Mandarin'sMom
Member Since 2014
Twelve days after reducing Mandarin’s dosage to 1 unit of ProZinc twice a day, I finally managed to do another curve. Unfortunately, Mandarin is still semi-social/borderline feral and I can’t test unless I put him in a dog crate for a day (obviously, not ideal). I can give Insulin while he’s eating… but he’s not too happy about that either.
Since I am working from home at the moment, I am able to monitor his behavior and I decided to give the new dosage some time to make a difference before I traumatize him with another curve. He’s been doing exceptionally well the last 12 days: playful, active, good appetite and producing much less urine. Zero signs of being hypo. I feed the bigger meals at 8am and 8pm (half a 5.5 oz can of low carb food) and offer a “snack” (usually half a can of FF or some low carb treats/EVO kibble) at noon and between 11pm and midnight.
I have been shocked all day long when I saw his low numbers. I even doubted if I should give him the full dose this morning (but figured since I have been giving one unit all along without testing, it was probably safe). Mandarin is acting totally fine (as much as I can tell with him being in a crate) and has licked his bowl clean both times. So, what do I do now? Since his BG was going up again at +10, I would imagine it’s safe to give him some Insulin tonight – but how much? And should I reduce his dosage in general? If so, how much?
Very excited about his progress, but really scared that this happened so quickly and that I don’t have more numbers. …and I am even debating if I should just keep him caged while I am reducing the dose to be able to test regularly. Thoughts?
Since I am working from home at the moment, I am able to monitor his behavior and I decided to give the new dosage some time to make a difference before I traumatize him with another curve. He’s been doing exceptionally well the last 12 days: playful, active, good appetite and producing much less urine. Zero signs of being hypo. I feed the bigger meals at 8am and 8pm (half a 5.5 oz can of low carb food) and offer a “snack” (usually half a can of FF or some low carb treats/EVO kibble) at noon and between 11pm and midnight.
I have been shocked all day long when I saw his low numbers. I even doubted if I should give him the full dose this morning (but figured since I have been giving one unit all along without testing, it was probably safe). Mandarin is acting totally fine (as much as I can tell with him being in a crate) and has licked his bowl clean both times. So, what do I do now? Since his BG was going up again at +10, I would imagine it’s safe to give him some Insulin tonight – but how much? And should I reduce his dosage in general? If so, how much?
Very excited about his progress, but really scared that this happened so quickly and that I don’t have more numbers. …and I am even debating if I should just keep him caged while I am reducing the dose to be able to test regularly. Thoughts?