HyperJMA
Member
Hey all,
It feels like we are still having a hard time regulating Mister..... Tonight (and I'm still dealing with this) the BG dropped to 71. I'm going to check again in ten minutes.
But here's my problem
When he is boarded at the vet, there will not be anyone on staff overnight. The vets leave around 7 pm, and a tech comes in to do nightly stuff at 11 pm. Tonight, I only caught the low BG because we tested before bed and then I continued to stay up... (and we're still resolving this!). I'm having a massive amount of stress even thinking about leaving him with the vet, and him having low BG, and no one being there to assist him.... I can't even begin to think about the consequences without starting to hyperventilate.
I'm considering having them give him a lower dose than normal, just to prevent this from happening. Some insulin to take the edge off, but not enough to get him this low again.
Or perhaps 2 units in the morning, and 1 unit at night?
It feels like we are still having a hard time regulating Mister..... Tonight (and I'm still dealing with this) the BG dropped to 71. I'm going to check again in ten minutes.
But here's my problem
When he is boarded at the vet, there will not be anyone on staff overnight. The vets leave around 7 pm, and a tech comes in to do nightly stuff at 11 pm. Tonight, I only caught the low BG because we tested before bed and then I continued to stay up... (and we're still resolving this!). I'm having a massive amount of stress even thinking about leaving him with the vet, and him having low BG, and no one being there to assist him.... I can't even begin to think about the consequences without starting to hyperventilate.
I'm considering having them give him a lower dose than normal, just to prevent this from happening. Some insulin to take the edge off, but not enough to get him this low again.
Or perhaps 2 units in the morning, and 1 unit at night?