Low BG - time for a dosage reduction???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Twelve days after reducing Mandarin’s dosage to 1 unit of ProZinc twice a day, I finally managed to do another curve. Unfortunately, Mandarin is still semi-social/borderline feral and I can’t test unless I put him in a dog crate for a day (obviously, not ideal). I can give Insulin while he’s eating… but he’s not too happy about that either.

Since I am working from home at the moment, I am able to monitor his behavior and I decided to give the new dosage some time to make a difference before I traumatize him with another curve. He’s been doing exceptionally well the last 12 days: playful, active, good appetite and producing much less urine. Zero signs of being hypo. I feed the bigger meals at 8am and 8pm (half a 5.5 oz can of low carb food) and offer a “snack” (usually half a can of FF or some low carb treats/EVO kibble) at noon and between 11pm and midnight.

I have been shocked all day long when I saw his low numbers. I even doubted if I should give him the full dose this morning (but figured since I have been giving one unit all along without testing, it was probably safe). Mandarin is acting totally fine (as much as I can tell with him being in a crate) and has licked his bowl clean both times. So, what do I do now? Since his BG was going up again at +10, I would imagine it’s safe to give him some Insulin tonight – but how much? And should I reduce his dosage in general? If so, how much?

Very excited about his progress, but really scared that this happened so quickly and that I don’t have more numbers. …and I am even debating if I should just keep him caged while I am reducing the dose to be able to test regularly. Thoughts?
 
What nice numbers! Yes, I would reduce the dose, if he climbs to 200. If not, I think I might skip tonight. Tomorrow he will probably be high again for amps, but I would still reduce the dose. Maybe .75 if you can monitor; .5 if you can't? Anytime you can get a number in the 5-8 hour will help you keep him safe.
 
He's still at 160 at PMPS - so I skipped tonight's shot. He's still in the crate so I can monitor his numbers throughout he night and tomorrow morning. Very curious what it'll be in the morning! I wonder if his diabetes was really triggered by a Depo shot he got in late August and if that's finally starting to wear off.
 
When the pre-shot is low, stall 30 minutes without feeding and re-rest. Often, the glucose is rising and it can be safe to shoot, though possibly, a reduced dose.

You might consider shooting a smaller dose, such as 0.75, or if using ProZinc, use a conversion chart with U-100 syringes and shoot 0.8, rather than 1 unit.
 
I think it is indeed time for U100 syringes! I did feed him his regular meal (which he ate within minutes) and at +2 his Glucose is still at 178. Glad I didn't give him any Insulin tonight and will definitely reduce his dosage.

This might be a stupid question, but can you get diabetic syringes without a script? I am still on the first kit that the vet gave me on the day he was diagnosed, but I'm sure there are cheaper options available.
 
Depends on the state.
Try going through our SHOP link above, then to American Diabetes Wholesale. See if they'll let you order. Plus, it helps support the board if you buy this way.
You want:
U-100
3/10 ml (aka cc)
short or long needle
30-31 gauge
half unit markings
 
No big spike in Mandarin's numbers this morning! Even with no shot last night, his AMPS was at 213. I gave him half a unit and will test again in a few hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top