Low at 1:00am

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dds35day

Member Since 2019
I am new and this is overwhelming me. I have been scanning about every hour yesterday and she was in the 200-240. I scanned her at+1 and she was 229. That was about 10 pm woke up at +4 which was 1:00am and she was at 40. This shocked me because I only gave her one unit. I had this happen before and got scared and overdid it and she went high. I don't know how to manage this. I gave her food and treats and she quickly came up to 96. I am desperate to get her regulated because she is losing too much weight. What if I hadn't woken up?
Thank you
 
Hi Dayna, how long after the 40 was the 96? Sometimes the Libre does give some wonky readings and we ask members to crosscheck any odd reading with a regular meter.

Would it be possible for you to input the data for the last week into the SS I have set up so we can get an idea of what her numbers where like and at what does? We are very data dependent here for dosing advice.

Have you looked through our dosing methods and picked one that workd for you?
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

If you are following SLGS, a drop below 90 is a reduction, so her new dose would be 0.75U (if she has been on 1U for the last few days). If you are following TR, she would earn a reduction only if she dropped below 40 since she is a long term diabetic.

You want to test again 2 hours after the high carb food/treats to ensure that she doesn't dip below 50 after the carbs have worn off.
 
Thank you. The 96 was maybe 15 minutes after the 40. This morning it was 242 when we woke up. I have figured out the spreadsheet and begun entering data. I will post it in a few more days. She has not had a low since the first week. Maybe it was the libre although I gave several treats and fed her and it only went up to 96. So at least I didn't overreact with too much and she didn't get a high.
I only have syringes that show whole units. Which should I get? I have several boxes from ADW left but I will order the correct one.
I don't think I am ready for the tr because I don't feel comfortable injecting at lows.
Thank you for your help.
 
I only have syringes that show whole units. Which should I get? I have several boxes from ADW left but I will order the correct one.
You want U-100 syringes of 30 unit (0.3ml) capacity with half unit markings. ADW has several brands including CarePoint Vet and SureComfort.
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/search.aspx?keywords=insulin syringes half unit

You can also pick up syringes from your nearest Walmart. The ReliOn brand has U-100 syringes of 0.3 ml capacity and with half unit marks.
 
Thank you for helping me. The entire 1 unit is apparently too much. After the low overnight and several treats at 1:00am. her amps at 7:30an was 246. Her +1 was 198, +4 is 181.
I can't thank you enough for telling me what to do. I gave her as close to .75 as I could given it is only whole units. I want her to have numbers to go to remission but right now 1 unit is too much. I will stay at the slightly lower dose and find the correct syringes. I never would have known what to do. Thank you so much.
Dayna
 
I'm sorry. I have not posted the spreadsheet yet because I wanted to have a week or so in it before posting. Just started using the correct format. It is up to 110 now. I will monitor her overnight. It is difficult because a very tiny amount of insulin more or less can put her high or low.i am just getting used to the idea of the delay for kicking in. I am studying the website.
So if is under 150 tomorrow morning it seems to me I should be safe and skip because I will be gone so long. Sound ok?
 
I'm sorry. I have not posted the spreadsheet yet because I wanted to have a week or so in it before posting. Just started using the correct format. It is up to 110 now. I will monitor her overnight. It is difficult because a very tiny amount of insulin more or less can put her high or low.i am just getting used to the idea of the delay for kicking in. I am studying the website.
So if is under 150 tomorrow morning it seems to me I should be safe and skip because I will be gone so long. Sound ok?

Thank you. I am not able to upload the spreadsheet here. I have about two weeks in this format.
I will try to printscreen it. I can attach it to an email of there is one I can use.
Thank you.
upload_2022-4-17_14-41-58.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-4-17_14-41-58.png
    upload_2022-4-17_14-41-58.png
    122.9 KB · Views: 119
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top