Maury - Month 5

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm DYING to see how he's doing this morning! Yes, definitely a testimony to knowing thy cat. :)
 
I do not understand how Maury has such consistent AMPS's and such utterly unpredictable evening cycles!
 
Pulled out the HC gravy lovers because I'm trying not to fall asleep :smuggrin:. Might not update til the morning, don't worry about us though. I won't let anything happen to my boy
rub.gif
 
I was so tired last night, of course when he does this! Woke up feeling :blackeye:, took care of him and went back for a cat nap. Maury joined me :cat:. ON THE BRIGHT SIDE! We didn't get a terrible bounce! :woot: and I'm ok if he's running a little flat today.
 
The SF doses are back!!! Those crack me up. Although totally appropriate considering how he reacts to even the slightest change! Hopefully you feel better with some rest!
 
Ok Maury, time to get those AM cycles working.
Ran to the store shortly after his PM dose, got home and came downstairs only to smell urine. He peed on the floor :(:arghh:. On a positive side it's not as dark as it was when he did it before diagnosis, nor as sticky (not full of sugar). He also did the butt scoot after using the facilities after eating. So I have to wonder if this action tonight and his day cycles are telling me a Vet visit is in order. I would expect both cycles to be wonky if he was getting a UTI. Not looking forward to contacting the Vet because they'll probably ask about his diabetes. I still have not thought of a polite way to say "I don't want your dosing advice" :smuggrin:

@StephG maybe you can chime in. I forget if Chuck showed you any signs or if it's because you happened to do that urinalysis test strip just in time. I don't know if I can afford them yet. Maury needs more test strips soon and people on E-bay sucked up all the 100-ct I was buying for ~$25 :(. They would be cheaper than a Vet visit and less stressful but if they confirm my suspicion, I'll still have to take him in :facepalm:. Looking forward to your insight ladies!:D
 
Ok Maury, time to get those AM cycles working.
Ran to the store shortly after his PM dose, got home and came downstairs only to smell urine. He peed on the floor :(:arghh:. On a positive side it's not as dark as it was when he did it before diagnosis, nor as sticky (not full of sugar). He also did the butt scoot after using the facilities after eating. So I have to wonder if this action tonight and his day cycles are telling me a Vet visit is in order. I would expect both cycles to be wonky if he was getting a UTI. Not looking forward to contacting the Vet because they'll probably ask about his diabetes. I still have not thought of a polite way to say "I don't want your dosing advice" :smuggrin:

@StephG maybe you can chime in. I forget if Chuck showed you any signs or if it's because you happened to do that urinalysis test strip just in time. I don't know if I can afford them yet. Maury needs more test strips soon and people on E-bay sucked up all the 100-ct I was buying for ~$25 :(. They would be cheaper than a Vet visit and less stressful but if they confirm my suspicion, I'll still have to take him in :facepalm:. Looking forward to your insight ladies!:D
Chuck really didn't show many symptoms. He did pee more often with smaller amounts. He want eating all of his food at once. He started to do this again but I'm thinking it's from better numbers. His numbers were not good but he was on prozinc then.
Maybe you can get your vet to do a urinalysis for you if you can get a sample to take in? The scooting is something my civvie does when he gets a UTI or crystals. Usually right after going pee.
I've been told he on the forum that the strips aren't reliable. My vet uses them so as the first line of defense I test if I think something is going on then discuss with the vet.
As for the FD progress and their input you could tell them you forgot the spreadsheet at home. Or just show them the spreadsheet and maybe they'll realize you know what you're doing and get on board.
 
When Teasel had bladder issues, he'd pee small amounts of often blood-tinged, mucus-y urine in the bathtub, outside the litter box and in other inappropriate areas. He did a lot of bum licking and would get very vocal, wanting my attention. Only rarely were his episodes associated with an actual UTI. They were mostly "sterile cystitis" and I (fingers crossed!) haven't had any more of these to deal with since his FD diagnosis and addition of water to every wet food meal. His were likely stress-related too and he gets so much attention from me now with shots and testing that it seems to have satisfied his emotional needs. He's always been an attention hog.
 
My GA boy was the only one to have UTI and ended up having a perineal urethrostomy but he had obvious symptoms. I wouldn't want Maury to have to have that so I'm trying to be proactive about it :). I was thinking of showing the my SS, wait to be scorned for his unofficially regulated numbers, and kindly explain through all of the craziness of his numbers I know my cat and I have a support group of highly experienced people with their own sugar babies using the same insulin, still including Kris and Steph :D.

He has done the butt scoot if a "present" gets caught on his "starfish"
laughing02.gif
but last night, since he had poo'd I checked and no sign. I don't think he's been cleaning his bum more than usual but I will keep an eye out for that. Re-reading about symptoms now. Did notice a few tiny pee cakes a couple days ago (of course it wasn't a tiny puddle for his "accident"). Either way, sounds like you both agree I should probably have him checked. Thank you :)
 
Getting it checked will, if nothing else, make you feel better! We've had plenty of issues like this in my house (sadly) so I know what it's like! Let us know how things go tomorrow!
 
I was so impressed with how HANDSOME !!! Maury was in his Birthday picture. Buddy weighs 13lbs and today he took 5.4u of Prozinc, Maury weighs around the same but a lot of difference in dose. Hope things went well at the vet and Maury has no problems.
 
Maury weighed in at 13.2lbs so the Vet was happy he hadn't lost any weight. Glad to see his neuropathy improving but still noticed his hind legs lower than a normal kitty, which I told her I was aware of but since he developed it back to front, it's probably going to reverse front to back like he's shown. Tried to convince me my human glucometer wasn't a great idea because of the variation. Urinalysis came back clear, US on his bladder showed no crystals. She wanted to give him Covenia antibiotic shot and wasn't thrilled when I said I would prefer him not to have that. Said she can't guarantee nothing is starting and to keep an eye on him, might just be behaviour issue which I also took into consideration. She gladly wrote him a Rx for Lantus and probably can't wait to tell me "I told you so" if he does better on it :arghh:. She would prefer his nadir around 150. Kind of ignored me when I asked her if she heard of Lantus protocols :rolleyes:. I'll just be keeping an eye on him as usual but glad I had him checked.
 
Last edited:
Maury weighed in at 13.2lbs so the Vet was happy he hadn't lost any weight. Glad to see his neuropathy improving but still noticed his hind legs lower than a normal kitty, which I told her I was aware of but since he developed it back to front, it's probably going to reverse front to back like he's shown. Tried to convince me my human glucometer wasn't a great idea because of the variation. Urinalysis came back clear, US on his bladder showed no crystals. She wanted to give him Covena antibiotic shot and wasn't thrilled when I said I would prefer him not to have that. Said she can't guarantee nothing is starting and to keep an eye on him, might just be behaviour issue which I also took into consideration. She gladly wrote him a Rx for Lantus and probably can't wait to tell me "I told you so" if he does better on it :arghh:. She would prefer his nadir around 150. Kind of ignored me when I asked her if she heard of Lantus protocols :rolleyes:. I'll just be keeping an eye on him as usual but glad I had him checked.
You stood your ground, Yong! :)
 
I shouldn't be given a guilt trip for doing it though :confused:. So no antibiotics, she was only willing to do the Covenia shot. Oh yeah, with her blank face after my comment she said she'd NEVER had a cat react badly to Covenia. Didn't answer when I asked her if it was for preventative so I'd rather not give him antibiotics for no reason. If something develops then she'll probably give Clavamox or Amoxicilan.

At least you guys have my back :joyful::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Wow. "Your cat has no infection, so HERE...have some antibiotic!!!" :banghead:

When are you starting the Lantus? If she says I told you so...kick her! Just kidding :joyful:
 
Wow. "Your cat has no infection, so HERE...have some antibiotic!!!" :banghead:
When are you starting the Lantus?
RIGHT?!?! That's why I refused because if he should need them, there's a chance they won't work as well when he actually needs them. If I start Lantus, it won't be til July? I think? lol

If she says I told you so...kick her! Just kidding :joyful:
Don't encourage me :p.

After what Caitlin is going through, I don't know if I want to tackle finding a new Vet :( but it would be so nice to have a doctor (human or pet) on my side for once .
 
Maury weighed in at 13.2lbs so the Vet was happy he hadn't lost any weight. Glad to see his neuropathy improving but still noticed his hind legs lower than a normal kitty, which I told her I was aware of but since he developed it back to front, it's probably going to reverse front to back like he's shown. Tried to convince me my human glucometer wasn't a great idea because of the variation. Urinalysis came back clear, US on his bladder showed no crystals. She wanted to give him Covena antibiotic shot and wasn't thrilled when I said I would prefer him not to have that. Said she can't guarantee nothing is starting and to keep an eye on him, might just be behaviour issue which I also took into consideration. She gladly wrote him a Rx for Lantus and probably can't wait to tell me "I told you so" if he does better on it :arghh:. She would prefer his nadir around 150. Kind of ignored me when I asked her if she heard of Lantus protocols :rolleyes:. I'll just be keeping an eye on him as usual but glad I had him checked.
I have never had any problems with Covenia and I have used it many times, but I would rather have an AB site specific or organ specific. I have a feral cat and Covenia has been a life safer many times because I cannot pill her. Glad that good looking man is doing alright.
 
Thanks for you insight, Teresa. Like I said the other reason I said no was because there was no sign of infection or crystals. Hopefully it was just behaviour, and a short lived behaviour! :p
 
Thanks for you insight, Teresa. Like I said the other reason I said no was because there was no sign of infection or crystals. Hopefully it was just behaviour, and a short lived behaviour! :p
Has Maury ever had bouts of cystitis before with no evidence of infection or crystals? These bouts can be stress-related inflammatory responses. Teasel was plagued with those pre-FD.
 
Has Maury ever had bouts of cystitis before with no evidence of infection or crystals? These bouts can be stress-related inflammatory responses. Teasel was plagued with those pre-FD.
To be honest, Kris, I wouldn't know if he has or not. Reading about some symptoms associated with bladder inflammation and I'm leaning towards no. I'm going to try cleaning his boxes twice a day to see if that makes him happier :)
 
My space is so small that the kitties get the litter box cleaned pretty much any time I'm home and they use it. Cats are stinky! Sounds like an interesting interaction with the vet with her not responding to some of your questions. I think you made her nervous ;). She wants his nadir around 150, as opposed to what?
 
Thanks for you insight, Teresa. Like I said the other reason I said no was because there was no sign of infection or crystals. Hopefully it was just behaviour, and a short lived behaviour! :p
You were right to say no since there was no sign of infection or crystals. The last time I took Buddy to see his vet, he related to me that most people have a really hard time giving a cat a pill, so most want a shot (convenia). I told him there was no problems with Buddy taking a pill, so he gave Buddy pills the last time. I hope it is short lived behaviour for Maury.
 
Freya had Convenia once with no apparent issues. However, I wasn't actually aware of what the shot was until after it was given. The vet hadn't even confirmed any infection anywhere. :facepalm: I was pretty upset afterwards. I'd brought her in because I thought she might have some sort of bladder or urinary issues, and she's had bladder stones removed in the past. The vet was just like, "eh, probably infection" and gave her the shot. Ugh.
 
Freya had Convenia once with no apparent issues. However, I wasn't actually aware of what the shot was until after it was given. The vet hadn't even confirmed any infection anywhere. :facepalm: I was pretty upset afterwards. I'd brought her in because I thought she might have some sort of bladder or urinary issues, and she's had bladder stones removed in the past. The vet was just like, "eh, probably infection" and gave her the shot. Ugh.
That's why I took Maury in so I wanted to be proactive and get confirmation :)
 
So maybe aiming for 120 on the human meter? (the higher end of what we call the healthy range?). I wonder if we aimed a little higher for the bouncy kitties if it would help at all? And then as the overall numbers come down, maybe start nudging it down a bit at that point? Might be something to consider: if you called a "good" cycle one with a nadir around 120 instead of trying to hit green, if it would make any difference in getting more consistent numbers?

Although looking at Maury's numbers, I'm not sure that would make much difference since it seems like he's around that mid100's to mid-200's range at nadir anyway....except for when he suddenly drops - and I don't think there's much you can do about that. Except maybe set up a playdate with Timmy and Susan!
 
I think as opposed to 80s or 90s here on human meter. Given the 150 is probably AT2. I still think it would be better for a nadir around 100 on AT2, not the higher end of normal BG.
My vet gave me a range for good BG of 5 to 9 on an AT meter - translates to about 90 to 160 in US units.
 
So maybe aiming for 120 on the human meter? (the higher end of what we call the healthy range?). I wonder if we aimed a little higher for the bouncy kitties if it would help at all? And then as the overall numbers come down, maybe start nudging it down a bit at that point? Might be something to consider: if you called a "good" cycle one with a nadir around 120 instead of trying to hit green, if it would make any difference in getting more consistent numbers?

Although looking at Maury's numbers, I'm not sure that would make much difference since it seems like he's around that mid100's to mid-200's range at nadir anyway....except for when he suddenly drops - and I don't think there's much you can do about that. Except maybe set up a playdate with Timmy and Susan!
I have a hard time pinpointing when Teasel's nadir is most of the time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top