Lower then Normal AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

kellykramer

Member Since 2013
Oliver s AMPS was 185 which really is 205 as my monitor is 20 points lower then Vets and their more accurate test they performed to be sure.
SO Is this an indication its to much insulin? I am thinking so.... and would not want to shoot him with 2 units? He has not ate and is spunky and feeling very good.
I will stall till i hear from someone on what to do :)
I rechecked again in 20 min. it was a 206 (226) So went ahead and feed him and did the 2 units of Lantus.
I am home today so can keep a close eye on him. I would like opinions on dose, and levels see SS its accurate. Will be advising with vet this AM
My vet opens at 7:30
Kelly
 
Hi Kelly! Sorry no one saw that you were asking a question this morning. If you need help it's usually quicker to get eyes if you post a really obvious subject line like "BELOW 200 - DO I SHOOT? HELP!" and mark your original post with the little question mark icon.

Don't worry at this point, though, as you shot a safe number. You're doing well with the hometesting! Remember that with Lantus it's the lowest point of the cycle (the nadir) that helps you decide how to adjust the dose. A preshot in the range you saw this morning does not mean your cat is getting too much insulin - it means things are going well! You want to see lots more of those blue and green numbers on your spreadsheet. Keep up the testing and if you need some help with shooting or dose just make it really obvious in the subject line and there will be lots of experienced people to help out.

Even if you aren't posting there all the time, if you need some quick help you could also post something in the Lantus Tight Regulation group as there is usually lots of activity there, even early in the morning.

Best wishes for Oliver :-D
 
Thanks Amy and Papaya and everyone.

That was very helpful info. Thanks for the encouragement as well.
Oliver is doing well today.
When and how do I tell about the Nadir level? Not enough info probably to go on yet huh?
Well again thanks and I will do as suggested and make my post more OBVIOUS!!! :) Or go to a different area to get info.

Kelly And Oliver
 
Hi Kelly! Have you looked at any of the information under the Lantus Tight Regulation section? There are "stickies" at the top which cover some helpful general topics, including dosing. I know that there's a lot of information to try to take in at once :-D

These are the general guidelines from the Sticky: Lantus & Levemir Tight Regulation Protocol about dosing. It would be good to read the whole thing, but here is the summary of dosing:

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.

So as you can see the ideal is nadirs under 100 - that's the ones that show up as green on your spreadsheet. Below 50 is too low and calls for a decrease.

You seem like you are already comfortable with doing the home testing, so that's the biggest step already under control! Keep adding numbers to your spreadsheet, and soon you can have a discussion about whether you need to increase the dose.

Meanwhile it's also good to get familiar with all the information on handling low numbers just in case one of those tests gives you a number lower than you want to see! Again there is a ton of information in the Lantus Tight Regulation group - you could even read through some of the posts there so you can get to know the people and their cats and see what kind of numbers other people are seeing in their cats and what they do about it. Just be aware that in that group the people have lots of information on their cats so they will give insulin at lower numbers than you will be comfortable doing at first. You did the right thing this morning in asking for help with a number below 200.
 
Good job on the shooting. For now I wouldn't shoot lower than 175 unless you can be home to test and have your hypo kit ready. We don't have data yet to know how low he will go and this lantus dose is just settling in

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top