lower dose better?

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Mornin kids: ~O) ~O) ~O)
Last night we lowered Asher’s dose. went from 1.6 to 1.2u. Yesterday he was real high all day, mostly 400s and a 300 at end of day. Although he didn’t seem sluggish like when he was high this weekend.

Anywho, I got up and did at +6 overnight and it was Yellow!!! :-D 255! Encouraging.

Amps this morning were 370, so not great but beats the heck outta a 400. So I am looking for things to be positive about today, and I’ll take this. I’m home most of today so I’ll get some spot checks in. Hard to get my brain around this less insulin means better numbers, but I am trying hard!

Hope everyone out there in sugar kitty land has a great day with some great numbers! :mrgreen:
 
Glad he had a better cycle last night! :-D

Good Luck today, hopefully Coverboy will have a GREAT DAY!
 
I was thinking the same thing last night.....reminds me of being in Vegas! :lol:
 
Hi Deb:
We put that on our signature to make sure if anyone new looked at out spreadsheet, they wouldn’t follow our lead of shooting under 200. For awhile there it was good for us to shoot anywhere above 150. (I hope we can get back to that again when we get thru this dose reduction bouncing)
We usually tell new people NOT to shoot under 200, it is risky unless you have data to back that up.

I have never really used a sliding scale with Asher. We have done best in the past holding a dose for as long as possible. We feed exactly the same thing and same amount everyday, so if we hold the dose, there are less variables and we were able to regulate him better that way. Now we have had some insulin need changes, he needs way less. That is good, but we just have to try to stop this rebound and get into a dose we can keep again.

Hope that explained things :-D
 
Yes, thank you, that explained it. I see a lot of talk about sliding scales, 20% variance, and one other thing I can't seem to remember right now. I'll have to get my thoughts together and post my questions later tonight. I hope you guys have a great day!

By the way, I just noticed for the first time that you're in Kutztown. I'm down in Chester County...we're practically neighbors! :-D

Deb
 
Wow Deb, yes we are neighbors! I have friends in the West Chester area and I get down there for photo jobs very often. Just did some marketing mailings down in that area too to beg more work. Maybe we should have coffee sometime!
 
Hi Donna,

You're a photographer? Wow, no wonder your avatar is so awesome! Show off! Can you make me look that beautiful? :lol:

How about coffee and an appetizer...or dessert...and may I have Bailey's in my coffee? :-D
 
I am about 45 mins to an hour from Lancaster, depending on traffic and where in Lancaster. In my well traveled opinion, not far! :-D
 
Deb-
That’s pretty wild that you are that close, I’ll let you know when I get down that way again. It would be fun to visit.
Yes, we don’t photograph animals for a living tho, mostly industrial jobs, product, and how-to photos for woodworking. I think my website link is still near my avatar. Sounds crazy I know. Asher and Alby have grown up with strobes going off all around here so they really don’t mind if we take their pic every so often. Our avatar was shot after a shoot we did here with a glass blower, on a big sheet of black plexiglas. When the client left, we sat the cats up there for a couple shots before we struck the set.
 
+9 was low 300s, so we are a tad lower. (edit: 11.5 is 285!!!!!) Wondering if we need to hold this lower dose for a bit, or go lower again????
 
OMG Donna, You're work is breathtaking! Cabela's is a nice commute. :lol: Also, the "shabby chic" blue hutch and wheel barrow would make an excellent desktop background. Magnificent work! Maybe you should consider shooting animals...sorry...I meant photographing animals. That was bad lingo.

[quotequote="donnahc"]That’s pretty wild that you are that close, I’ll let you know when I get down that way again.[/quote]
I hear ya, that's really close, especially when you consider the worldwide coverage these boards get. Just give me some notice for a cut and color...I look like I've been living in a cave since Marilyn's Dx. Actually, I have been pretty much living in a cave. :roll:

I can't help with dosing advice, but Marilyn seems to be taking her time with dose changes again. It's very frustrating.
 
Very nice run on last night's cycle. Really incredible that such a decrease led to a lower PS. It does seem to go against everything that we think would happen, doesn't it? Higher dose, lower numbers...this proves that it ain't so!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top