Lucky 7/31

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Member Since 2011
He did so good yesterday and even got a PMPS in the 200's!! I figured I'd shoot a regular 1u....should have gone with a fat at least because AMPS was back up to the 346 and his +3 and +6 were okay, but could have been better. I went with 1.1u this morning, which is really really close to the dose I shot yesterday morning. Hope we get the same results. I think increasing the dose from 1u was the best idea, he seems to be getting better #'s now. I've also been making sure he eats 5% and under. I had bought some Friskies mainly for the civvies but apparently it's too high in carbs for Lucky.

We'll see how today goes!
 
Good luck today.

My Kitty is very carb sensitive. I feed mainly 2 to 3 percent carb--one night I fed some 7 percent carb just to see what it would do....over 500 the next morning. Some cats are very sensitive to carbs, the lower carb might help Lucky.

You remind me of myself...a skinny 1.1 is 1 and a fat 1 is 1.1!!!! Love those skinnys and fats!!
 
You are doing great! It is nice to see how quickly you are responding to the numbers. I know that isn't always what we advise, but personally I like it for fine-tuning, I think you can get good results faster if you don't wait, when they are responding well to the insulin. It gets slowed down of course when their response is really varied, or when they have other health issues etc complicating the picture like several here do, but thankfully Lucky seems steady enough in his response that you can at least evaluate a cycle like last night and conclude he needs a drop more insulin on a similar PS.
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
You are doing great! It is nice to see how quickly you are responding to the numbers. I know that isn't always what we advise, but personally I like it for fine-tuning, I think you can get good results faster if you don't wait, when they are responding well to the insulin. It gets slowed down of course when their response is really varied, or when they have other health issues etc complicating the picture like several here do, but thankfully Lucky seems steady enough in his response that you can at least evaluate a cycle like last night and conclude he needs a drop more insulin on a similar PS.

Well, he does have bad teeth and gums, we have a dental scheduled for the 12th. I think once we get that done, we will see even better results.

But it's been my instinct to choose dose based on PS for a couple of weeks now. It just feels more comfortable and seems to make sense. I'm going to check a +3 in about 30 mins to see how he's responding so far. Then I'll get a +6. I would love to test every hour lol But the strips are getting expensive and I have other things going on too! I can't wait to see how he does...hoping for good #'s!!!
 
kse said:
Good luck today.

My Kitty is very carb sensitive. I feed mainly 2 to 3 percent carb--one night I fed some 7 percent carb just to see what it would do....over 500 the next morning. Some cats are very sensitive to carbs, the lower carb might help Lucky.

You remind me of myself...a skinny 1.1 is 1 and a fat 1 is 1.1!!!! Love those skinnys and fats!!

Wow, what a change with the 7% carb! That's just amazing to me. I guess I consider a 1.1 to be just a tad bit more than a fat...it's funny how we rationalize it but it's soooo close to the same thing haha
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top