Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion micro

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Jenny,
Like I said earlier (you may have missed it in all the excitement), states differ as to whether you need a prescription for syringes. Which state are you in?

Carl
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

You can take a break from testing until +12 :smile:

I'm thinking that Lucky's number won't be high enough for a shot at +12 though.

Carl
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

I kinda figured there would be not shot after the last number. In a normal setting though if I get a number lower that 200 and it's test time is it recommended to not shoot? I think I read that during my browsing around. Just wanted to prepare myself for the future.
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

With Lantus, it isn't so much the PMPS or AMPS numbers that determine whether or not you would give a shot. It's the low point of the cycle - usually around +6, that tells you.

In the future, yes, you would shoot into a number under 200. But not until you have collected data that will allow you to do so safely. That's the primary reason we advise not shooting under 200. Without sufficient history on how a dose has been working, it isn't safe to shoot because at this point, you really don't know what to expect in the middle of the cycle.

Just very relieved that you got the test right when you did today, or you (and we) would not have had any idea that 2u would give Lucky a number that low.

Carl
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

That's right. If your cat does not have enough time on insulin for you to have the "data" to shoot insulin when the cat's number is below 200, you do not give the shot. You don't have the data to know what your cat's BG is going to do with the insulin for the next 6 to 8 hours. So, it is not safe to shoot when he's below 200.

It would be nearly impossible for him to have a BG of 200 at +12 after that +11 (unless, he bounced -- a concept that you'll hear about quite a bit if you hang around here.) For now don't worry about shooting, but do take a plus +12/PMPS reading and let us know what it is, please.

If it's over 200, please ask for advice. It's nighttime, and after what you've been through, you may want to skip tonight all together. You do not, whatever you do, want to shoot 2 units tonight!! No way. What dose your cat needs now must be reevaluated by someone else on this board, and you need advice I can't give you on that.

I think that what is happening is what happened to my cat. The antibiotic is clearing the infection in the teeth, and the BG is dropping because of that. Your dose is too high because the infection is not elevating the BG as it was before.

You said it Carl! If she had not tested today and gave her cat 2u this evening it could have been a tragedy or at least a nightmare in the ER, probably. We'll never know, but thank goodness for that.
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Hey Dale, when you have a minute between tests of your own, check your PMs!

Carl
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Excellent! That's wonderful. You are in the clear, but please just skip the shot tonight, and try to get some syringes. It appears you can get them without a prescription? It's 6:30 where you are, and the Wal Mart pharmacy might close soon.

You should also get Ketosticks -- to check for ketones in the urine. I have to get back to my baby. Maybe it's not an issue because the cat's BG is low and it hasn't been on insulin very long? What if it bounces? I don't know the answers. Help! LOL Carl?
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Good, coming up, but not quickly. Definite "no shot" number.

About syringes.... can you call walmart and see if the pharmacy is open, and ask if you need a 'scrip for them? It's probably going to be tough to find syringes on a Sunday, but maybe you can find some this evening? Because tomorrow, assuming you see a number at AMPS high enough to shoot insulin at, you'll need to go to a lower dose than 2u. I think the pens only let you adjust in 1u increments? So syringes would be much better if you can find any.

Checking for ketones is always a great idea, so the stix would be a valuable thing to have around. Any pharmacy sells them, usually with all the other human diabetes products. Ketones don't need high numbers to appear, but are more likely when the BG is high for long periods. They can happen if there is an infection present, high BGs due to insufficient insulin, and lack of enough food. All three of those sort of feed off each other. Kitty has an infection, doesn't feel like eating, and the BG climbs due to the infection for instance. But all 3 things don't have to occur at the same time either.

Carl
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

If your PM pre-shot (PMPS) is a 115, you don't have enough data yet to give a shot. Skipping is the safest option.

Carl's correct. The Lantus pens dispense only in full units. You need a syringe -- preferably one that's marked in half unit increments. You'll need U100 syringes. I use a 31 gauge, U100 syringe.

I would also suggest you set up a spreadsheet so you can keep track of Lucky's test data. This is the spreadsheet we all use and link in our signatures.
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

I just got back from Walmart and picked up the u-100 syringes. I will not be shooting insulin tonight, but do you have suggestions for tomorrow am. Like what I should give at what numbers? Any advice would be helpful.
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

I'm sorry if you have answered these questions before but:

Your shot time is 6:15 a.m. Eastern Time, correct?
Your dose was 2.0 units per the vet, and that is what you gave this morning, right?
You are feeding Fancy Feast classics -- no dry food, no other food, right?
He's getting antibiotics -- until when?
When did you start antibiotics?
What kind of antibiotics, and what is the dose?
Did he have a dental recently? If so, was it a cleaning only?
He might need tooth extractions, right? But he has not had them yet, right?
Is he taking any other medications? Anything for constipation?
Does he have pancreatitis, if you know?
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Please test him now so we know how he's doing. What is the number and what is the "time" (example: +15.5 (12 hours since you gave insulin at 6:15 a.m. plus 3 hours and a 1/2 since then)

When did you start giving insulin?
Did you give it every time (morning and night) since then?
Did the dose change at any time?
What was it originally?

Ok, that should do it. If you can put all the answers to these 15 questions in one post, that would be great. Then, when people see it they may ask questions, but they will have an overview. Ok?
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Yes shot time is 615am est
dose was 2.0 units as per
he is eating fancy feast classics nothing else
he is getting antibiotics - clindamycin hcl - 3ml every 24 hours given at 6:00am to be given for 8 days
antibiotics were started on friday 8/3 at 6am
he had a dental on thursday 8/2 - it involved a cleaning and extraction of 1
he is taking pain medication for the tooth - buprenex ampule - .5ml every 12 hours given at 5:45 am / pm
he had low potassium on both earlier blood tests on 7/23 and 7/29 he was given 5ml of potassium supplement on 7/30 and 2.5 ml on 8/1 than when tested prior to dental he had a low normal potassium so it was discontinued
er checked for pancreatitis on 7/29 and it was negative
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

He started receiving insulin on 7/25 6:15pm and received 2 units every day until 7/29 am shot, on 7/28 pm he ate than I injected him than he vomited, I waited 30 minutes than fed him again everything seemed ok than fed him 7/29 am and vomited again, did not give shot call er and took him in blood sugar was 517 so er vet told me to give shot 2 units that evening. Next day per vet started 1 unit 2x per day until dental work on 8/2, vet blood work that am before dental was 577 so she resumed 2 units 2x per day.
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

OK, it looks like Lucky has always been on 2u, right? And he was diagnosed almost 2 weeks ago?
He wasn't eating well, they found a bad tooth and pulled it, and started ABs and Bupe for pain.
And they got his potassium up at least into the low end of normal.
That all sounds great, except for the insulin dose. "Back then" that dose was okay because of the infection. Now it's apparently too high.
And he was negative for ketones when the vet tested him.
(I just speed read your previous posts)

I think the vet may have over-estimated the dose because that 577 was high due to tooth issues, infection and vet stress, and because he'd been experiencing all of that on a dose that they had dropped down to 1u.


Carl
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Yes Carl thats all right they dropped him to 1u because he wasn't eating properly. He just ate another 1/3 can of fancy feast and I got a bs 162 at 745pm est +1330
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Hi. You wrote "I got a bs 162 at 745pm est +1330." That's good. I know that's higher than "normal," or according to some studies, close to the top end of normal. However, right now being high is better than low. Being high (over 200) is damaging, but being too low will kill the cat suddenly.

I have found it easier to think of the clock as having 4 quadrants. There is (EDITED here:) +0 (6:15), +0.25 (6:30), +0.5 (6:45) and +0.75 (7:00). I also get completely confused if I give shots at X:15 or X:45. Sometimes we have to, but I can't do it well, and I either mess up my spreadsheet or I spend an inordinate amount of time double checking it and finding mistakes anyway.

I think you might find it easier to say +13.5 instead of 1330 (if your normal shot time is 6:15 and you skipped the dose this PM?) Some people might think you meant +13.3 which would be 7:20; unless I misunderstand and you meant 7:20.
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Recap:
+7 47 (fed 1/2 can FF classics)
+7.3 65
+7.6 89
+10 78
+10.25 (fed 1/2 can FF classics)
+10.5 92
+11 97
+12 115
+13.5 162 (fed 1/3 can of FF classics)

I think the only thing I missed is if you fed anything at +12.

That's still a very nice number at this point, Jenny. It will rise due to skipping the shot, and that's okay (and expected). It may also rise a great deal because Lucky's numbers went so low earlier today. That happens often - when they go much lower than their bodies are used to, their liver will dump "sugar" into their system (we call it liver panic). It's a self-preservation mechanism to protect the body from a rapid or drastic drop in blood glucose. So if you see his numbers climb rapidly, don't worry too much about it. Again, it is "expected" to happen, especially the first time he experiences low numbers.

Carl
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Carl

He ate the 1/3 can at 13.25 that would be the only change I can see. No food at +12.
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Recap:
+7 47 (fed 1/2 can FF classics)
+7.3 65
+7.6 89
+10 78
+10.25 (fed 1/2 can FF classics)
+10.5 92
+11 97
+12 115
+13.25 (fed 1/3 can of FF classics)
+13.5 162
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Aren't Carl and Dale wonderful???!!!!

Just one thing to add to Carl's info:
(we call it liver panic)

We also call it a 'bounce' just to help you learn terminology...sometimes we talk funny...

HUGS!!! You're doing GREAT!!!!!
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Yes they are great!! I've really appreciate everyone's help throught today. cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Awww, look at you! All ready getting out the Bean petting his Kitty icon! I love that one!
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Woke up when I heard my buddy meowing for me and figured I'd give him a poke. So at +18.5 bs 348. He has eaten 3/4 can fancy feast classics between +15.25-+18.5.
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Lucky's amps 366, he ate 3/4 can of fancy feast between +18.75 and +23.75. Gave him .5U on lantus.
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

That sounds good, Jenny. If you can get a test by +3, you might have an idea what today has in store. I'm at work but will check in as I can.
Carl
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

+4.25 bs 307 ate 1/4 can of fancy feast between +2 and +4.25
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

I've been filling out the spreadsheet and it's attached with all the current data from yesterday and today.
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Good morning. Looking good.

I'd suggest that you come on over to Lantus Land - either Tight Regulation or Relaxed or both. In Tight Regulation there are rules about how each post headline is structured, but in Relaxed there aren't. Most people in Relaxed go ahead and use the TR rules as it is easier for everyone. If you would like, you can post using these rules (even on Health) but you don't have to, of course.

We start each day with a new thread, and the headline looks like this "8/4 Max AMPS 150 +2 100 +3.75 88" etc. AMPS mean am pre-shot test number. I don't know of any rules about the body of the post. So, you would use "8/4 Lucky AMPS 336 +2 397 +4.25 307."

Have a great day!!
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

There's no 'rules' about the body other than including a link to the previous 'condo' (thread) and putting the numbers and any info about your sugarcat first. I have several animals that contribute to the daily life here - those things affect KT also so sometimes I include info about others.

BIG HUG!!! You got this thing goin' on!!!
 
Re: Lucky's 1st blood glucose test am +7 is 47 on relion mic

Thanks for the encouragement! Just tested +6 bs 337. I'll post on the lantus board hoping someone can help me determine next dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top