Hi all
I have had a stressful few days. Molson had some great numbers. Friday, April 7th, he had his lowest nadir at 4.5 (81)! but i forgot to cover my dogs food over night and i think he either got into (very likely because he always tries to eat my dogs food) or he had a major bounce because the next morning he was 27.8 (500)
Sunday, April 9th he had some great numbers again, although at +6 went to 2.4 (43)so i gave him 2 tsp of Friskies turkey and giblets with gravy High Carb food and his PMPS shot right up to 25.6 (461), i am thinking either from the food or from him bouncing. Today (Monday, April 10th) he was 13.9 (250) pre shot and 10.1 (182) at +5.
i was going to reduce him to 1.25u Sunday night but with his super high pre shot number i gave him 1.5u, but this morning i gave him 1.25. i was thinking of reducing him to 1.25u for a bit to see how that is since he got a 2.4 (43) on Sunday, im so lost on what his dose should be though? and when should i do his next curve or mid day test? Those two super high numbers i don't know if those are "real" or influenced by food or a bounce? It's so hard to keep him in that normal range, i am super paranoid he will become hypo or will be too high, the "normal" range is so small i feel like.
looking for some advice on:
- his dosage, what it should be (i was really thinking 1.25 since i think 1.5 was too high)
- how long I should keep it for
- when i should do a curve (i can't Tuesdays and Thursday's as not home all day)
- what those super high numbers could be
- what to do if he gets a number less than 2.8 (50) during the day between cycles
- how often i should be testing him on a not curve day
- if his pre shot test is low like between 2.8 - 5.5 (50-99), the day he got 2.4 (43) his pre-shot was 7.4 (133), i am wondering if i gave him too much insulin that day since i gave him 1.25u, maybe his preshot was too low?
& anything else!!
I am so torn between TR and SLGS.. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
I have had a stressful few days. Molson had some great numbers. Friday, April 7th, he had his lowest nadir at 4.5 (81)! but i forgot to cover my dogs food over night and i think he either got into (very likely because he always tries to eat my dogs food) or he had a major bounce because the next morning he was 27.8 (500)
Sunday, April 9th he had some great numbers again, although at +6 went to 2.4 (43)so i gave him 2 tsp of Friskies turkey and giblets with gravy High Carb food and his PMPS shot right up to 25.6 (461), i am thinking either from the food or from him bouncing. Today (Monday, April 10th) he was 13.9 (250) pre shot and 10.1 (182) at +5.
i was going to reduce him to 1.25u Sunday night but with his super high pre shot number i gave him 1.5u, but this morning i gave him 1.25. i was thinking of reducing him to 1.25u for a bit to see how that is since he got a 2.4 (43) on Sunday, im so lost on what his dose should be though? and when should i do his next curve or mid day test? Those two super high numbers i don't know if those are "real" or influenced by food or a bounce? It's so hard to keep him in that normal range, i am super paranoid he will become hypo or will be too high, the "normal" range is so small i feel like.
looking for some advice on:
- his dosage, what it should be (i was really thinking 1.25 since i think 1.5 was too high)
- how long I should keep it for
- when i should do a curve (i can't Tuesdays and Thursday's as not home all day)
- what those super high numbers could be
- what to do if he gets a number less than 2.8 (50) during the day between cycles
- how often i should be testing him on a not curve day
- if his pre shot test is low like between 2.8 - 5.5 (50-99), the day he got 2.4 (43) his pre-shot was 7.4 (133), i am wondering if i gave him too much insulin that day since i gave him 1.25u, maybe his preshot was too low?
& anything else!!
I am so torn between TR and SLGS.. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
