Luke PMPS 208, + 2.5 42, +3 90

Kristen ardito

Member Since 2023
Previous post for continuity

I just increased his dose to 2.5 and he's been high for the past few days. Then, started to come down to the 200s today so I was excited. Went to do a pre-bed check and he is suddenly 42! Is this hypo? I gave him some food with gravy in case.

But what do I do tonight? He has libre so I can keep checking. Should I be giving him syrup at this point or is it lower? Help, feel, as usual, lost and confused.

I do have hypo toolkit printed out but it didn't say which numbers trigger hypo...

Thanks in advance!
Kristen
 
Hi Kristen, is that reading from the libre or handheld meter? The Libre can sometimes give artificial low numbers. If handheld meter can you get a retest just to make sure it isn't a bad strip?
 
Ok, going up a bit. The food with gravy must have helped.
Hi Kristen, is that reading from the libre or handheld meter? The Libre can sometimes give artificial low numbers. If handheld meter can you get a retest just to make sure it isn't a bad strip?

No, sorry let me clarify on the sheet. The Libre read 59. I then checked with Freestyle Lite and got the 42.

It's now risen to 90. The food in gravy must have helped.

What do you all think about tonight? Is 90 a low enough number at +3 for me to worry through the night?
 
Hi Kristen, is that reading from the libre or handheld meter? The Libre can sometimes give artificial low numbers. If handheld meter can you get a retest just to make sure it isn't a bad strip?

I just clarified in the ss - that was from ear prick using Freestyle Lite. The Libre was 59 which I knew could be higher.

Seems to be going up. I just want to make sure I'm prepared tonight in case anything happens and he dips low again. Have a syringe filled with honey, and a can of ff with gravy ready to go.
 
That 42 earned Luke a reduction. Congrats! Your new dose tomorrow is 2.25.
He came up quite a bit from the gravy food. Can you get another test in 20 -30 minutes?

ETA did you feed at the +3 test?
 
Depending on the % carb that you gave to bump up from 42 it would be worth testing again at +4 to see whether he’s still either flat or rising. Sometimes the early drops fizzle out, but often with feeding higher carbs the numbers can bobble around and sometimes go back under 50, so best to test again to see what he’s up to. With a 42 on meter, that means he’s earned a reduction back down to 2.25u next dose.
 
Ok sounds good. I’ll test again in 45 min which will be +4. It was fancy feast w gravy chicken. But I also gave him a bit of merrick backcountry rabbit. That has some gravy in it.

Tomorrow he will go back down to 2.25. This is our first decrease. Yay! I was wondering if it would ever come or it would always go up and up.
 
That sounds like the FF grilled chicken in gravy which is 12% and considered medium carb. It would be worth noting in your remarks how much you fed (1/4 can or 2 teaspoons or ? ) what the % carbs were, and when in the cycle, as part of the intervention so you can use for future reference as to what helped bump up lower numbers or what didn’t. It helps those, like myself, who pop in to offer some help. It’s good to be able to see in the remarks what carbs have been used in the past.
 
Gotcha. It was a 1/4 can. Fed at +2 PMPS (FF Chicken and Gravy). I waited 20 minutes, and the numbers weren't moving much so then I gave him a half packet of Merrick backcountry rabbit. That food is not on the list and I wasn't able to find anything online but it's likely light/medium as there is some gravy there.

The numbers started to go up within a half hour.

Throughout the overnight hours his BG kept rising and around 3am seemed to spike. It was hi this morning on Libre, and I just checked, +1 and it's still HI. Just did an ear prick and got 312.

I suspect he will bounce today. Sigh. Poor guy. Last bounce lasted a couple of days.
 
Back
Top