Low BG number for Pinky: Guidance needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Danica20

Member Since 2014
Hello, I need some advice. Pinky's PMPS BG Level was 153. She has NEVER yet gotten into the 100s, she's consistently been in the mid 300s. I rechecked her to make sure her meter wasn't faulty at it was 159. I know enough NOT to give her her PM insulin dose. But where do I go from here? I feel like such a newbie at this home testing & kitty diabetes in general and of course today I wasn't able to check her BG mid cycle because of work. She's not at risk to go into hypo is she because it is at the end of her cycle correct? If someone could maybe peek at her spreadsheet and give me a little guidance it would be truly appreciated. I guess I just wasn't prepared to see this much of a drop in her BG.
 
First, let me reassure that Pinky is not at risk for hypo at this point in her cycle. With the NPH insulins (Novolin/Humulin) they are in the system and then done with in a short period of time, usually 6-8 hours for most cats. With no extra insulin, there is nothing to keep bringing Pinky's BG levels lower and lower from that 153/159 except her own pancreas producing a bit of insulin to help digest her food. That's a good thing.

It could be interesting to test one last time before you go to bed to see what her BG levels are.

Peeking at Pinky's SS now. Thanks for all the notes you made on the SS to tell us what food you are feeding. That really helps.

Ok. Good call on skipping that shot tonight. With the NPH insulins, I would not be comfortable giving any insulin if the pre-shot test is <200.

Some thoughts for you. I noticed you have switched to a slightly lower carb food, the Fancy Feast from the 9 Lives you were feeding. That food switch could be part of the lower BG numbers this evening.

Sometimes, we just don't know why the BG numbers are what they are. More playing (or less) or sleeping more (or less) or eating a bit more or less. It's tricky to figure out sometimes.

Just keep plugging away, get those mid-cycle tests in when you can and we'll keep seeing how Pinky does. Hopefully you'll be able to get some AM mid-cycle tests this weekend, if you are not working.

You might consider reducing the dose, perhaps down to 1U and see how Pinky does tomorrow.
 
Thanks Deb for all of your advice. I'm still new to all of this so keep the advice coming. 3 hours after her 159 she shot right back up to 393. Her AMPS was 381. This weekend I'm hoping to maybe so a curve on Pinky so I can see exactly how the novolin is making her numbers react.
 
Hope you do get the time this weekend to run a curve on Pinky. We usually only test every 2 hours when we are doing a full curve. That should give you some good information.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top