? Lower dose while boarding?

Status
Not open for further replies.

HyperJMA

Member Since 2016
Hey all,
It feels like we are still having a hard time regulating Mister..... Tonight (and I'm still dealing with this) the BG dropped to 71. I'm going to check again in ten minutes.
But here's my problem
When he is boarded at the vet, there will not be anyone on staff overnight. The vets leave around 7 pm, and a tech comes in to do nightly stuff at 11 pm. Tonight, I only caught the low BG because we tested before bed and then I continued to stay up... (and we're still resolving this!). I'm having a massive amount of stress even thinking about leaving him with the vet, and him having low BG, and no one being there to assist him.... I can't even begin to think about the consequences without starting to hyperventilate.
I'm considering having them give him a lower dose than normal, just to prevent this from happening. Some insulin to take the edge off, but not enough to get him this low again.
Or perhaps 2 units in the morning, and 1 unit at night?
 
If Mr.M was mine I would give him a lower dose, just to be safe. I would have the same feeling Jess of being a little scared if there is no one around to test him.
 
When are you boarding him?

Most people do give a somewhat lower dose when boarding a kitty.
 
Ask if shots will be 12 hours apart. When my friend boarded her diabetic, due to the vets hours of operation, they couldn't do that. She ended up leaving him at a friends house, but a reduced dose at night might work as well. Also maybe they can leave food for him or feed at 11 when she's checking in.
 
I posted this on your other thread:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ng-cat-and-going-on-trip.161650/#post-1729486

Since you are using Prozinc which is more of an "in and out" insulin, you could have the vet clinic do a split/sliding dosing schedule if there is no one able to test at night time. You could have the regular dose of 2.0 units done during the day when there would be someone able to do testing and do a reduced dose for the evening of between 1 unit to 1.50 units, whatever you would feel comfortable with. It appears that Mr M has his nadir (lowest number) around +6 or so which would allow for adequate testing during the day.

Be very specific about how you want the shots done...testing before each shot and mid cycle testing during the day, what food you want fed and how much and when snacks are to be given according to what you do at home and make sure they keep good records so you will have all the data when you are back. Also ask what type of meter they will be using for monitoring. If it is a pet meter then the results will be higher than you normally will get on a human meter, which is normal, You could write all this information down on a card that could be put in the area Mr M will be kept.

I know how traumatic it is to be going away and leaving your precious baby, but if you have good confidence in your vet, Mr M will be in a safe place :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top