First, let me reassure that Pinky is not at risk for hypo at this point in her cycle. With the NPH insulins (Novolin/Humulin) they are in the system and then done with in a short period of time, usually 6-8 hours for most cats. With no extra insulin, there is nothing to keep bringing Pinky's BG levels lower and lower from that 153/159 except her own pancreas producing a bit of insulin to help digest her food. That's a good thing.
It could be interesting to test one last time before you go to bed to see what her BG levels are.
Peeking at Pinky's SS now. Thanks for all the notes you made on the SS to tell us what food you are feeding. That really helps.
Ok. Good call on skipping that shot tonight. With the NPH insulins, I would not be comfortable giving any insulin if the pre-shot test is <200.
Some thoughts for you. I noticed you have switched to a slightly lower carb food, the Fancy Feast from the 9 Lives you were feeding. That food switch could be part of the lower BG numbers this evening.
Sometimes, we just don't know why the BG numbers are what they are. More playing (or less) or sleeping more (or less) or eating a bit more or less. It's tricky to figure out sometimes.
Just keep plugging away, get those mid-cycle tests in when you can and we'll keep seeing how Pinky does. Hopefully you'll be able to get some AM mid-cycle tests this weekend, if you are not working.
You might consider reducing the dose, perhaps down to 1U and see how Pinky does tomorrow.