Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic
That's right. If your cat does not have enough time on insulin for you to have the "data" to shoot insulin when the cat's number is below 200, you do not give the shot. You don't have the data to know what your cat's BG is going to do with the insulin for the next 6 to 8 hours. So, it is not safe to shoot when he's below 200.
It would be nearly impossible for him to have a BG of 200 at +12 after that +11 (unless, he bounced -- a concept that you'll hear about quite a bit if you hang around here.) For now don't worry about shooting, but do take a plus +12/PMPS reading and let us know what it is, please.
If it's over 200, please ask for advice. It's nighttime, and after what you've been through, you may want to skip tonight all together. You do not, whatever you do, want to shoot 2 units tonight!! No way. What dose your cat needs now must be reevaluated by someone else on this board, and you need advice I can't give you on that.
I think that what is happening is what happened to my cat. The antibiotic is clearing the infection in the teeth, and the BG is dropping because of that. Your dose is too high because the infection is not elevating the BG as it was before.
You said it Carl! If she had not tested today and gave her cat 2u this evening it could have been a tragedy or at least a nightmare in the ER, probably. We'll never know, but thank goodness for that.