even confirmed any infection anywhere.I was pretty upset afterwards. I'd brought her in because I thought she might have some sort of bladder or urinary issues, and she's had bladder stones removed in the past. The vet was just like, "eh, probably infection" and gave her the shot. Ugh.
I think as opposed to 80s or 90s here on human meter. Given the 150 is probably AT2. I still think it would be better for a nadir around 100 on AT2, not the higher end of normal BG.She wants his nadir around 150, as opposed to what?
My vet gave me a range for good BG of 5 to 9 on an AT meter - translates to about 90 to 160 in US units.I think as opposed to 80s or 90s here on human meter. Given the 150 is probably AT2. I still think it would be better for a nadir around 100 on AT2, not the higher end of normal BG.
I have a hard time pinpointing when Teasel's nadir is most of the time.So maybe aiming for 120 on the human meter? (the higher end of what we call the healthy range?). I wonder if we aimed a little higher for the bouncy kitties if it would help at all? And then as the overall numbers come down, maybe start nudging it down a bit at that point? Might be something to consider: if you called a "good" cycle one with a nadir around 120 instead of trying to hit green, if it would make any difference in getting more consistent numbers?
Although looking at Maury's numbers, I'm not sure that would make much difference since it seems like he's around that mid100's to mid-200's range at nadir anyway....except for when he suddenly drops - and I don't think there's much you can do about that. Except maybe set up a playdate with Timmy and Susan!