Anna & Leela
Member Since 2026
Requesting urgent input if possible! My Leela is a newly diagnosed diabetic. We’ve been on quite a ride for the past week and a half and I’m trying to do my best while working with a vet who doesn’t seem the most knowledgeable.
I was advised by my vet to increase her dose quite quickly to 1.5U twice a day. All seemed well until we started waking up to AMPS around or below 150mg/dL. I started reducing the dose on my own or even skipping while waiting for the vet to call back. Eventually she did today, and said to do 1U based on my spreadsheet numbers.
Leela was at 182mg/dL PMPS today. She appeared to by rising and I maybe stupidly felt comfortable giving 1U between that and my vet saying to do so. It was a pretty skinny 1U.
Well then the Libre sensor completely gave out right after. Luckily I have a Relion and thought it best to test her. She tested at 115 +1 and 79 +2 and am FREAKING OUT.
I gave her food immediately both times and she’s happy to eat. Do I need to get more drastic? I have honey on hand and high carb food for this purpose.
I was advised by my vet to increase her dose quite quickly to 1.5U twice a day. All seemed well until we started waking up to AMPS around or below 150mg/dL. I started reducing the dose on my own or even skipping while waiting for the vet to call back. Eventually she did today, and said to do 1U based on my spreadsheet numbers.
Leela was at 182mg/dL PMPS today. She appeared to by rising and I maybe stupidly felt comfortable giving 1U between that and my vet saying to do so. It was a pretty skinny 1U.
Well then the Libre sensor completely gave out right after. Luckily I have a Relion and thought it best to test her. She tested at 115 +1 and 79 +2 and am FREAKING OUT.
I gave her food immediately both times and she’s happy to eat. Do I need to get more drastic? I have honey on hand and high carb food for this purpose.