Low Levels Again Not Sure What to Do

Status
Not open for further replies.

LoufsMama

Member Since 2022
Yesterday Lucifer had low levels and we had to skip his morning insulin. Last night he got up to 505. Then this morning when I was up he gave me trouble eating only ate little bits of things. His level was a 229. Ate a little more not much and his level dropped to 196.

I know I can’t give him a shot that low. So I’m guessing I have to skip again. I know this is bad to keep skipping to get him regulated. I don’t know what to do to fix this. I only gave him the 1 unit last night.
 
Now he is eating but we’re an hour behind schedule and I don’t know if I can still give it to him late? Or just wait until later. I wish he would’ve done this earlier.
 
Sorry I’m on my phone and can’t edit it there moving to computer. His am was 229 I was scared to do it because he hadn’t eaten much so I gave him a bit more to eat waited 20 minutes and then checked and he went down to 196. So I held off on the shot.
 
Updated it now. I don't want to keep skipping his morning shot because I know he wont be regulated that way. But it's an hour and a half past his normal time. I don't know what were doing wrong.
 
Ashley -

If you're following the Tight Regulation Protocol (which is what is noted on Lucifer's spreadsheet) and new to diabetes management, you want to post and ask for help if the pre-shot numbers in less than 150. With glargine and the biosimilars, it takes approximately 2 hours for the insulin to start working (i.e., "onset"). As long as you will be around to monitor and have the necessary supplies (strips, high carb food), you can shoot.

However, you're off schedule. You would be able to shoot either 15 min earlier each cycle or 30 min early once a day in order to get back on track. I don't know if being off schedule is a problem since you may need to be at work tomorrow.
 
Okay I was under the impression not to do it if it was 200 and under. Is there a way to still give it to him today? I work from home.
 
If you're 90 min (or thereabouts) off schedule, just shoot. You can give your PM dose 11.5 hours from now.

The 200 is if you're following SLGS. The dosing methods are different.
 
Thank you so much and I will remember the other area of the forum you told me about I appreciate it
 
No. You have to move either in 15 min. increments at each shot time or 30 min. once a day. With a depot insulin, an early shot is like a dose increase whereas a late shot acts like a dose reduction.
 
I’m sorry I’m trying to understand so now is he 10am in the mornings?
 
And you said 11.5 hours from now that would be 930 pm since it was 10am when I did it?
 
So then it would be about 930am and and 930 pm each day? And the window is a half an hour range? Like half hour before or half hour after?

So sorry for all the questions
 
Ashley -- it's helpful if you tag someone who you want to respond. I have no idea if you need me to reply unless I keep coming back to look. To set a tag, type the @ sign and start typing the persons name (e.g., @member'sname). The system will automatically list matching names and you can pick who you want. @LoufsMama - you should see a note in your Alerts since I tagged you. The Alerts are in the top right of the menu bar.

If you shoot at 10:00 AM, you can choose to shoot at either 10:00 PM or 9:45 or 9:30PM tonight.

If you shoot at 10:00 tonight, you can shoot at either 9:15 or 9:30 at AMPS.

If you shoot at 9:30 tonight, you would then shoot at 9:00 tomorrow at PMPS. With a 30 min time shift, you shoot 30 min early every 24 hours.

If you shoot at 9:45 tonight, you can shoot at 9:30 tomorrow at AMPS, 9:15 at PMPS, then 9:00 at AMPS Tuesday, etc.
 
Gotcha! I’m sorry I didn’t realize the tagging. I’m on it now :) @SienneandGabby

Thank you so much for all your help. He’s had his shot and then I can do 930 tonight and back to 830-9am in the morning. I just have to find a way to get him to eat. He was never a big wet food eater so we’re struggling a bit but I’m sure we’ll get there. I’m looking at some tricks on here to entice him.
 
Um..... no.

You shot at 10:00 AM today (Sunday). If you shoot at 9:30 tonight, you shoot at 9:00 in 24 hours -- 9:00 PM Monday.
  • Changing shot time by 30 min is done once a day (i.e., every 24 hours)
  • Changing shot time by 15 min is done twice a day (i.e., every 12 hours)
 
Um..... no.

You shot at 10:00 AM today (Sunday). If you shoot at 9:30 tonight, you shoot at 9:00 in 24 hours -- 9:00 PM Monday.
  • Changing shot time by 30 min is done once a day (i.e., every 24 hours)
  • Changing shot time by 15 min is done twice a day (i.e., every 12 hours)

I still am confused and I feel like an idiot to keep asking. So he doesn’t get a morning shot at all?

930 pm tonight and then what is the next schedule
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) he is supposed to get 1 unit twice a day so I’m just trying to figure out after the evening shot of 1unit at 930 pm (as long as he is 150 or above) what would be the next days schedule exactly. I’m trying so hard to understand it all.
 
Yes 10am this morning so then 930 pm tonight and what does the next day look like?
 
Like I said above:

If you shoot at 10:00 AM, you can choose to shoot at either 10:00 PM or 9:45 or 9:30PM tonight.

If you shoot at 10:00 tonight, you can shoot at either 9:15 or 9:30 at AMPS tomorrow.

If you shoot at 9:30 tonight, you would then shoot at 9:00 tomorrow at PMPS. With a 30 min time shift, you shoot 30 min early every 24 hours.

If you shoot at 9:45 tonight, you can shoot at 9:30 tomorrow at AMPS, 9:15 at PMPS, then 9:00 at AMPS Tuesday, etc.

Depending on whether you are shifting the time by 15 or 30 min, you keep moving the shot time until you are at your preferred shot time.
 
If you shoot at 9:30 tonight, you would then shoot at 9:00 tomorrow at PMPS. With a 30 min time shift, you shoot 30 min early every 24 hours.

This one above is what’s confusing me. So if we give it to him at 930 tonight. What’s the next shot because this only mentions PMPS. What would the morning shot be? 9-930? And then 9 at night.
 
Or are you saying 930 tonight 930 in the am and then 30 minutes early at 9pm tomorrow
 
@Bandit’s Mom yes I shot at 10am today. My normal is 830am but I could do 830 or 9am. I’m sorry I don’t know what’s wrong with me but I don’t understand what to do for tonight and going forward.

I know 930 pm tonight but not sure the specific times for tomorrow
 
Let me try and make it easier:

Option 1: Move shot times by 30 mins per day
Sunday AM - 10:00 am
Sunday PM - 9:30 pm
Monday AM - 9:30 am
Monday PM - 9:00 pm
Tuesday AM - 9:00 am
Tuesday PM - 8:30 pm (usual shot time)

Option 2: Move shot times by 15 mins at a time
Sunday AM - 10:00 am
Sunday PM - 9:45 pm
Monday AM - 9:30 am
Monday PM - 9:15 pm
Tuesday AM - 9:00 am
Tuesday PM - 8:45 pm
Wednesay AM - 8:30 am (usual shot time)

Does this help? :-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top