Low on test strip, Dose increase without midday tests?

Nisha & George

Member Since 2024
Hello!
Here is the link to my previous thread: No BG test, so no insulin given.
So I am a low income individual and am struggling to afford more test strips for my contour next one reader. I have not been getting many midday tests, if at all, this last week in an attempt to save some strips. I know this is not ideal. I'm struggling with his dose. He had a run of decent numbers (not where we want him but decent in comparison to his previous numbers) from 09/11/25 to 09/25/25 and then his glucose seem to be rising quite a bit higher in the AMPS and the PMPS. His current does is 1.75 units of prozinc. I'm wondering if I should raise him back to 2 units based on his AMPS and PMPS. I haven't gotten any midday tests from 10/01/25 to 10/06/25. I bit the bullet and tested him today at +3 and his number did not go down too much. I'm going to try to get one more midday test before I leave for work at +5... is there enough data to decide if he needs an increase?
 
Hi Nisha!
When would you be able to get some more test strips(upcoming payday?)

What you can do is to run a curve (or a modified curve) on a specific day you choose and get a +4, +6 and +8 (skipping the +2 and +10 tests that would normally be included in a full glucose curve. Then you could really see how low the dose is taking him.
 
I get paid on Friday, my mom has said she may be able to help me get some. I have about 16 test strips left till then. I can probably get a curve tomorrow or on Friday its self.
 
Anything else going on with George? His BG seemed to start going higher at the end of September. Any dietary changes?
 
I get paid on Friday, my mom has said she may be able to help me get some. I have about 16 test strips left till then. I can probably get a curve tomorrow or on Friday its self.
Aw. That sweet of your mom. I am sorry you are struggling financially. I understand that! I was afraid the new place would cause more stress in that respect, but you were forced out of your old apartment so there you go.

Regarding George, I just want to make absolutely certain we keep him safe so I don’t want to be flippant about saying… sure… just go ahead. That would be irresponsible on my part.
 
Did we ever talk about Diabetic Cats In Need? They help some people with insulin and test strips, but I know their donations were down so I am not sure how many more people they were going to be able to help (although that changes all the time as people drop out of the program.)
 
Hes had some behaviour changes and I think its because hes sick of the flavour of his food. He wont hold still for tests anymore. His food used to distract him long enough for me to get my test and give him his insulin. now its hard to get the tests and giving him the shot is easier. I've switched to giving him a different flavour mixed with his usual one. this pay i will be buying more food but only buying the chicken instead f the red meat. there is a carb count difference in the flavours but it is only by 1.5. he seems more manageable when he gets the chicken. his routine changed when I moved in terms of where he was getting his food/testing/shot. instead of on the table he has had to be tested on the floor or the coffee table. The lighting here isn't as bright as my old place so sometimes its hard to see past his fur. I now have a kitchen table and a light next to it. Hopefully that helps a little. As for the diabetic cats in need program, they did say I was eligible and they would help but I have not heard from them since then.
 
Hes had some behaviour changes and I think its because hes sick of the flavour of his food. He wont hold still for tests anymore. His food used to distract him long enough for me to get my test and give him his insulin. now its hard to get the tests and giving him the shot is easier. I've switched to giving him a different flavour mixed with his usual one. this pay i will be buying more food but only buying the chicken instead f the red meat. there is a carb count difference in the flavours but it is only by 1.5. he seems more manageable when he gets the chicken. his routine changed when I moved in terms of where he was getting his food/testing/shot. instead of on the table he has had to be tested on the floor or the coffee table. The lighting here isn't as bright as my old place so sometimes its hard to see past his fur. I now have a kitchen table and a light next to it. Hopefully that helps a little. As for the diabetic cats in need program, they did say I was eligible and they would help but I have not heard from them since then.
Sounds like they dropped the ball on it. Since you really need it, I would try to follow back up with them to see of there’s something you need to do to get started with the assistance (some application or something?) It could really help you out so I know it’s a pain in the neck, but worth doing.
 
Sounds like they dropped the ball on it. Since you really need it, I would try to follow back up with them to see of there’s something you need to do to get started with the assistance (some application or something?) It could really help you out so I know it’s a pain in the neck, but worth doing.
I do not remember how to contact them.
 
I reached out on their Facebook page... their website says they are not taking new applications for help at this time.
 
@CORKY can you help? Do you have more direct contact information for DCIN? I am thinking that since Nisha had previously contacted DCIN and they old her before that she was qualified that she might actually be able to get some help (with test strips at a minimum!) She’s having trouble paying for the strips.
 
Also in the main forum there’s a supply closet, that members offer supply a lot for free soñé for postage only and some at low cost to you, Ive Used it is awesome to see other member be so kind most, after they have lost their precious baby
 
Also in the main forum there’s a supply closet, that members offer supply a lot for free soñé for postage only and some at low cost to you, Ive Used it is awesome to see other member be so kind most, after they have lost their precious baby
I have used that before. There was a wonderful woman who sold me 2 boxes of syringes, and 1.5 bottles for insulin for 100$. She was so kind. Last I checked there was not anything in the supply closet that could help me but I will check again today.
 
Thank you for this. we just stuck to our normal times. I'm struggling with George a bit right now. His AMPS and PMPS seem to be high. I'm getting back into the swing of things with testing during the day. He was supposed to have a check up with his vet tomorrow but I've been very sick these last few days. There was a couple missed doses due to being so sick. I'm feeling better and am getting back on track. I've noticed hes peeing for a long time again. nothing outside the box but hes being for at least 45 secs.. at least he was this morning. Hes struggling more when I try to test his blood, even with the food distracting him. I have resorted to crumbling some freeze dried chicken treats on top (I did a guaranteed analysis check and these treats are under the 10% mark like his food. He is getting 4 feedings during the day and 4 feedings at night. I have the Auto feeder set up during the day and during the night. I know I don't really have enough information in his spreadsheet to really talk about increases in dose but I'm hoping maybe there is some guidance or suggestions on how to proceed.
 
Hi Nisha. I’m sorry to hear that you have been sick. I hope you are all recovered now. That’s hard to be ill and have a diabetic cat to worry about. It looks like he’s back on track. You got a lot of blue numbers recently. How was he during the time he was in blues like today? Was he still drinking a lot of water and staying in the litter box a long while. Have you noticed that his urine clumps in the litter box are any larger than normal? Based on today’s and yesterday’s data, it does look like you could take his dose up to 2 units as long as you can get at least one mid-cycle test each 12 hour cycle. We have no night data and that is my concern.

I would get some bloodwork done on George to make sure it’s not his kidneys or his thyroid or something else.
 
Next time you get a blue AMPS or PMPS, please try to get some tests or at least one nadir check. I see that you will shoot a reduced dose, but it’s impossible to say whether the dose you chose is a good one, too little, or too much. And there are quite a few different doses on those days where he started in blue with no subsequent tests so I am not sure how you decided upon the dose. The idea is to shoot the reduced dose and then get some tests to see if you made a good decision on that or not — so that next time you can tweak the dose if your test data tells you so.

I understand that on some of those days maybe you were not at home? But I am just saying to try because this will really help you to make the best dosing decisions for George.
 
Hi Nisha. I’m sorry to hear that you have been sick. I hope you are all recovered now. That’s hard to be ill and have a diabetic cat to worry about. It looks like he’s back on track. You got a lot of blue numbers recently. How was he during the time he was in blues like today? Was he still drinking a lot of water and staying in the litter box a long while. Have you noticed that his urine clumps in the litter box are any larger than normal? Based on today’s and yesterday’s data, it does look like you could take his dose up to 2 units as long as you can get at least one mid-cycle test each 12 hour cycle. We have no night data and that is my concern.

I would get some bloodwork done on George to make sure it’s not his kidneys or his thyroid or something else.
Thanks for getting back to me so quickly! Things have just been a struggle mental health wise so I've been slacking on daytime tests. I'm off work until the 5th and then off until the 8th. I will be getting daytime tests during the next few days. night time tests are especially hard for me. Maybe I'll just force myself to stay awake tonight and get an overnight curve... I am going to call the vet tomorrow and reschedule his appointment and ask how much bloodwork will be. I may need to ask my mom for help (she might be able to) next time I catch him peeing I will test for ketones.
Next time you get a blue AMPS or PMPS, please try to get some tests or at least one nadir check. I see that you will shoot a reduced dose, but it’s impossible to say whether the dose you chose is a good one, too little, or too much. And there are quite a few different doses on those days where he started in blue with no subsequent tests so I am not sure how you decided upon the dose. The idea is to shoot the reduced dose and then get some tests to see if you made a good decision on that or not — so that next time you can tweak the dose if your test data tells you so.

I understand that on some of those days maybe you were not at home? But I am just saying to try because this will really help you to make the best dosing decisions for George.
As for reducing the doses the way I did, I tried to er on the side of caution on the lower numbers. I tried to remain consistent on what the reduced dose was for what numbers he tested at. The lack of testing during the day is partially because I was working and partially my mental health. I've just been so overwhelmed and exhausted by all that this involves that I've not been as diligent as I need to be. I'm feeling a bit better and I know he deserves for me to do better. I'm just so confused by how some days hes got great numbers in the AMPS or PMPS but most days hes in the purple again. Maybe he can sense my stress and its stressing him out? Can stress effect glucose levels? I know that he and I don't have a great routine yet since the move. he gets fed and tested and dosed in a routine for morning and night as well as his day time feed from his auto. but as for testing unfortunately I haven't been the best mom.
 
Hes also been fighting me and struggling when I try to get tests with him. He used to just east his tablespoon of food and let me get it done. now sometimes hes good and then most of the time he struggles.
 
Thanks for getting back to me so quickly! Things have just been a struggle mental health wise so I've been slacking on daytime tests. I'm off work until the 5th and then off until the 8th. I will be getting daytime tests during the next few days. night time tests are especially hard for me. Maybe I'll just force myself to stay awake tonight and get an overnight curve... I am going to call the vet tomorrow and reschedule his appointment and ask how much bloodwork will be. I may need to ask my mom for help (she might be able to) next time I catch him peeing I will test for ketones.

As for reducing the doses the way I did, I tried to er on the side of caution on the lower numbers. I tried to remain consistent on what the reduced dose was for what numbers he tested at. The lack of testing during the day is partially because I was working and partially my mental health. I've just been so overwhelmed and exhausted by all that this involves that I've not been as diligent as I need to be. I'm feeling a bit better and I know he deserves for me to do better. I'm just so confused by how some days hes got great numbers in the AMPS or PMPS but most days hes in the purple again. Maybe he can sense my stress and its stressing him out? Can stress effect glucose levels? I know that he and I don't have a great routine yet since the move. he gets fed and tested and dosed in a routine for morning and night as well as his day time feed from his auto. but as for testing unfortunately I haven't been the best mom.
Hey. Don’t be hard on yourself. We all go through periods of being really down and depressed and sometimes we don’t feel like doing much. I think it actually helps to have someone like a cat who needs us because it helps get us out of thinking of ourselves all the time. Some days recently I have had to force myself to do anything for them too.

You probably have a lot of financial strain since the move and I hope not problems at work because I know you said before that you liked your job.

You are not doing such a bad job and I am certainly not criticizing you! That is not what this is all about. I only try to be very careful when talking about doses for our diabetic kitties.
 
Hey. Don’t be hard on yourself. We all go through periods of being really down and depressed and sometimes we don’t feel like doing much. I think it actually helps to have someone like a cat who needs us because it helps get us out of thinking of ourselves all the time. Some days recently I have had to force myself to do anything for them too.

You probably have a lot of financial strain since the move and I hope not problems at work because I know you said before that you liked your job.

You are not doing such a bad job and I am certainly not criticizing you! That is not what this is all about. I only try to be very careful when talking about doses for our diabetic kitties.
I appreciate your words of encouragement. I will be staying up tonight to get a curve overnight. Money is tight. We're trying to stretch every dollar. But we're getting by and that's more than allot of people can say these days. Work is going good. No stress there. I even got to keep my raise when minimum wage went up.
 
Hope you’re feeling better😉 and you are doing a great job, I’m sure all this is just as new to him as for you, it will get better, I promise
 
Ive inquired about bloodwork... the renal test are 246+tax and the thyroid test is 156.22+tax and doesn't include his check up :(
 

Attachments

  • Messenger_creation_C9C8695A-3758-49A9-8344-161F758D44D6.jpg
    Messenger_creation_C9C8695A-3758-49A9-8344-161F758D44D6.jpg
    75.6 KB · Views: 47
Back
Top