Lucky recently learned he has diabetes

Status
Not open for further replies.

wjtaormina

Member Since 2011
Hey there! I'm Wendy and proud owner of Lucky. We recently found out that he has diabetes and are feeling overwhelmed with everything. I take Lucky to Banfield at Petsmart and my main concern are the cost for insulin every month. The vet has prescribed Lantus. After calling around to different places, I have found that Wal-Mart is the cheapest for $100. Is there any places to buy it cheaper? I am 29 and I live on my own and unforunately I don't make enough money with this economy. I do not want to give up Lucky. He is my life. I am not sure what to do so any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
 
Welcome Wendy and Lucky. Diabetes is a scary diagnosis but a very manageable disease. This site is a great resource. Do lots of reading and ask questions.

Here is a coupon that will help: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=36964

The suggestion is to buy it in pens, not vials. The vials don't last as long.

Costco sometimes has Lantus; apparently you don't need to be a member.
 
smock1999 said:
Hey there! I'm Wendy and proud owner of Lucky. We recently found out that he has diabetes and are feeling overwhelmed with everything.


Welcome :-D It's normal to feel overwhelmed. Nearly everyone here was once in your shoes. Diabets is very managable so don't worry :thumbup This board is a great place to get advice and help :smile:

smock1999 said:
I take Lucky to Banfield at Petsmart and my main concern are the cost for insulin every month. The vet has prescribed Lantus. After calling around to different places, I have found that Wal-Mart is the cheapest for $100.

Lantus is a great insulin. I bet the $100 quote was for the 10 ml bottle, right? The bottle isn't worth it. It tends to lose effectiveness after a month or so and you end up throwing away a barely used bottle. Most everyone here uses either the Lantus SoloStar pens or the Lantus OtpiClick pen cartridges. Both come in a pack of 5 and that's at least a 5 month supply. A box costs about $150 or so. Your prescription has to specify the SoloStar pens or OptiClick cartridges. You don't need pen needles or an insulin pen like a Human diabetic would to use a SoloStar or OptiClick. Regular U100 insulin syringes are what you use to get the insulin out for a diabetic cat.

How%20to%20use%20an%20%20insulin%20pen%20for%20cats.jpg


OptiClick carridge shown below:
lantuscartdraw2-1.jpg


smock1999 said:
Is there any places to buy it cheaper?

Call around to different pharmacies for prices on SoloStar pens and OptiClick cartridges. You can get a free prescription drug card to save a couple dollars on Lantus: http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... ?8,1946184 Another way to get Lantus for less is to buy from an online Canadian pharmacy. Some people here do that.

Here are other tips on how to save money on your cat's diabetic supplies and needs: http://binkyspage.tripod.com/frugal.html
 
Hello, and welcome to the best place you wish you never had to be!

Do you have a Costco nearby? If you are able to get a script for the Lantus pen instead of the vial (which, having just switched, I HIGHLY recommend), many Costco stores will sell you the pens one at a time... ours were $41 each instead of $205 for 5. If you have a AAA card, be sure to present that as well. You don't have to have a Costco membership to use the pharmacy.

Another option is to call the outpatient pharmacies at local hospitals... they may be willing to sell you pens one at a time as well.

While some people throw out the pens promptly at 28 days, others find that, with proper refrigeration and handling, they are able to extend the life of their pens considerably. Pen life will obviously depend somewhat on the dose being given.

Did Banfield talk to you at all about hometesting? Even though Lantus is a slow acting insulin, it can still cause dramatic drops in blood sugar, so hometesting allows you to always ensure that it is safe to give your cat insulin. Many here use the Relion Confirm or Micro meter, which are $9 for the meter, and $20 for 50 strips or $12 for 20. There are similar house meters available at Target, CVS, Walgreens, etc. Several of us use meters available online with even lower costs per test strip. We strongly suggest testing before each injection, along with periodic spot checks after the shot to show how the insulin is working.

There are many resources here to help you learn how to best care for Lucky. I hope you will stop by the Lantus Insulin Support Group. There is a virtual treasure trove of valuable information and the people there are wonderfully generous in helping newly diagnosed cats and their humans (or beans, as we call them) get their routine in order. I look forward to having the chance to see you over there and learn more about Lucky!

Have a good night!
 
Im new too. And very much on a budget. Start up costs are high, but after that im hoping it will settle down. I got the box of 5 cartridges of lantus. Cost 220 and should last me at least a year. No throw away. The vials you will spend 100 and then at the end of 28 days have to throw away the remainder. Lots of expense, and alot of waste. Ask for the cartridges/ pens :)
 
Hey guys, Thanks for the response. I am still feeling overwhelmed and what I am realizing now is that I didn't ask enough questions when I went to the vet. I was in shock still, still am but I have had a few days to let it sink in now. No the vet did not tell me about home testing and wants me to bring Lucky in for some type of monitoring thing but that is something I can do at home. I was prescribed a vial, would I just call and ask to get a prescription for the pens or can I just buy them? It sounds like the pens will cost a lot less. Right now, the vet told me to give him 2 units of Lantus twice a day with food as well as his antiboditics for his UTI that he has. He is on a Hills Prescription Diet MD for food. He is on a 1/2 a cup daily to lose some weight. So, I feed him 1/4 of a cup in the morning and at night so that way it is easier with the meds.

There's just so much reading I have done over the last few days and I still feel overwhelmed by it all.
 
Buying the insulin in pens is one way to save money, and there area few others as well. Hometesting is an important way to save $$ and to keep your kitty safe. If you are in the US, you can buy a meter at Walmart (Relion) and testing strips quite reasonably priced. You will also need lancets to prick the ear to draw blood. Then you do not have to take him to the vet for monitoring or curves - this will save you big $$. THe other way is not to buy the prescription food. It looks like the vet got you to buy m/d dry. I believe it is quite high in carbs. Ideally your kitty would be on lo carb wet food. Check Janet and Binky's food list. The Authority food from Petsmart can be found on sale for 3 cans for about $1.50. Your cat might get 3/4 to a can twice a day, depending on his weight. Others use Friskies - can also be found failry inexpensively on sale. Warning: don't change to wet, lo carb until you are hometesting. For some cats, it makes a dramatic difference in their blood glucose number, just over night. THis is why we test before every shot.

I'm sure that others will be along to suggest setting up a spreadsheet so that you can track his response to insulin and know how to adjust his dose.
 
smock1999 said:
I was prescribed a vial, would I just call and ask to get a prescription for the pens or can I just buy them? It sounds like the pens will cost a lot less.

Hi and welcome to FDMB. The initial cost for the pens is between 1 1/2 to 2 times the amount of a vial, however, you get 5 pens in a package. For most cats, that will be enough insulin to last almost a year. With the vial, you may be lucky if you get 2 months worth of insulin before it becomes ineffective. With a vial, you will end up throwing a lot of it away. With the pens/cartridges, you should be able to use almost every drop of insulin in each one.
 
ok I just went to the vet and asked about the pens/diet. Lucky weighs 19.7 lbs and the vet said that the pens are not sterile. I am starting to think I need to take him another place because I feel like my questions were not answered compared to what all of you have been telling me. Also, as far as the curve which I am still confused on that, the vet said that I only need to take him in 10 days from intialize diagnose and then once every 3 months which is $ 97.00. Does that seem right? Also, 2 units of Lantus twice a day is that a lot? Also, if I do at home testing should I'd be adjusting it on my own without consulting the vet. I feel like I do not know what I am doing and am feeling very lost :(
 
smock1999 said:
ok I just went to the vet and asked about the pens/diet. Lucky weighs 19.7 lbs and the vet said that the pens are not sterile. I am starting to think I need to take him another place because I feel like my questions were not answered compared to what all of you have been telling me. Also, as far as the curve which I am still confused on that, the vet said that I only need to take him in 10 days from intialize diagnose and then once every 3 months which is $ 97.00. Does that seem right? Also, 2 units of Lantus twice a day is that a lot? Also, if I do at home testing should I'd be adjusting it on my own without consulting the vet. I feel like I do not know what I am doing and am feeling very lost :(

You don't use the the insulin pens like humans do...you use a new sterile insulin needle each time.
That's an un-educated statement for the vet to make.

Some vets discourage home testing. You can do your own curves at home with home-testing. That
saves you money, gives you the data you need to help Lucky. Curves and spot-checks at the vet
can be quite in-accurate because the cat experiences vet-stress, which raises the BG.

Then the vet prescribes too much insulin based on those un-naturally high BG numbers at the
vet's office.

2u twice a day is not a huge dose, but we like to see cats started at 1u 2x/day. It's a lot easier
to raise the dose than to get it out of the cat once it's in there.

I would be looking for a different vet. Where do you live (city, state)....perhaps someone here
can recommend a good vet for you.
 
smock1999 said:
Also, the vet said that Lucky's glucose level should be no higher than 250.

That's certainly true, but a little high as a target for good regulation.

250 is above the renal threshold...the point at which the kidneys begin spilling
excess sugar into the urine.
 
You do need a prescription for the pens or cartridges.

Also, you can get insulin syringes at any pharmacy. Many here use
WalMart's Reli-On brand. Around $15 for 100 syringes.

You want insulin syringes for U-100 insulin, 3/10cc capacity, 30 or
31 gauge.
 
When Lucky first got tested for diabetes, the vet said nothing about monitoring at home for glucose and that I needed to bring him back for a curve in about 10 days. Should I just wait until after the curve to talk to the vet to get a better understanding of what it is I need to do? I tried to do a BG test with a monitor that I bought at Target and poor Lucky had his ear pricked 4 times before I could get it right. & even after getting the blood on the test strip, it read error and I just gave up. I am just wondering if I should just wait until I take Lucky into the vet for the curve and just bring the instruments that I bought and ask the vet to help me since they would be there in person.
 
Please don't give up. We have lots of newbies who start insulin and have to start lowering the dose the first few days. It is so dangerous to just shoot blindly.

You don't need your vet's permission to test at home. We have help you with hints or you can post your city and state and we have a member who lives near and could give some hands on help.

Did you heat the ear? It made a huge difference for us at first. Either make a rice sack and heat it in the microwave or put some hot water in a pill botttle. Warm ears bleed. Also double poke - just a quick second poke in the same spot as the first.
 
For a cat that weighs 19.7lbs what should his glucose be at? And what do I do if it is too high and/or too low? I live in Orlando, FL.
 
smock1999 said:
For a cat that weighs 19.7lbs what should his glucose be at? And what do I do if it is too high and/or too low? I live in Orlando, FL.


Non-diabetic BG is 60-130 or so. Weight of cat is not relevant.

If too high, that's diabetes and that's what you are working on now
with beginning insulin.

If on insulin, and BG goes too low (below about 50 and still dropping), that's
a hypoglycemic episode, and requires intervention with Corn Syrup and high-carb
food to bring the BG up to a safe level.

Here is a link about hypoglycemia:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/hypogly.htm
 
I posted for you in Community. I know we have people in Orlando.

In the beginning, you don't want to shoot under 200. Generally we say to wait 20 minutes and test again to see if the number has risen. In very general terms,a regulated kitty will run around 200s pre shot and the lowest part of the cycle under 100. A kitty in remission usually runs 40-120 without insulin.

But not to worry. As soon as you have some numbers, you can start posting on the Lantus support group. They will help you with dosing.
 
Hey Wendy!! I'm in Orlando area (Casselberry to be exact). I'll gladly help you out, although I paw pad test instead of ear pricking. What area of Orlando are you in?
 
Good. I was just up that way tonight at Sonny's.

Willow has been diabetic since then end of 2006. After the initial diagnosis and a nasty 2 week battle with DKA and then hypoglycemia, he was on insulin for a month and then became diet controlled and was off insulin for 2.5 years. I was so overwhelmed when I first found this board, but after you get the basics down -testing/shooting and diet, everything else falls into place. Willow has never had a curve done at the vet and I'm in charge of his dose (his original vet started him out on 2.3units based on his weight and he ended up hypoglycemic from it).
 
And half of my post disappeared and it was too long to retype. :roll:

How long ago was Lucky diagnosed?
How long have you been giving 2u twice a day?
When is he supposed to go back to the vet for a curve?
Was his diagnosis based on a basic blood glucose test at the vet or a fructosamine test? Do you know the initial numbers?
 
Complick8d said:
And half of my post disappeared and it was too long to retype. :roll:

How long ago was Lucky diagnosed?
How long have you been giving 2u twice a day?
When is he supposed to go back to the vet for a curve?
Was his diagnosis based on a basic blood glucose test at the vet or a fructosamine test? Do you know the initial numbers?

Lucky was diagnosed on Thru, March 10th. I started the insulin on Friday, March 11th. He is suppose to be back on the 22nd (It's when I have a day off) I cannot remember the numbers but I can call tomorrow and find out. I really didn't remember much the day we found out. I was still in shock but the vet did say it was really high. He is on Clavamox for a UTI. I have been reading that a wet food diet is better than a dry food? The vet gave me Hills M/D dry to use for Lucky & told me that he needs to lose some of his kitty weight. How much is he suppose to weigh? He is a large frame cat though.
 
smock1999 said:
Lucky was diagnosed on Thru, March 10th. I started the insulin on Friday, March 11th. He is suppose to be back on the 22nd (It's when I have a day off) I cannot remember the numbers but I can call tomorrow and find out. I really didn't remember much the day we found out. I was still in shock but the vet did say it was really high. He is on Clavamox for a UTI. I have been reading that a wet food diet is better than a dry food? The vet gave me Hills M/D dry to use for Lucky & told me that he needs to lose some of his kitty weight. How much is he suppose to weigh? He is a large frame cat though.

Willow started on Clavamox for a UTI as well. If possible get copies of everything the vet does in terms of blood work, etc. A low carb/high protein diet is much better than dry, but do not change his diet until you #1 lower his insulin dose and #2 are hometesting. He does not need Hills M/D dry to lose weight or to control his diabetes. Weight loss can be achieved just as easily, if not easier on a low carb/high protein wet food diet found on janet and binkys chart http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html

I'm not sure about target weight for Lucky, but an average weight for a Tabby is approx. 8 - 11 lbs and the average weight of an Abyssinian is between 9 - 16lbs, so I'd say Lucky should fall somewhere in the mid range of the two.
 
Hi there,

I'm a little late showing up, but I'm also in the Orlando area -- live in Ocoee and work near Universal Studios. Motksa is on ProZinc -- .1u twice per day. It's a different insulin completely, so I'll refrain from giving any dosing suggestions, but if you need help learning to hometest, let me know!

Just as an FYI, in case someone else hasn't mentioned it yet, glucose curves done at a vet's office are frequently inaccurate, as the stress of being at a vet's office -- with the strange smells, sounds, other animals, and complete strangers -- can SIGNIFICANTLY raise glucose levels, resulting in the incorrect recommendation of a higher dose.

Also, I would check with Jordan (Complick8d), since they're close to you -- and see if they like their vet, and if the vet works with Lantus.

I can definitely recommend the vet that I go to -- there are a few vets at the practice -- it's the Cat Hospital of Orlando in Altamonte Springs. We just started going there in February, but so far I like it. If you go there, they will probably have you use ProZinc, though -- I don't think they're very familiar with Lantus or Levemir (but ProZinc works for us, since Motska is on a super-low dose, and my schedule doesn't always allow me to stick to 12 hr dosing -- sometimes it's 11/13 hr or 10/14 hr dosing -- and I need to be able to adjust the dose accordingly).

And welcome! It's a lot to take in all at once, but it does get easier -- we've all been there, and we're happy to help!

Kris
 
Hey Wendy! I don't have much to add to what everyone else has said but I'm in Florida too! Orlando is about an hour and a half drive for me but I'm also a Lantus user. Then again I'm also a newb at this.

Don't let your vet bully you either. You have every right to ask questions and remember you can always take your business elsewhere. So if you feel like he's not helping you get through this but rather hindering you try to find another. I am having the same problem, and I really should take my own advice on this. But I have found that if I had blindly followed my vets instructions, my Danny would probably have already gone hypo from doubling his dose and shooting without checking his BG first. They may be the Vet but they too are human and prone to err.

Definately when you get a chance you should check out Dr. Lisa's website, catinfo.org about different food options. Repeating what others have said though, don't switch your baby to strictly wet food without home testing and reducing that dose first. It really does make a difference!

A lot of us, well, just about everybody here anyways, uses a google docs spreadsheet to help keep track of our sugarbabies (read diabetic floofballs) BG levels and dosing. It will also help others on here help you. I don't think anyone has posted a link for you yet so I'll go dig it up. Here ya go!

Also! Remember to breathe! It does get easier, trust me. The first few days feel like non stop panic but you form a routine and you get used to it. I wish the best for you and Lucky!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top